We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ripaille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Ripaille
Ranked #92 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Quebec City and stayed at this Inn. Our experience was fantastic and we plan to stay there again.
This little hotel modern though the building itself must be at least 300 years ago. It is located right in Old Quebec, across the street from the old Laval University Campus. I am not sure why the Inn has received some negative reviews! How could a 300 year old Inn have room for an elevator?
The entrance is directly off the sidewalk. There is no foyer. You go up the old stairwell, and access your floor. It was a historic experience, just as we wanted. The room was very clean and modern. When in Quebec City, I don't think most people plan to spend much time locked in a hotel room, so this little Inn is perfect.
Since Quebec City is 400 years old, there obviously is a lack of public parking. The university offers hotel guests parking (ranges from $9 to $15/night).
From this Inn, you can walk anywhere you want! The lower town (which we thought was more amazing than the 'OLD TOWN', is just foot steps away! Outside the Inn, to your right, is a statue. The lower town starts just steps away past the statue.
The Inn Keeper, Marie, was very nice and kind. We also met the repairman/housekeeper; he was also very nice and friendly.
In the storefront of the Inn is a Subway Restaurant, open 7am to midnight. Due to our diet restrictions it was only helpful for morning tea, since that is the only option in the building.
We stayed three nights and did four days. We had no idea how big Quebec City is nor how much there actually is to do. We would suggest spending a whole week there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have huge windows (sleep 6 rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Very clean auberge, close to all attractions, owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pflaframboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

If you want to stay in Old City Quebec and get a feel for what the hotels might have been like, this is your spot. More of a motel feel. Not much amenities, small rooms and expensive, but good location and decent price for the area. The air conditioner made an anoying buzz all night. If you like luxury, this will not be the hotel for you. If you want to keep the costs down but still be within the walls of the city, give this a try.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

I'm really not sure why the reviews were so bad about this hotel. No, it doesn't have luxury amenities and you do have to climb a few stairs, but La Ripaille was charming, quite clean, and the location was amazing. One complaint: we were not able to control the air conditioning, and it was freezing! Not quite a 4-star hotel, but I was glad we stayed there instead of the bigger hotels out of the city. With a $30 cab ride each way, we would have spent a lot of money getting to and from Old Quebec. Because we were in the heart of everything, we didn't have to rent a car. Overall -- OK hotel, but go for the location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoToTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagne ardennes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

we reserved this hotel thru expedia - but once we'd paid the local taxes it worked out more expensive than our stay at the marriott in boston. We had a room with 2 double beds and a convertible sofa. The toilet door didn't close, the room was cramped, the towels thin and nasty, the stairs steep and narrow. at check in we had to sign a form to say that we would be charged for stains on sheets and towels and although, to my knowledge, we incurred no stains we had the bad surprise to be billed 50 CAD when we got home. There's nothing good about this hotel except it's central location

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank scama08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Vancouver,BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2008

The hotel rooms were ok, but everything else sucked. My son & me booked this hotel because it was the last one that wasn't fully booked. There were no restaurants, the staff was too lazy to fix the remote(which was already broken) and then blamed us! What i'm saying is unless you're not picky about hotels, DON'T BOOK IT!!!!!!

  • Liked — the comfy beds
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ryho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2008

don't stay at this hotel, we'd paid C$189 per night for the suites, which were less than one star quality, no check in desk, no restaurant, no lifts, crap service. eg. we'd wanted to leave one bag after check-out and was told there was no place to leave the bag, we persisted and they eventually relented and showed us an room for storage, we also asked to use a washroom and was told there was none and was directed to the tourist information centres toilet.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank flightdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
#73 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
#76 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge du Tresor
Auberge du Tresor
#14 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ripaille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ripaille

Property: La Ripaille
Address: 9 rue Buade, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Hotel Class:2 star — La Ripaille 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
La Ripaille Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing