We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Vincent
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Royal William(Quebec City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Delta Hotels Quebec(Quebec City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Palace Royal(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
635
113
25
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
113
25
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvan goghold townglass showerfrench toastcrepesamazing showerminute walkrue stsmall hotelexposed brickbreakfast was deliciousfresh fruitboutique hotelwithin walking distanceno elevatorrestaurant recommendationsdinner reservations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
455 - 460 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I agree with all the positive comments mentioned by others, so I won't repeat them.
In my estimation, what makes an excellent hotel experience is the combination of comfort and the hospitality of the 'host', be that the owner, concierge or other staff you encounter along the way. This hotel is extremely lovely and very comfortable.....and nothing can surpass the enthusiasm and generosity of the host/owner, Claude, who went out of his way to make sure we were all well taken care of in all respects from the moment we arrived till we left the next morning. He tipped us off about the free Cirque de Soleil show under the bridge....a definite highlight of the trip, among other things.
I agree with others that this is a terrific area from which to explore the city without feeling like you are in a kind of theme park packed with tourists.
Although they are very impressive, I was actually a little disappointed in the historical sections, both high and low, filled, as they were, with the requisite gift shops ripping people off for teeny jars of maple syrup and feathered war bonnets. Tres cliche! A lot of lousy art for sale, too. Sigh. The area around St. Roch and the upper commercial street where J.A. Moisan is located is much more interesting for shopping. And the maple syrup is much cheaper! The chocolate museum is cute and for a quarter, you can crank an old dispenser and get a little cupful of yummy nuggets. The Art Gallery on the Plains of Abraham was lovely and well worth a visit if you have time. Part of it is in an old prison. A day or two is all you really need, unless you want to explore further afield and use Le Vincent as your base camp. Ask Claude about the whale watching and save yourself a lot of aggravation.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank tgtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We cannot say enough about our wonderful stay at the Le Vincent.
The owners and the staff were the most friendly and helpful to make our stay the best.
Breakfast was like a picture out of a French Cooking magazine, delightful to the eye. It was as delicious as it was lovely. It was the quietest hotel we have ever slept in. Never even heard a door open when all 10 rooms where filled.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcanmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

In July 09 my new bride and I passed through Quebec City as part of our Honeymoon. After reading some reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to take a chance on Le Vincent and it ended up being the highlight of our Honeymoon.

Having only 10 rooms in the hotel really allowed Claude and his staff to offer personal attention to each guest. From the moment we walked in the building, the host knew who we were and immediately showed us to our room (I'm guessing we were the last ones to check in that afternoon).

As other reviewers have noted, the main lobby is very hip with many unique art pieces and a Van Gogh vibe. The hotel (which was designed by Claude) has many different angles, and each of the rooms has its own unique style.

Our Room (#2) had an old red brick wall. There was also a shower located between the bedroom and bathroom which was glassed in... very unique.

After we had moved into our room, Claude sat down with us and outlined some recommended walking routes around the city. He took a walking map of the city and highlighted routes - one for each day we were there. Le Vincent is located about a 10min walk from the main attractions in Old Quebec City. A walk around the perimeter of Old Quebec from Le Vincent takes about an hour (walking non-stop).

Claude also recommended and marked down restaurants and boutiques he thought we might enjoy. All of the places he recommended were wonderful and really captured the essence of Quebec City. Dinner reservations were easily and promptly made through the front desk.

In addition, the breakfasts at Le Vincent were fresh and delicious. Claude takes care to buy his produce from local farmers markets and mainly buys only fruit that is in season. The garnishes he often grows himself in his personal herb garden.

While we were in Quebec, there was some roadwork going on not far from Le Vincent. My wife and I did not really notice it, but every day Claude and his staff would check in on us and ensure that the construction was not bothering us. They even left a container of earplugs in our room for us. At the end of our stay, Claude reduced our bill to make up for any inconvenience - and unnecessary, but appreciated gesture.

Claude had also happened to make some wonderful apricot jam while we were in town and brought us a bottle as a wedding gift.

During our check-out, I picked up some brochures and have been handing them out to friends. My wife and I plan to try and get back to Le Vincent sometime this winter.

I appreciate being immersed in culture and avoid tourist traps. Some hotels are designed to insulate you form the surrounding area. It is often easy to get caught up in staying at a place that has a pool or a large room or other things that will shelter you from the reality of a city. However, if you desire an authentic (and romantic) Quebec City experience I would highly recommend Le Vincent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N8J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed at the Auberge Vincent for 2 nights in mid August. The hotel is very cozy, with nicely done up rooms. We stayed in room 8 which was quite large and comfortably accomodated the two cribs we requested. The service and attention of the owner and staff was excellent and we felt very well attended. Breakfast was very good with large portions.

The hotel is not located in the old part of Quebec City, but outside and in close proximity of good restaurants and funky neighbourhoods. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Massimo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes, as owner Claude would put it. Auberge Le Vincent is the place to stay in Quebec City, especially if you are going to be in town for more than a couple of nights. We stayed for a week in room number 6.

Let's get the location out of the way first. Our only mistake was a translation/communication problem. We knew that stairs in French was escalier, which sounds like elevator in broken English. So after about the fouth hike up the stairs to the Old City, we saw the Public Elevator. The inn is located across the street from the elevator that takes you up to the upper part. It is on the opposite end of the Frontonac. We walked all over everywhere, and we enjoyed our location more than the portside where the Frontonac is located. I personally would not want stay any closer to the Frontonac than where the Marriott is located. We loved getting to see all of the city, and we loved the location.

Claude, the owner, takes much pride in everything being perfect, the rooms, the food, the service, and the whole experience. I would give him and A+ in each category. We knew no French, but the staff was always able to communicate with us in English which was very comforting. We took only the "walking tour", which is inexpensive, and I highly recomend. The rest of time we did our own tours with the help of the staff. Their recomendations were always good. We chose the inn because of the highly rated reviews on Trip Advisor and felt that service given by a small establishment would be super valuable to someone who did not know the city, and Wow did it pay off.

Words and pictures can't do Auberge Le Vincent justice. You just have to stay there to understand the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raiderred007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews