We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“for the terrace and the location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Cafe

Le Grand Cafe
Ranked #342 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: US$10 - US$36
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
Description: Restaurant Le Grand Cafe is located in the heart of the gastronomic, cultural and social life of Quebec city. Grande-Allée, with its many restaurants and night life, is known as “Les Champs-Élysées” of Quebec city.Our culinary team has created an eclectic and varied menu : delicious pizzas, flavorful pastas, refreshing salads, creative meat dishes, gourmet seafood and fondues.Savor the friendly relaxed atmosphere in the cozy restaurant or under the umbrella of the most popular terrace in town with its magnificent view of the Parliament buildings, the 19th century Drill Hall and the surrounding parks and gardens.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“for the terrace and the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We are going to Le Grand Café every year at around the same dates (during the Cycling grand prix Quebec-Montreal), we just sit outside on the terrace, have a beer or two. The location is perfect, right in the heart of the action. I have to repport two negative aspects of this year, they had so many bees on the terrace, it was getting annoying to fight against them to drink or eat. I hope they will do something for next year to avoid that situation. I also noticed that one of the waiter (that I've seen also last year) is there only for the money ( I understand that they have to make a living, but you don't have to make us feel like we are bothering you ) at least give us a smile once in a while.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LineBoutinActress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W215, Owner at Le Grand Cafe, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks for the review, I would just like to explain the bees... As we are located near the Plains of Abraham and all of Grand Allée is decorated with beautiful flowers we occasionally get bees. During autumn if we get a couple of cold days and then a warm day we will get more bees as they scramble to work. Further more some high end hotels in the old city have bee hives for honey. So it is not a specific premises situation it is actually more of a seasonal occurrence for all the area. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    55
    29
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice corner location, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Grand Cafe is located on the corner near the parliament building. It as a spacious terrace and a varied menu. The service was good and not rushed. I'd go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

The Festival Pizza was very tasty. We believe it was pricey but what can you expect if located at Grande Allee St.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonioVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great desserts, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because it gave us a nice view of the military band concert and because it had a children's menu. While the food was good, and the prices were better than most, the service was incredibly slow!!! This was especially difficult while dining with children. The desserts were delicious, especially the chocolate loco.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mb2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“favorite place on grande-allée”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

staff was very good. very polite and kind. the "table d'hote" was a really good value. food was really good. a really good experience. better than most of the other restaurant in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boubou418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Grand Cafe also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing