We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe in Quebec”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe de Paris

Cafe de Paris
Ranked #196 of 1,432 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
GTA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cafe in Quebec”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stopped in for lunch during a day in Quebec City. The kids had a pizza which was really really good. I wish I had ordered the pizza. I had the Seafood Gratin which was on the Table d'Hote menu and was not impressed. It was average at best. Hubby had the Steak Frites which was good. Again, nothing to write home about, but good. The service was very good however and the atmosphere was nice. We sat by an open window which allowed us to watch the activities outside. Although they indicated "kid portions available", they don't actually have a kids menu. Unless your kids like adult type meals, the pizza will be their only good bet.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knitaholicGTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    147
    79
    71
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A tourist trap stuck in the 70's”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location and décor (and our hunger) drew us in, and the old fashioned French menu enticed us, but the food was not good. I'm sure it stays in business because of its proximity to the square and popular hotels but be warned that it is not worth it, even if the prices were lower.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Over priced, small portions, NOT WORTH IT!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We ate here our first night and we will not come back. Most of us ordered veal and it was over cooked and oily. I had one small carrot and three roasted potato bites to go with it. The wine list had a 300% mark up. The staff was fine and the room was nice, but for the price of the meal go across the street and spend your money at Bello. You won't regret it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shadmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is not representative of Quebec City.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very average food, poor service. Expensive. The menu and decorations are 20 years old. Waiters are tired. They've probably worked there for 20-40 years and couldn't care less. Do yourself a favor. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fgmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
308 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great Beef Wellington!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I am really surprised at all the mediocre reviews. We really enjoyed our meals and the hospitality of this restaurant.

The service was great, the host and the waiter couldn't have been nicer. The restaurant is deceptively large. From the outside it looks like a tiny bistro but once you go in, it's 2 levels and huge! The wine list is expansive.

We had:

Beef Wellington - old school and delicious
Filet Mignon - delicious, my girls loved it
Beef Carpaccio - delicious
Avocado salad - very tasty

We didn't get to have dessert because of a "tantrum" situation but I am sure it would have been great. The prices were right and the bathroom was very clean.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing