We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge J.A. Moisan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Ranked #9 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

We picked this B&B based on the reviews in TripAdvisor and were not disappointed at all. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The public areas are filled with wonderful antiques that each have a story. Clement, the owner, is warm and welcoming and happy to share his stories with you. He also provides a wealth of information on Quebec. The breakfasts are wonderful too. The location on Rue St. Jean is perfect...plenty of little shops and good restaurants and walkable to all parts of the city. And don't miss the grocery store downstairs! We would definitely stay here again!

One thing to keep in mind, Rue St. Jean is closed to traffic on weekends. (A definite plus!) So, if you are planning to arrive by car on the weekend, ask Clement for the phone number of the grocery store. That way you can contact him when you get close and make arrangements on where to meet so you can unload your luggage.

Merci Clement! Nous avons eu un moment merveilleux. Nous sera de retour.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsb223a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
173
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

We cannot say enough about this Bed and Breakfast. We read reviews before choosing this inn and now understand why everyone rates this as a 5-star establishment.

The bedrooms and common rooms which guests can use are beautifully renovated and furnished. The ambience is cozy 19th century, but the amenities (e.g. computer access) are twenty-first century. Everything is immaculate.

The hosts, Nathalie and Clement, could not have been more welcoming. We doubt that the concierge of an upscale hotel would be able to outdo Clement. He is very familiar with the history of the house as well as the neighbourhood. He can suggest restaurants whether you want fine dining or a hamburger; the food, even the hamburger, will be gourmet.

On the topic of gourmet food, the breakfasts at the Auberge certainly deserve that description. Three-course breakfasts are the norm, but the food is extraordinary. We were amazed to learn that Nathalie is not a chef by training.

Our hosts helped us to organize a special event while we were staying with them. They could not have been more accommodating. To say that they “went the extra mile” would be an understatement.

Anyone wanting to stay in a unique and historic place, that exudes warmth and comfort, should make a reservation here. For a romantic getaway, in particular, this is a perfect place.

We arrived as strangers but were treated as special guests and left feeling like family.

Doreen and Jack
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Schatje-KnuffelBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabindan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

Location: heart of Old Quebec - easy walking to shops, restaurants, inside and outside of the Old Wall. The owner owns the food store downstairs as well. Beautiful cheeses, pates, fruits and veggies, wines, everything you need and more.

Owners: extremely gracious and welcoming -- very knowledgeable of the area and Quebec's history. He has a wonderful welcome orientation to get you situated.

B&B: Victorian, perfect -- rooms are lovely and you have use of the living room and internet services downstairs.

Breakfast: absolutely fabulous -- the best and freshest products. We never ate lunch as we were still full from the sumptuous breakfasts. The attention to detail in food and ingrediants are unsurpassed.

We highly recommend this property and the gracious owners.

  • Liked — The decor and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cabindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

I visited Quebec City after a class in Toronto and was looking forward to seeing QC in the Holiday season. Unfortunately I had a knee injury which limited my ability to walk around QC during the winter season - but it did not prevent my visit from being wonderful and relaxing thanks to Clement and the Auberge. They welcome you into their beautiful home and invite you as if you were family. The room was small but warm and comfortable, great bed and bedding. There is plenty of space available to you in the home which gives you other options. The breakfast is unbelievable - 5 mornings of unique servings that are all delicious - just don't plan on lunch or even needing dinner some days.

They will give you great recommendations for dinner, best to listen to them. The neighborhood is a fun place to walk around and check out special little shops, especially J.A. Moison which I thoroughly enjoyed as well.

I have travelled the world and enjoy the intimacy of a B&B and found this to be one of the best. It is a special place, with very kind and caring hosts - most highly recommended. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — Everything, the place itself, the food, the hosts and the location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kbfPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcoast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

A really memorable experiene from start (when Clement, the owner showed us around and told us about the history of the beautiful house as well as the city ) to finish (when Clement bid us farewell).
Room and breakfast truly 5 star! We were made to feel throughout the stay that we were special guests and at the same time friends.
Thank you Clement! We would like to come back!
Wieland & Heather from UK

  • Liked — very friendly owner plus excellent quality of accomodation and brekfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happydayzEastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

The Bed and Breafast is located on the second and third floors of an older building several blocks from Old Quebec's city walls. Clement (the proprietor) was extremely accomodating and gave us excellent suggestions for places to go as well as some of the best restaurants we have ever eaten at - and that says quite a bit.

Even though the hotel is in an older building, it was quite obvious that they go to great pains to maintain it. Everything is in immaculate condition, and the common areas are warm and inviting. There are several computers available with broadband internet available as well as complimentary WiFi.

The rooms are tastefully well done, albeit a bit small. All the rooms are gabled, but we did not find this an issue.

The breakfasts were unbelievably good. Don't expect bacon and eggs with hash browns; as an example, on our last day we had a fruit smoothie (salt rimmed glass), breads, jams and jellies and eggs Benedict over smoked Atlantic salmon - it was to die for, and I'm not an eggs Benedict fan.

Breakfast is served in a parlour with a view of office buildings and the pizza restaurant next door. Not the most enticing, but with the warmth and splendor of the inside of the place, we didn't care.

Good things - too many to mention. Excellent food, comfortable beds, lively yet relaxed atmosphere. The inn was warm (wintertime visit and the temp. inside was constantly at 72 degrees); absolutely phenomenal store downstairs (closes at 9:00 pm - great hours) and within walking distance of Vieux Quebec, the Observatory and Pain, a phenomenal bakery two blocks up.

Bad things: View from back parlour (extremely minor), small-ish rooms (minor), rooms were warmer than I'd like at night (adjustable, but again, minor)

I plan on going back. This is the benchmark I now measure other B & Bs by.

  • Liked — Excellent food, Fantastic accomodation and close to tourist areas
  • Disliked — Room size, back view
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveled101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville,TN
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

My husband I stayed here for 4 days to celebrate our second anniversary. We stayed in the Ludovine room for one night and the Albertine for the other 3. The welcome we got from Clemente was very warm and he gave us very useful tips about Quebec City as well as a tour of the home and its history. He was also very kind to allow me to practice some of my French with him. The rooms are very well appointed and albeit on the smaller side compared to a hotel room was very warm and comfortable to come back to after a day of walking. The walk from the auberge and back from the Old Town is a nice and eventful walk down St. Jean with cute shops and cafes along the way. The breakfasts Nathalie were superb and by far the best meals we had during the trip. I would recommend this as your respite while visiting Quebec City. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Comfort, Cleanliness, Location, Breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was wonderful
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Judybat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge J.A. Moisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge J.A. Moisan

Property: Auberge J.A. Moisan
Address: 695 rue St-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge J.A. Moisan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge j.a. Moisan Hotel Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing