We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A l'Augustine
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Palace Royal(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Delta Hotels Quebec(Quebec City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Capitole(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Le Vincent(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Royal William(Quebec City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
87
30
2
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
30
2
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgarden suitebreakfast was deliciousold quebecrue st jeanold buildinglarge bathroomsitting areathoroughly enjoyed our staythree nightswithin walking distancea wonderful stayminute walkperfect locationbedroomparkingcarb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Located in one of the old 18thC industrial buildings in the Saint-Jean Baptiste quarter of Québec City, just outside the old town and a fifteen-minute walk from the Promenade (in front of the Château Frontenac). The building has been extensively renovated by the hard-working owners and is now nicely restored with the appropriate amenities included. No private bathrooms but we have stayed on more than one occasion and found ourselves alone on the top floor, making the bathroom more or less private. The gîte is also located just down from the rue St-Jean, which is a marvellous shopping street in both directions, into and away from the Old Town, but is nevertheless very quiet at night with no street noise whatever. I highly recommend this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marrlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We had the absolute pleasure of staying in the garden room for our honeymoon over new year and I would thoroughly recommend this B&B to everyone. The room was extremely spacious and well furnished, it was very cosy and comfortable. I loved the old stone walls and wooden beams in the room and found it much more romantic than sterile hotel rooms with white walls. Caroline was the most wonderful host and her breakfasts were spectacular, in fact we couldn't wait to get up in the morning to see what Caroline was preparing in the kitchen! I thoroughly recommend this place for people who love character and aren't interested in gadgets and sterile hotel rooms. Thanks Caroline, you made our honeymoon and new year absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

Stayed 3 nights, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Great location, walking distance to the old city, and convenient to restaurants and shopping.

Caroline is a wonderful hostess, and does everything she can to make you feel welcome. The breakfasts are fabulous, something different each day, and wonderful fresh fruit and jams and yogurt.

The building has wonderful charm, with the old wood and floorboards. Our room was the largest I've ever had in a B&B, plus there was a common sitting area right outside the room.

The only drawback was that the room door had no lock.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBPnfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

This B&B is in a beautiful old house that's a short walk from the old town. We really enjoyed our stay here. The house is comfortable and the breakfasts are amazing. Every day we had a different breakfast that was really delicious. The proprietor, Caroline, speaks English and French. She was polite and helpful to us, but we got the impression she did not like us, perhaps because we are a younger couple. Even so, it did not affect our stay, and I would still return there as the place was so nice.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

Caroline at the B&B is very nice and approachable, and speaks good english as well as french. We stayed for one night in the room on the 3rd floor, which is a trek (lots of flights of stairs) but worth it if you want some privacy. This is very much a B&B that is also part of someone's home; there are public places and not so public places. Our landing had a bathroom that was not en suite but was pretty much ours, there was one other room on this landing but it was always closed. There was a lovely sitting area as well with some TV which we never used. The place is lovingly decorated and taken care of, and Caroline is an excellent hostess. Breakfast was delicious, light, a great start to the day but it is not something you will be able to go for hours on. It's just a start -- scrummdelicious stuffed french toast and a yoghurt & fruit dish that was to die for. The location was good, just a little walk and your into old quebec, but you truly did feel like you were in a french city. Lovely.

Downsides: The parking was difficult and you may want to rent a space, it is a challenge. The bathroom did not provide the ability to take a bath though it had a clawfoot tub; we managed to find a way anyway by moving a few things around and using a washcloth as a drain stopper. This would be good since you're doing so much walking up and down hilly streets, and the dawgs do get tired. Beautiful colors in there though.

Staying at this B&B was a very good decision, we would do it again. It's a great place if you want an authentic experience.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Beato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews