We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel constructed like a bass drum with very thin walls.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Quebec City
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Osgoode
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hotel constructed like a bass drum with very thin walls.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

I would highly recommend staying elsewhere if you need rest.
This hotel is the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in...even cheaper roadside hotels are more quiet. This is no exaggeration.
The hotel is of substandard construction as noise and vibrations resonate very clearly from all floors. It was like living in a bass drum.
The thin walls jerk and move slightly when doors were closed. All doors tend to slam and carry the sound and pressure throughout the building and into your room.
My wife and I were situated on the 2nd floor on our first of four nights but were moved to the fourth floor after we and several other guests complained of a large group noisy teens up late and partying, slamming hallway doors including their bathroom cupboard doors.
The sound should not have carried so easily but, again, it's a product of poor construction.
The fourth floor move did not help either as the stairway to the ground floor was used throughout the night by smokers thundering down the stairs.
The headboards are attached to the walls and when any door was slammed shut, even at the ground floor, it jerked our heads and woke us up....everytime...even though we were on the top floor. Very, very disrupting.
Also, we had to tolerate groups of excited children running through the halls early in the morning til late at night for the pool. Their noise pounded through the floors and walls like herds of elephants. Welcome to the zoo.
Honestly, my review is not meant to harm the hotel, but merely advise those who truly need a good nights rest. Do not stay here if your tired.
I was offered two nights free stay as consolation, but refused on the grounds that I would not be able to sleep there.
It's just plain noisy...it's for kids...and it's poorly constructed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mozha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super815530, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Quebec City, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear Mr. Mozha and TripAdvisor Reader,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write down a comment about our hotel. Unfortunately it is the first time that a custumer complaint about the isolation in the room. We verify and it is true that we had a group of children that night. We make sure that the hotel is quiet after 11h00 pm at night. Our pool close at 10h00 pm at night. It is sure that the children like to enjoy our good breakfast and nice pool in the morning.

Our general manager spoke with you and offer you another stay that you will enjoy the hotel in a perfect way. Unfortunately you decline it. Our hotel is very nice for the family who enjoy a clean nice room , with a free continental breafast with hot waffles and the interior pool with waterslide.

My best regards,

Lyne Malenfant
Regional Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    200
    104
    36
    23
See reviews for
332
86
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Went with a group of 25 people, staff was very friendly and more than accomodating to the whole group. They even opened a conference room for us at night so the whole group could hang out together. They really went above and beyon to ensure a good quality stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Booked here, despite negative reviews. Can't say that it was an overwhelming experience, but certainly was not negative either. Hey, it's a Super 8. What you see is what you get.

The pool and waterslide are great for the kids. My preteen sons loved the pool area and had a blast for a couple of hours. This is a huge bonus.

The room was expensive: about $180 with tax in during a stay in July, smack in the midst of high season. The only rooms available were furnished with one king-size bed, and that's what we had to take. Our room came with a jacuzzi tub, to which my eight-year-old son noted that we must have received the Honeymoon suite.

One area management should focus on improving is the breakfast area. It's a small room and it gets jammed at breakfast rush hour. Perhaps novel planning should be employed to figure out how to manage the demand for tables, waffles, juice, cutlery and the like. The cacaphony during the 30 minutes or so me and the boys spent trying to get some breakfast the morning we spent there reminded me of a barnyard feeding frenzy. Not so pleasant.

Despite the high price and the claustrophobic breakfast, I'm giving this place a thumb's up. Staff were friendly and more than willing to assist. On that factor alone, I'll bump the overall rating up to a four.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soupie2826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQuebec, Manager at Super 8 Quebec City, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Indeed, our pool with waterslide is very popular for the kids and sometimes for the parents as well :0) I really appreciate your comments about the breakfast area. We have a meeting room open for breakfast as well that can accomodate up to 35 people.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you next time you travel in Quebec City.

Martyne Drapeau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Stayed here for two nights during the winter carnaval. My chidlren enjoyed the waterpark. The breakfast is outstanding they also have waffles. The room was very clean. The bed is new, the carpets were all new. We rented two rooms. The fridge is a bit small and the microwave really helped a lot esp with kids. The only thing I could say against is when I complained about the noise and children running in the hallways at around 11pm they should've done something about it. For my two nights of stay here...it was always like that...children in groups (hockey team) were running rampant on all the four floors of the building. Deffinetely not a hotel for travelers who need good rest...because you simnply wont get the rest you needed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

This has been a worst experience one could have on a holiday. the super 8 hotel looks very appealing thru pic. we had booked 2 rooms for the long weekend, after a tiring journey wanted a good nite sleep but guess what - we found "bed bugs " in one of the rooms not 1-2 but in numbers crawing on the bed, my teen daughter was bitten by bugs, when informed the front desk guess what they said - "we have been receiving complaints abt this room" - they moved us to another room. there was no Manager available and no one to make a decision. we have lodged complaint over the toll free #for Super 8 hotels and also @ the hotel front desk to have the mgr call back but , we havent heard a word. so please for those of who plan to visit quebec city pls do not stay at the super 8 specially room # 405.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday67_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMQuebec, General Manager at Super 8 Quebec City, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear guest,

I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience at our hotel. It is unfortunated that it took your experience to make me me aware of this situation with the room. After your experience, we got our pest control contractor to completely inspect the entire hotel. This inspection revealed that the problem was specific to your room only and this single case has been taken care of. We now carry out regular inspections in all of our rooms to make sure this unfortunated experience does not happen to any future guest. Once again I would like to apologize for the bad experience at our hotel and do hope to welcome you at our hotel in the future.

My best regards,
Martyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed here because it was convenient to get to our morning flight and would recommend it for this reason only. The hotel is new but it is very ordinary (unless you have kids who love a pool and waterslide....then it could be a real find). The surrounding area is charmless (the hotel faces a busy street and has no rooms facing the green space behind the hotel). The Super 8 breakfast is great for kids and saves a little money but the quality level is consistently "low".

The strip club is about 150 metres away and is no threat except at 2 am when the patrons come out hollering. The air conditioner easily masks this noise.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank equus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

great hotel for kids: indoor heated pool (no deep end) with a spiral waterslide! Excellent free continental breakfast ( waffle maker, croissants, 6 kinds cereals etc...). Staff are super friendly and hotel is very clean and well kept. Close to many restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy3797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#75 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#20 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport East
Comfort Inn Airport East
#71 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.9 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Quebec City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Quebec City

Property: Super 8 Quebec City
Address: 7286 Blvd Wilfrid Hamel, Quebec City, Quebec G2G 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Quebec City 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Super 8 Hotel located in Quebec Ste-Foy, Quebec! Our lovely hotel offers 79 spacious guest rooms on three floors. Conveniently located just minutes away from the downtown area, you'll find outdoor cafes, boutiques, museums, concert halls, art galleries, artist's workshops, restaurants, bars, discotheques, antique dealers, and more. We are by far the perfect choice in the Quebec Ste-Foy area. Don't forget - kids under 18 stay for FREE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Quebec City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quebec City Super Eight
Quebec City Super 8
Super Eight Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing