We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place Out of the Ordinaire”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chateau du Faubourg
Ranked #29 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Building
The place does not look like a B&B. The building was built in 1880's and has unbelievable history and decor. Your jaw drops as soon as you walk in. The word "B&B" does not do justice to this place.
Room
We stayed in the Library. Check out www.lechateaudufaubourg.com
The room is just okay when compared to the rest of the house, however, it was good enough for us. We peeked through one of the other rooms and it was so much better.
Host
He is very friendly and always smiling.
Breakfast
Croissants, jam, ham, orange juice, and french cheese was given. You can request toast and tea.
Location
The place is approximately 5 mins of walk from the walls the walled city. We like walking and we do we really like this part of town as there are less tourists and more locals. The walk may feel a little tough in winters. We were staying there when it was -20 outside and we decided to drive the second day!

Overall, the stay here was great!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkaslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Le Chateau du Faubourg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2007

This is a B&B in the old city of Quebec, although it is just slightly outside the old walls. Amazing location, VERY local (less touristy), and loaded with character. I didn't know what I was getting into, I couldn't believe the place when I checked in. It's like staying IN Versailles. I stay at a lot of B&Bs, I've never seen anything like this.

I stayed in probably the least interesting room, the Library, but it was still fantastic. The bed was a Murphy, and I have no idea what the room looked like with the bed "up." It had a writing desk, dresser, in-suite bath. It was very clean and comfortable--definitely only for 2 people.

The other rooms are much more elaborate (I was able to have a look at rooms when people checked out).

But the public rooms are the amazing thing. They're loaded with heavy gilded, satin covered, ornate furnishings. Massive chandeliers hang overhead. It's exactly what you hope to stay in in France, and never find.

It's on Rue St Jean, and the neighbourhood is filled with excellent eateries and shopping, all very local and cool. Just down the hill is the newly reborn neighbourhood of St Roch, which I thought was super cool.

I have no complaints about this B&B. It was a riot staying there. Philip, the on-site host is great. There's continental breakfast set out in the formal dining room, and then he'll gladly cook you eggs to order. He can tell you all about the neighbourhood, and more importantly the house. He also has birds on the top floor, they chirp at times, but I couldn't hear them in my room and they were certainly no nuisance. At night they're covered so they're silent.

Outside on Rue St. Jean you'll find a couple of really cool eateries: I particularly liked Hobbit, and a crepe place (not touristy, filled with locals) called Le Billig. There's also one of the coolest gourmet grocery stores I've ever seen, called J.A. Moisan--according to my tour guide it's one of the oldest grocery stores in Quebec, and is frequently used for movies.

Overall, I'd stay at this place again in a minute.

Randall Shirley

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jrandalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pas de conseil spécifique à donner. Tous les chambres sont très bien insonorisées et chaque chambre...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank princessemia010810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres ont tous des qualités différentes
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josee1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous avions une suite
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bemiro33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: las nuestras eran 2 habitaciones con muy buena cama, baño y un living cómodo conTV, cafetera, equip...
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JorgieLaPlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
#6 of 119 in Quebec City
248 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Auberge J.A. Moisan
#8 of 119 in Quebec City
243 reviews
A l'Augustine
#23 of 119 in Quebec City
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Couette et Cafe 253
#4 of 119 in Quebec City
119 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
B&B Au Petit Roi
B&B Au Petit Roi
#38 of 119 in Quebec City
108 reviews
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
#13 of 119 in Quebec City
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau du Faubourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau du Faubourg

Address: Rue St-Jean, 429, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location as they say! A French Second Empire style private and restored chateau in the heart of Quebec City. One of the best values in historical Quebec City that includes your breakfast. We also have some parking spaces available which are a rare find in old Quebec. We have suites and rooms at various rates that would accommodate most traveling budgets. Every suite and room has air conditioning, private bathroom (shower or bathtub), cable TV, coffee machine and free wifi. Our rooms and suites also offer quality mattresses and linen. All rooms have been restored. From the chateau, most of the desirable tourist attractions are at walking distance. We are a few steps from the Quebec convention centre, old Quebec and the Parliament hill. Come to visit and experience the chateau life style of the XIX century but modernized to the XXI. Le Chateau du Faubourg has definitely this European feeling since the style and architecture are very Francais. Hope to see you soon in our wonderful historical city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Du Faubourg Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing