We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence de la Cite
Ranked #103 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Touring Canada. Pre-booked this hotel on the internet.
No reception when we arrived - we had to phone a number and it took 15-20 minutes for someone to come.
They had no record of our booking but did find a room for us. (It was more like a spare room in a block of flats than a hotel)
Unfortunately the beds had not been changed - we eventually found some linen and changed them ourselves as the "reception" person had already left.
All in all not a good experience
There was no one to complain to at the "reception office" at any time during our 2 days stay

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YandyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2009

We needed a place to stay for a month, after we were relocated to QC, until we found an apartment to live in, so we picked this place. After a 12 hour drive (with 2 cats!) to get there, and calling ahead to tell them when we'd arrive, no one was there to let us in. She arrived fairly soon though. We searched and searched for somewhere to park, and in the end, had to wake up every morning at 6am to pre-pay for the days parking at a lot at the end of a block. $12 a day! The guy told me there were lots of places to park nearby. Yuh-huh.

The room was small. Would be fine for someone/or a couple staying up to a week, but 2 people + 2cats for a month!? NOooo. It was one 'large' room, with a bed, tv on a coffee table, small 2 person table and chairs (we moved this and turned it into a desk for our computers), and an armoire. There's a small kitchen with a fridge and stove.

Don't expect to get there and be able to call someone, or have people call you. There's no phones in the suites, and they're not available. There's a jack for internet though, and sometimes you can find a wireless connection to leech off of for a little bit.

The bathroom was SO cramped. The bathtub faucet would sloooowly rotate back to COLD while you're having a shower, so you're constantly adjusting it.

Lots of noise in the hallways when people are coming and going, but otherwise, not bad.

I believe there's only one laundry room (coin-op), on the top floor. But no one was ever using it, so I never had to wait.

No one ever came to clean (not sure if they were supposed to or not). We threw our dirty towels and sheets in a bag left in the hall some days, and took new ones from the cart also left in the hall. The cart also was equipped with a stock of soaps, cleaners, toilet paper, garbage bags, etc. I assumed that these were just there to help yourself to if you needed to, so I did.

There's a Metro grocery store a few blocks away, and an Inter-Marche even closer, but more expensive and less selection.

I thought the location was pretty good. According to my RCMP friend, it was a BAD area, but I never really saw anything bad, other than a couple crazys on the sidewalk and a drunk guy passed out in a doorway.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank getmeouttaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

So I wrote to the Residence manager from Italy, asking if he had a room, and I got really fast an Answer, really friendly, and with the answers to all my questions.
So, I booked this Room.
I arrived in Québec, at the Bus Station, and I had printed the map from the Residence de la cité's homepage, so I started walking, and I have to say, that it is really easy to find.
As I arrived, the manager, was waiting for me, really friendly, he consigned me the room key, and was there for any problem.
The room, was really clean, warm and friendly, I think it's been renowed a few months ago.
The room is more a Studio, with a own kitchen, bathroom, tv, sofa, table, chairs, and anything what you need.
Laundry is easy to do, because every floor has got a own laundry room.
Almost everyday, ther's a woman who works here, she's really friendly, and she's there for any wish.
This Residence, is near to the city centre, near to it you can find a market, a library, pharmacie, restaurants shop's ect.
The most important busses in QC, are at 1 Min from the residences front door.
The nice thing here, is you can feel indipendent, but with almost all hotel comforts.
I can just say, It's the best solution, if you want to have youre one appartment in the heart of Québec.
I think this residence is perfect for long or short permanences.

Really good!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank markkp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

There was some initial confusion when we arrived early (2 hrs before check-in) and the place seemed like an apartment building—no front desk, no one around. But we called the manager and he arrived within 30 minutes with our room key.

It is a small, owner-run place but like having your own little studio apartment in the city. Outside the walls and in what seems to be a hip, up-and-coming neighborhood. Very clean, with a kitchenette, and bright all-Ikea decor.

Pros: Nice location away from touristy craziness but within walking distance of many restaurants and bars, plus everything inside the walls and of St-Jean Baptiste. Great price. Quiet.

Cons: fresh paint smell a bit overwhelming, towel rack in the bathroom wasn't attached (lying on the floor), no a/c, no view.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavishelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

When we arrived (3:00 PM) the doors were locked and the lights were off. It took the "manager" over an hour to return our call to figure out what was going on - at that point we just canceled the reservation. I would never stay there again and would tell anyone who is going to Quebec to avoid the property as well.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gets17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ernesto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hélèna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Le Vincent
#27 of 102 in Quebec City
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
B&B Centre-Ville
B&B Centre-Ville
#50 of 119 in Quebec City
8 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Manoir Charest
Hotel Manoir Charest
#109 of 119 in Quebec City
82 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
#37 of 119 in Quebec City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence de la Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence de la Cite

Address: 420, de la Cite, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: £64 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence de la Cite 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence de la Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence De La Cite Hotel Quebec City
Residence De La Cite Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing