We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful old home in a wonderful location.”
Review of A l'Augustine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A l'Augustine
Ranked #29 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2009

This B&B is in a prime position in Quebec. Everything is walking distance and Caroline the host is extremely helpful with advice and directions. Her breakfasts are legendary. I would return there in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marko56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2009

Staying at L'Augustine proved to be an excellent choice. The place, a nearly 200 year old house located within blocks of the magnificent old Quebec has much charm. In every room and bathroom of this small B&B you can sense the personal touch and distinctive aesthetics of its owners.

But nothing surpasses the hospitality of Caroline, the host, especially at breakfast time: Every morning a different feast! Including home-made everything, like yogurt, crepes, apple and chocolat french toast, freshly blended fruit juices, and much more. Like a poet at recital, she serves you one thing at a time, allowing for a real savoring and degustation of her succulent creations.

Caroline's hospitality flows naturally. Her personal philosophy is surely one of providing a consonant atmosphere for her guests. My seven-days stay there was one of total harmony!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Located in one of the old 18thC industrial buildings in the Saint-Jean Baptiste quarter of Québec City, just outside the old town and a fifteen-minute walk from the Promenade (in front of the Château Frontenac). The building has been extensively renovated by the hard-working owners and is now nicely restored with the appropriate amenities included. No private bathrooms but we have stayed on more than one occasion and found ourselves alone on the top floor, making the bathroom more or less private. The gîte is also located just down from the rue St-Jean, which is a marvellous shopping street in both directions, into and away from the Old Town, but is nevertheless very quiet at night with no street noise whatever. I highly recommend this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marrlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We had the absolute pleasure of staying in the garden room for our honeymoon over new year and I would thoroughly recommend this B&B to everyone. The room was extremely spacious and well furnished, it was very cosy and comfortable. I loved the old stone walls and wooden beams in the room and found it much more romantic than sterile hotel rooms with white walls. Caroline was the most wonderful host and her breakfasts were spectacular, in fact we couldn't wait to get up in the morning to see what Caroline was preparing in the kitchen! I thoroughly recommend this place for people who love character and aren't interested in gadgets and sterile hotel rooms. Thanks Caroline, you made our honeymoon and new year absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

Stayed 3 nights, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Great location, walking distance to the old city, and convenient to restaurants and shopping.

Caroline is a wonderful hostess, and does everything she can to make you feel welcome. The breakfasts are fabulous, something different each day, and wonderful fresh fruit and jams and yogurt.

The building has wonderful charm, with the old wood and floorboards. Our room was the largest I've ever had in a B&B, plus there was a common sitting area right outside the room.

The only drawback was that the room door had no lock.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBPnfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

This B&B is in a beautiful old house that's a short walk from the old town. We really enjoyed our stay here. The house is comfortable and the breakfasts are amazing. Every day we had a different breakfast that was really delicious. The proprietor, Caroline, speaks English and French. She was polite and helpful to us, but we got the impression she did not like us, perhaps because we are a younger couple. Even so, it did not affect our stay, and I would still return there as the place was so nice.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

Caroline at the B&B is very nice and approachable, and speaks good english as well as french. We stayed for one night in the room on the 3rd floor, which is a trek (lots of flights of stairs) but worth it if you want some privacy. This is very much a B&B that is also part of someone's home; there are public places and not so public places. Our landing had a bathroom that was not en suite but was pretty much ours, there was one other room on this landing but it was always closed. There was a lovely sitting area as well with some TV which we never used. The place is lovingly decorated and taken care of, and Caroline is an excellent hostess. Breakfast was delicious, light, a great start to the day but it is not something you will be able to go for hours on. It's just a start -- scrummdelicious stuffed french toast and a yoghurt & fruit dish that was to die for. The location was good, just a little walk and your into old quebec, but you truly did feel like you were in a french city. Lovely.

Downsides: The parking was difficult and you may want to rent a space, it is a challenge. The bathroom did not provide the ability to take a bath though it had a clawfoot tub; we managed to find a way anyway by moving a few things around and using a washcloth as a drain stopper. This would be good since you're doing so much walking up and down hilly streets, and the dawgs do get tired. Beautiful colors in there though.

Staying at this B&B was a very good decision, we would do it again. It's a great place if you want an authentic experience.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Beato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#12 of 100 in Quebec City
582 reviews
Hotel Cap Diamant
#13 of 120 in Quebec City
248 reviews
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#8 of 120 in Quebec City
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
#6 of 120 in Quebec City
254 reviews
Acacias Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 120 in Quebec City
89 reviews
Au Petit Hotel
#19 of 120 in Quebec City
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Augustine

Address: 775, rue Richelieu, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: £75 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in our 200 years stones house, located in the center of the Old Quebec City (250 m from the walls, Gate Saint-jean). B&B L’Augustine offer you a lively family atmosphere full of surprises, with Mediterranean touch, an old fashioned character but modern comfort. Garden and terrace in summer, crackling fire in winter and Indoor greenery all around a year… From B&B L’Augustine, you may visit all the tourist sites of the Quebec Old City by walk and we are located at; Less then 250 meters from Gate Saint-Jean and Patrimonial Historical walls of the Old Quebec and Parliament, at 100 meters from the Convention Center; Less then 50 meters, from the Main Commercial Street Saint-Jean. Find restaurants, bars, boutiques, library and more, but in a quiet and safe area. Also, at walking distance; Park of Plaines d’Abraham, Street Grande Allee, Street Cartier, Old Port, Civilization Museum, Museum of Quebec….and more Parking; Free on the around streets, from 16:30 until 10:00 on the next morning and all week end. Or, in our private parking (with conditions), charge of 10.00$ cad per day. Breakfast: We serve you a generous and tasty breakfast, varied every morning, complete with a serving of helpful tourist advice and excellent music. In B&B L’Augustine, you have access to Wireless Internet, refrigerator, and microwave. We are open all around year. Check in from 2 pm, check out at 11 am. We like to know your arrival time (if it’s possible, between 2 pm and 8 pm). For your comfort and intimate, the rooms are located on 3 floors; Second floor; 2 comfortable and cozy rooms, sheared a bathroom and a living room between this 2 rooms only! Very comfortable for family or friends... One room with one queen and one single bed and one other room with one queen bed (available like unsuited if you use the 2 rooms). First floor; 2 comfortable and cozy rooms, sheared a bathroom and a living room between this 2 rooms only! One room with one queen bed and one other room with a double bed (available like unsuited if you use the 2 rooms). Main floor, Suite Jardin; Nice room, private bathroom, queen size bed, living room, garden view, independent entrance, cabled TV, microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your A l'Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A L'Augustine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing