We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive, tiny portion, and very slow”
Review of Voodoo Grill - CLOSED

Voodoo Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“expensive, tiny portion, and very slow”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stopped at this restaurant for dinner since it looks decent and has trip advisor sign posted outside. The environment is nice - quiet and romantic. But we were very disappointed at the food. The food was very slowly prepared, even according to European standard. And the portion is so SMALL that it made my kids laugh. We had two orders of off-menu pasta for my kids and two orders of filet mignon for my wife and me. The kids ate both of their pasta and our entrees and didn't feel stuffed. Comm'on, $126 can't even feed two young kids under 10 years old. Won't go back and won't recommend for any hungry stomaches.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good concept, good food.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We went there for the Tartare and we weren't disappointed. Great concept of choosing your base meat/fish and then your dressing/flavour by country. Good fun idea and well executed. The atmosphere is cool and trendy, although we were sat next to a large very loud group which spoilt things a bit. Price-wise, it's on the upper end of good value - quite expensive for our budget but by no means overly so. A good place to try if you like tartare or crazy cocktails!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gluten free in Quebec City”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Visit on a business supper. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food. Great upbeat atmosphere even for those that enjoy a late dinner. Easily accommodated my gluten free requests.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amupward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
157 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great for a late snack”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Loud and trendy but great for a snack after walking back from the Old City. Appetizers were reasonably priced and tasty. Great view from the terrace of the foot traffic on Grande Allee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmckphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the best tartare ever!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I had one lunch together with my wife in this place that is specialized in tartare (over 150 based on meat and fish). We took two beef tartare (one Casablanca and one Quebec) and they were two of the best tartare we ever had. The service was very high quality with a very kind waiter (he translated to us all the menu from french to english even if we did not ask for it), the restaurant is located just outside Quebec City with a wondeful patio.

The only very small drawback is that prices are higher than average, but quality is for sure very high.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankieP1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Voodoo Grill also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing