We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time B&B experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of A l'Augustine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A l'Augustine
Ranked #18 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“First time B&B experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Finding reasonably priced accommodation in Quebec city was really challenging, and i eventually decided on this B&B.

The location is great, as it's just outside the old walls near St Jean street, so lots of more local restaurants and cafes to eat at, rather than the very charming, but very touristy places, directly in the old city.

Though this B&B was good value for money in comparison to other options for Quebec, it was hard not to think of the money i was spending for just a room. (with all the taxes included, it came to almost $100 a night)

The bathrooms were shared, and i guess it's just luck who you end up having to share your bathrooms with, but the couple i had were in there for 2 hours straight, and one night they went to the bathroom every 5 mins until 2 am, as my room was directly next to the bathroom i simply couldn't go to sleep until they finished (showering, shaving, toileting, packing, god knows what they were doing and why at 2 am!!!!)

The house itself is a beautiful old restored house, and furnished to that style. It was immaculately cleaned everyday. The bed was very comfortable. There was no ceiling light in my room, all i had was a little bedside table light for the whole room, so i couldn't read at night time as the room was too dark.

The floor boards are very creaky, and the walls very thin, so i was kept awake a lot from the people on my floor.

There were no locks on the rooms, and the host Caroline just said everyone is very relaxed in her house and no need for locks, but it felt a bit akward knowing that none of my stuff was secure.

People were very relaxed... almost everyone left their bedroom doors wide open as they walked around getting ready for the day etc, all their personal stuff on show in the room.

This was my first B&B experience, so it took me a while to relax into the concept, it was all quite personal!

The breakfasts were fantastic, but apart from 1 other person, everyone spoke French only, so breakfasts were spent in uncomfortable silence most of the time, the other guests didn't even talk to each other.

The air conditioning units are not in the bedrooms, only in the communal hallways, and the host rarely turned them on. So with the heat wave and bedroom doors shut at night, it was uncomfortably stuffy.

A note to less able guests, the stairs are quite steep, and there's a lot of them, i really struggled to get my suitcase to the top floor where i was staying.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    28
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
53
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
valley cottage
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

We found this B & B from Trip Advisor and the reviews were so wonderful we thought we would check it out. Our innkeepers were wonderful, the rooms were on the top floor - two bedrooms with a sitting room and large bathroom. We felt like we had traveled back in time. Old Quebec is charming and this inn is a few blocks from the Old City. Its nice because there is a lot of traffic and noise and you are away from that on this quiet block. It is possible to walk to everything. The food is wonderful and this is definitely a place you want to check out if you are in the area!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelegreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Let me tell you, I am very glad that I found this place. It was a major reason for why I had such a great time in QC. The rooms are nice and clean and the breakfast is top notch. It is a 10 minute walk from the walled city. It is just far enough outside the heavily touristed area that you feel part of the real fabric of the true city. You can take a nice walk through the neighborhoods and get a sense of how the locals live. The proprietress Caroline makes the B&B what it is. She is a genuinely nice person and makes you feel at home. I highly recommend L'Augustine.

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JCTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

This B&B is in a prime position in Quebec. Everything is walking distance and Caroline the host is extremely helpful with advice and directions. Her breakfasts are legendary. I would return there in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Staying at L'Augustine proved to be an excellent choice. The place, a nearly 200 year old house located within blocks of the magnificent old Quebec has much charm. In every room and bathroom of this small B&B you can sense the personal touch and distinctive aesthetics of its owners.

But nothing surpasses the hospitality of Caroline, the host, especially at breakfast time: Every morning a different feast! Including home-made everything, like yogurt, crepes, apple and chocolat french toast, freshly blended fruit juices, and much more. Like a poet at recital, she serves you one thing at a time, allowing for a real savoring and degustation of her succulent creations.

Caroline's hospitality flows naturally. Her personal philosophy is surely one of providing a consonant atmosphere for her guests. My seven-days stay there was one of total harmony!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

Located in one of the old 18thC industrial buildings in the Saint-Jean Baptiste quarter of Québec City, just outside the old town and a fifteen-minute walk from the Promenade (in front of the Château Frontenac). The building has been extensively renovated by the hard-working owners and is now nicely restored with the appropriate amenities included. No private bathrooms but we have stayed on more than one occasion and found ourselves alone on the top floor, making the bathroom more or less private. The gîte is also located just down from the rue St-Jean, which is a marvellous shopping street in both directions, into and away from the Old Town, but is nevertheless very quiet at night with no street noise whatever. I highly recommend this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

We had the absolute pleasure of staying in the garden room for our honeymoon over new year and I would thoroughly recommend this B&B to everyone. The room was extremely spacious and well furnished, it was very cosy and comfortable. I loved the old stone walls and wooden beams in the room and found it much more romantic than sterile hotel rooms with white walls. Caroline was the most wonderful host and her breakfasts were spectacular, in fact we couldn't wait to get up in the morning to see what Caroline was preparing in the kitchen! I thoroughly recommend this place for people who love character and aren't interested in gadgets and sterile hotel rooms. Thanks Caroline, you made our honeymoon and new year absolutely perfect!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything I did not like
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#36 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Augustine

Property: A l'Augustine
Address: 775, rue Richelieu, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in our 200 years stones house, located in the center of the Old Quebec City (250 m from the walls, Gate Saint-jean). B&B L’Augustine offer you a lively family atmosphere full of surprises, with Mediterranean touch, an old fashioned character but modern comfort. Garden and terrace in summer, crackling fire in winter and Indoor greenery all around a year… From B&B L’Augustine, you may visit all the tourist sites of the Quebec Old City by walk and we are located at; Less then 250 meters from Gate Saint-Jean and Patrimonial Historical walls of the Old Quebec and Parliament, at 100 meters from the Convention Center; Less then 50 meters, from the Main Commercial Street Saint-Jean. Find restaurants, bars, boutiques, library and more, but in a quiet and safe area. Also, at walking distance; Park of Plaines d’Abraham, Street Grande Allee, Street Cartier, Old Port, Civilization Museum, Museum of Quebec….and more Parking; Free on the around streets, from 16:30 until 10:00 on the next morning and all week end. Or, in our private parking (with conditions), charge of 10.00$ cad per day. Breakfast: We serve you a generous and tasty breakfast, varied every morning, complete with a serving of helpful tourist advice and excellent music. In B&B L’Augustine, you have access to Wireless Internet, refrigerator, and microwave. We are open all around year. Check in from 2 pm, check out at 11 am. We like to know your arrival time (if it’s possible, between 2 pm and 8 pm). For your comfort and intimate, the rooms are located on 3 floors; Second floor; 2 comfortable and cozy rooms, sheared a bathroom and a living room between this 2 rooms only! Very comfortable for family or friends... One room with one queen and one single bed and one other room with one queen bed (available like unsuited if you use the 2 rooms). First floor; 2 comfortable and cozy rooms, sheared a bathroom and a living room between this 2 rooms only! One room with one queen bed and one other room with a double bed (available like unsuited if you use the 2 rooms). Main floor, Suite Jardin; Nice room, private bathroom, queen size bed, living room, garden view, independent entrance, cabled TV, microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A l'Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A L'Augustine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing