We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, small portions, NOT WORTH IT!”
Review of Cafe de Paris

Cafe de Paris
Ranked #201 of 1,469 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
Description: Discover fine French and Italian cuisine that will match your expectations in a peaceful, warm and romantic atmosphere.
Washington, dc
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Over priced, small portions, NOT WORTH IT!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We ate here our first night and we will not come back. Most of us ordered veal and it was over cooked and oily. I had one small carrot and three roasted potato bites to go with it. The wine list had a 300% mark up. The staff was fine and the room was nice, but for the price of the meal go across the street and spend your money at Bello. You won't regret it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shadmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    157
    87
    77
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is not representative of Quebec City.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very average food, poor service. Expensive. The menu and decorations are 20 years old. Waiters are tired. They've probably worked there for 20-40 years and couldn't care less. Do yourself a favor. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fgmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great Beef Wellington!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I am really surprised at all the mediocre reviews. We really enjoyed our meals and the hospitality of this restaurant.

The service was great, the host and the waiter couldn't have been nicer. The restaurant is deceptively large. From the outside it looks like a tiny bistro but once you go in, it's 2 levels and huge! The wine list is expansive.

We had:

Beef Wellington - old school and delicious
Filet Mignon - delicious, my girls loved it
Beef Carpaccio - delicious
Avocado salad - very tasty

We didn't get to have dessert because of a "tantrum" situation but I am sure it would have been great. The prices were right and the bathroom was very clean.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect Dinner”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We loved Cafe de Paris! From the moment we entered the restuarant until the moment we left, we felt as if we'd been transported.
The escargot were fabulous...perfectly seasoned and perfectly tender.
The soup, that night was a sweet potatoe & apple bisque, was wonderful.
Then, we had the Chateaubriand! It was superb. Perfectly cooked and perfectly tender. It was served with just the right amount of nicely prepared and presented vegetables & potatoes. BUT it was the wonderful sauce that really set it apart. Although the meat didn't need the sauce, it was delicious! If you are in Quebec, you should find this lovely restaurant!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnitaLCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Incredible Chateaubriand!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We ordered the most wonderful chateaubriand (beef tenderloin) for 2 that was melt in your mouth tender and simply satisfying. Presented expertly right at our table with succulent vegetables. Truly a highlight during our visit to Old Quebec. We ate with soft candlelight and the sweet sound of live guitar. Wonderful!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mylar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing