We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Quebec City
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“second stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Super 8's in Canada, in my opinion, seem to be higher quality than the ones in the US. This one is comparable to a Hampton Inn or Comfort Suites. My first stay here in 2011 was ok, so I chose to stay here again for three nights in 2013. The price was about the same as other places in the area.

The room was ok, but it could have been great. The bed is comfortable with good pillows, but they do not use fitted sheets. If you move around a lot, you might wind up on the bare mattress. The comforter/spread is really warm, which is ok. I can't sleep as well without a blanket on, so I turned the thermostat down to keep the heat from running. The thermostat is on the wall instead of built into the a/c unit, which is a huge plus for me. Not only can you dial in an exact temperature on the digital display, but the fan can be set to run continuously. I sometimes like to run the fan for some white noise or just to stir up the air in the room.

Two years ago, I had a room on the ground floor, next to a side entrance. That room was very noisy. This time, I was on the third floor and did not notice any noise at all from the hall or rooms next to me. The bathroom has a powered fan for exhaust, not just a vent hole like some places.

The room was clean except for the bathroom, which was about as clean as my 12 year old would manage when in a hurry. You wouldn't notice anything unless you looked closely. I felt it necessary to make/use a t.p. butt gasket for the throne. This is normal behavior for me at a truckstop or airport restroom, but not for a hotel room.

The breakfast was ok, about the same as you get at other places: Cereal, bread/bagels/muffins, hard boiled eggs, sample size yogurt cups, and a waffle maker. I can't remember if they had any fruit.

Watch your step - Canada must not have any "slip and fall" lawyers like the US. The parking lot and walkway was icy and slippery in 2011. This has not changed in 2013.

Room Tip: the ground floor has the most foot traffic and noisiest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeineErfahrung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super815530, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Quebec City, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing you good experience at our Hotel Super 8 in Quebec City. I was happy that you took the time to write in a very nice way all the details about your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

My best regards,

Lyne Malenfant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    200
    104
    36
    23
See reviews for
332
86
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We rencently stayed in this Super 8 which from the outside appearance is nice and the rooms are very clean, but, in the morning we woke up to see bed bugs in the bed. Luckily my friend and I were not bit but very freaked out by it. I will not return to this location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptNTanneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super815530, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Quebec City, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Customer,

I verify with the hotel and we did not have case of bed bug. I will really appreciate that you call our General Manager as soon as you can to clarify this big issue. We inspect our room very often to make sure that those thing does not happen. It is very sad that if it was the case you did not mention it to the frontdesk but on this site.

Thank you for calling us back

Lyne Malenfant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stittsville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The price seemed rather high for the quality of the hotel. The bed was not great, breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Sonja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super815530, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Quebec City, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Our breakfast is a continental breakfast with whole fruits, 3 kinds of bagel, breads, muffins, hot waffles, hard egg , yogourt , juices , hot chocolate and coffee. It is sad that it did not meet your expectation.

My best regards,

Lyne Malenfant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#75 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#20 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport East
Comfort Inn Airport East
#71 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.9 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Quebec City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Quebec City

Property: Super 8 Quebec City
Address: 7286 Blvd Wilfrid Hamel, Quebec City, Quebec G2G 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Quebec City 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Super 8 Hotel located in Quebec Ste-Foy, Quebec! Our lovely hotel offers 79 spacious guest rooms on three floors. Conveniently located just minutes away from the downtown area, you'll find outdoor cafes, boutiques, museums, concert halls, art galleries, artist's workshops, restaurants, bars, discotheques, antique dealers, and more. We are by far the perfect choice in the Quebec Ste-Foy area. Don't forget - kids under 18 stay for FREE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Quebec City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quebec City Super Eight
Quebec City Super 8
Super Eight Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing