We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so so good...if you love rabbit like we do!”
Review of Le Lapin Saute

Le Lapin Saute
Ranked #25 of 1,467 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The magic of the Petit-Champlain district adds to the charm of the Lapin Sauté. By day, this pedestrian street comes alive with the sounds of chatter. By night, the lighting makes shadows dance on the walls of the street's historic houses. Dining at the Lapin Sauté is akin to walking into a warm, quaint and cozy inns from the early 20th century. There is nothing better than sitting in the comfort of this small, friendly 32-seat restaurant where you're always welcomed with open arms. During the summer, the Lapin expands to 52 seats with its outdoor terrace and patrons flock here under the warm sun. In the winter, a fire warms your heart and soul as you discover local country products made and served like nowhere else.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So so so good...if you love rabbit like we do!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We ended up here by accident...best accident ever! The food was amazing. We had the rilette, cassoulet, rabbit pie and for dessert the apple sugar pie. I will dream about that pie. The place is small and quaint, we ate outside on the terrace, really lovely. They really only have rabbit on the menu, so if you don't eat that maybe you should avoid it :) oh great service as well!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,405
    775
    192
    54
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location and great service”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is located in the middle of a busy tourist area Petit Champlain. Great location to have lunch or dinner and watch people. Service is great and waitresses are extremely polite and nice. If you like rabbit meat, this place can offer a variety of dishes, even rabbit pie. Try creme bulee for dessert. A great place for great atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yung T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Lapin Sauté was located on one of the most touristy streets in the city. Normally, this would deter us but we were hungry and decided to take a risk. This turned out to be a great decision. The rabbit they serve in this restaurant is some of the best we have tasted. My wife had rabbit with mustard sauce that could only be described as succulent. I had a rabbit cassoulet. We had to agree that this was the star of the show. It was absolutely delicious. This restaurant gets our enthusiastic vote.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank britromancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Nicest place in the area”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The decoration, food and service, all at the top level make this place a great experience. We ordered the cheese & charcuterie and local specialties, including the wine. The atmosphere and the very nice staff made the experience very pleasant. Recommend the 'cidre gaclé' as the last shot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, NS
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Canadian Restaurant”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is my first review for this wonderful restaurant. It is our all-time favourite place.We have been here 5 times in the last 17 years. We first discovered it in 1997 while moving from Northern Ontario to Nova Scotia's south shore. We were towing a boat so we opted to stay at a motel in Levis. We discovered we could take a ferry across to Old Quebec city so we headed across and started a foot tour of the old parts of this amazing old city. At dusk we found Le Lapin Saute and had a wonderful, quiet, romantic dinner here next to the fireplace. We also are lovers of game food so the largely rabbit based menu was really enjoyable. Every time we drive east or west we try to book a stay in Quebec City to enjoy "our" restaurant and partake of the historic city's many attractions. We just enjoyed our last visit in May.The rabbit cassoulet was great. We continue to be enchanted.You can't go wrong here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickat4main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Lapin Saute also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Lapin Saute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing