We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel but an uphill hike to the old city.”
Review of Hotel Le Vincent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Vincent
Ranked #25 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great boutique hotel but an uphill hike to the old city.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay. The morning breakfast that was included was very good and exceeded expectations. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They suggested great restaurants and made our dinner reservations. Our room was uniquely and nicely decorated with fine amenities, including a refrigerator. It appeared there was a new rubber mat placed on the stairs leading to the rooms which had that rubber smell which will eventually dissipate. Two big benefits to staying in this neighborhood was seeing another part of Quebec and also the two outstanding restaurants we ate in that were recommended by the hotel. The one downside is it is a hike to the old town. Up 95 stairs and then about 4 blocks at a 30% grade before heading on flat to downhill toward the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JodidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for the good comments! We are glad that you enjoyed our room, service and breakfasts. The first days of our new rubber mat were indeed smelly. It's never too early to prepare for the winter! And I assure you that the rubber smell was gone later that same week. So sorry for the inconvenience.

Le Vincent is indeed located in Saint-Roch district, in the lower town. We feel lucky to be here since so many excellent restaurants are around the corner or even on the same street. It really gives our guests the "Saint-Roch experience", which is the newly revitalized district of Québec city - for not saying the "in" neighborhood. Also, when staying at Le Vincent, you are on the same height as the Farmer's market, the port (and the ferry that crosses the St-Lawrence river), the bus and train central station (Gare du Palais), and St-Joseph street, known for its numerous shopping boutiques.

Now, the walled old city is uptown. Next to our hotel, you have either the Faubourg elevator or stairs (98 of them to be precise!) that brings you on Saint-Réal street, and then you have six residential streets to walk in Saint-Jean-Baptiste district, on the brand new Saint-Claire street. Then you hit St-Jean street that will lead you to the old town. From Le Vincent to St-Jean Street, it is exactly 450 meters, excluding the stairs or the elevator ride. The facts are that Québec is a hilly city... Which makes its beauty - an amazing view from the Chateau Frontenac and the Terrasse Dufferin - and its History - the Battle Fields. A whole touristic circuit is even built on all the city's stairways (the oldest, the youngest, the longest, the shortest, the prettiest...), as well as some city stair contests.

We like to tell our guests that walking that hill will "allow" them to taste all of the fantastic restaurants, cafés, bars, pastries, bakeries and bistros that Québec city is known for! Let's not forget that Québec has an excellent bus network and for 3$ per person, a bus passing in front of the hotel will drop you directly in the old town and further, in Sainte-Foy (to get to the Aquarium and three shopping malls).

Thank you for staying at Le Vincent, and we hope to see you soon!

Justine
Frontdesk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    107
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
98
494
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I cannot even begin to express the complete joy we had staying at Le Vincent! Our main floor room with personal direct access to the street, was a creatively furnished blend of old world and new; complete comfort and AMAZING shower.
Breakfast was such a delight to wake up to, such wonderful choices and the fresh orange juice was so pretty with the strawberry on the side of the glass. |we tried almost everything on the menu between the three of us and were delighted and full each time. We had no need of more than a small snack before dinner!
Staff are simply extraordinary! Merci in particular to Janine (she should get a raise!) who made us espresso whenever we requested it, contacted restaurants for us and personalized our maps for the places we wanted to see. Each and every staff make you feel like family, not something you would find many places.
We had already reserved to stay at Loews Concorde for the convention we were attending, but would have gladly remained at Le Vincent if we had known how incredibly wonderful our experience there would be.
Ambience, excellent room rates, fabulous food and a feeling of being one of the family simply cannot be beat!

Room Tip: Ground floor room with two queen beds and street access was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you, thank you! It has been a real pleasure having you three around. We really wished you had stay with us all week... Next time you have a convention in Québec city, please do! The distance to go to the Concorde will stay be walkable in the morning (1200 meters uphill, count about 15 minutes), especially with a good breakfast in the stomach! Our room #1 was surely the best for you, with two queen beds, private water room and its private outside door directly on Saint-Vallier's street. Recommanding restaurants, taking care of reservations, drawing details on maps... It really is the least we can do... And we enjoy it!

We hope to see you soon,

Justine-Janine !
Frontdesk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I mean it really doesn't get better than this for a family run hotel.

The bedrooms are so creatively furnished, extremely clean, very comfortable, quiet, warm colors....I can go on and on...

No it doesn't offer breakfast in bed, but trust me when I say the breakfast they offer is so delicious and simple (just like home made) that it makes it worth it to get out of your room! We stayed there for 6 nights and tried almost everything on the menu, not one breakfast was disappointing.

The staff is just incredibly friendly that you almost feel like you're staying at very close relative's residence! I mean really I don't see that much elsewhere these days! Let's just say they surprised me with their kindness (although not so much since I already read the reviews about them :p).

Let me it this way, Auberge Le Vincent is one of the main reasons we loved our trip to Quebec, point finale (enough said).

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fayssal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for those amazing comments!

Choosing Québec city as a newly wed destination is already a win-win situation... Québec city... The romantic Québec city! Just imagine yourself on horse cart on the macadam streets, contemplating the view of the illuminated Chateau Frontenac at night from the Québec-Lévis ferry, walking in the snowy and decorated streets of the Petit Champlain district, eating a perfect butter croissant and a huge bowl of latté at some french bakery on Saint-Jean street...

And at Le Vincent, we especially love having honey moon couples. They are so easy to spoil! Starting with a big and delicious breakfast made of fresh products by one of our cooks, our guests surely have enough energy to go discover the old city!

... What about coming next year for your first year anniversary?!

Justine
Frontdesk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a real gem of a hotel with well furnished rooms and as most contributors have noted, service over and above the call of duty.

Ideally located near to the old town and easy walk to train station and bus depot.

A 3 night stay......just perfect

Room Tip: The rooms that are on the corner (flat iron shaped building) give most light and seem a lot larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rourkemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour vos bons mots!

Nous sommes en effet situés à quelques minutes de marche de la station centrale de bus et de train de Québec, la Gare du Palais... Quoi de mieux pour nos visiteurs arrivant sur un des quotidiens trains Montréal-Québec?

. . .

We are indeed located few minutes of walking away from the train and bus Québec's central station, the Gare du Palais... Nothing better for our guests arriving on one of the daily Montréal-Québec train!

Au plaisir de vous revoir au Le Vincent lors de votre prochain séjour à Québec,

Justine
Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Our 4 night stay in Quebec was a most relaxing & enjoyable experience due to where we stayed and the exceptional service we received from Antonio. My husband and I are on an extended honeymoon/culinary tour and every restaurant recommendation made by Antonio, ranging from fast food to cheap eats, to fancy modern dining, was spot on. So listen carefully to this wonderful man! We are greeted in the mornings by a lovely sumptuous breakfast. The rooms are cozy with nice showers. There is a great collection of DVDs- somebody has good taste in picking these movies! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoidbergwhatever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeLeVincent, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vincent, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for all those great comments! Antonio is surely the man of the situation regarding restaurants recommandations. I must say we are pretty lucky to have so many excellent addresses in the neighberhood, mostly at a walking distance. French, quebecer, italian, vietnamese, japanese, world's cuisine - bistro, sushi bar, classic, quiet, spirited, modern, fancy, budget... Just tell us what you are looking for!

We do have an almost-200 DVD collection at your disposition... Comedy, drama, action, thriller... If we keep on looking for the new released like we do, we actually might need a new shelf! There is nothing like watching a movie, cosy in a bed during holidays.

Thanks again for your good words,
Hopefully, we will see you soon at Le Vincent,

Justine
Frontdesk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The perfect small hotel experience: 10 unique rooms, friendly and attentive service, quiet but convenient location (near the steps to the high town), a large DVD collection, rustic brick walls and nice furniture, a good breakfast, and inexpensive parking. Highly recommended.

Guy and I went there for a romantic weekend, and we were not disappointed! Much more fun than a chain hotel. A good value, too. This San Francisco couple loved Auberge.

Room Tip: Get a room with a queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogenJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel at the end of a cruise. While the location was not in the thick of things - it actually turned out terrific. We could have access to old town easily by use of an elevator and walking - or just a short cab ride. The Starry Starry NIght design of the hotel lobby was charming. The breakfast was incredible! and the hotel manager couldn't have been more accommodating. Another recommendation (from a worker at the hotel) - Le Cercle - a very cool restaurant/club just a short walk from the hotel. Only downside to the whole experience - no elevator in the hotel. ...and only one room, that we could tell, with access on the main floor.

Room Tip: Ask for the one on the main floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau des Tourelles
Chateau des Tourelles
#11 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vincent

Property: Hotel Le Vincent
Address: 295, rue Saint-Vallier Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Vincent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Le Vincent urban inn is a 4 Star Hotel where historic style and contemporary design are in perfect harmony. Located in the center town of Quebec City’s, Auberge Le Vincent is your gateway to the Old Capital. Here you will find easy access to all attractions and services. Old Quebec, museums, Parliament, train station, bus, are all just steps away from the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Vincent Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Le Vincent Quebec City
Hotel Le Vincent Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing