We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chateau du Faubourg
Ranked #26 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This place has to be seen to be believed, it is a beautifully restored château in the French-style.
The room we stayed in was very spacious and felt luxurious and was excellent value for money.

The host is also welcoming and helpful.

The location is excellent, you are little away from the core tourist area, but closer to the 'locals' and some great restaurants (and yes, even a great poutine place!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2AussieTravellers104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

The rooms are all done in period decor-18th century,in fact the entire house is as well. You really feel you are Louis xiv or Marie Antoinette. Try to get the two room suite with the view on the St. Babtist church. Close to downtown. Very quiet and we appreciated the cleanly ness and great breakfast.Great value.

Room Tip: the one that faces the church-2nd floor. It's a suite-boudoir with fireplace and cyrtal chandele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roxanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Just a short walk to Old Quebec and Citadel, yet it is in a very quaint neighborhood....more locals than tourists, unlike Old Quebec where there are much much more tourists than locals. Architecture, furnishings, decorations, and landscape of the premise are amazing...puts you in the home of Louis XIV time. Breakfast choices that would fill you til dinner, if not exercise control....great coffee and lots of it. We stayed 3 nights...just enough time to explore Old Quebec and get away from all tourists off the cruise ships. Highly recommend this auberg. Diep and John, Seattle

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Le Chateau du Faubourg is a real "Manor" with antique carpet, furnitures and family pictures hanging all over tha walls.
Located just out of the wall is at 5 minutes walk from the "walled area and Citadel": rue St. Jean is full of restaurants and shops.
We stayed in a beautiful suite on 1st floor with sleeping area and living area.
Homemade cooked breakfast every morning.
We really recommend it: very good ratio between price and quality!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LB_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Two friends and I stayed a night at this B and B in Quebec City. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The place ha s much formal French furniture including ceilings with paintings of French kings. Francois Premier! There are casual restaurants nearby, and breakfast was delicious. Very good value

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NancyGates_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My friend from New Zealand and I stayed here in July. All we could do was say Wow when we entered. Our rooms on the top floor were huge with our own private sitting room as well as a shared sitting room and reading room Excellent accommodations and very convenient to walk to Old Quebec City. Phillipe was the most gracious host, looking after our bags when we arrived early, wonderful breakfasts and arranging taxi's for us. Phillipe even left a breakfast for us as we were departing very early in the morning. Had a fantastic meal at a restaurant just down the street from the B&B called Le Moine Echanson.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paula897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at this B&B at the beginning of July and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. We stayed in the Master Suite and it was very comfortable and spacious....we loved it. It makes you feel like you are staying in a castle! The breakfasts are continental with eggs or french toast. Umbrellas are available for use. Philippe is a great host and was always willing to assist with suggestions. The B&B is located about a 10 minute walk from the gates to the Old City but in an area where locals live and work....a very safe area for walking at any time. If/when we return to Quebec City, this will be our first choice of a place to stay.

Room Tip: Master Suite is very spacious and definitely makes you feel like you are living in a castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nflder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#9 of 120 in Quebec City
348 reviews
Au Petit Hotel
#18 of 120 in Quebec City
154 reviews
A l'Augustine
#25 of 120 in Quebec City
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
#87 of 120 in Quebec City
99 reviews
Montcalm
Couette & Cafe L'Arvidienne
Couette & Cafe L'Arvidienne
#30 of 120 in Quebec City
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau du Faubourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau du Faubourg

Address: Rue St-Jean, 429, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location as they say! A French Second Empire style private and restored chateau in the heart of Quebec City. One of the best values in historical Quebec City that includes your breakfast. We also have some parking spaces available which are a rare find in old Quebec. We have suites and rooms at various rates that would accommodate most traveling budgets. Every suite and room has air conditioning, private bathroom (shower or bathtub), cable TV, coffee machine and free wifi. Our rooms and suites also offer quality mattresses and linen. All rooms have been restored. From the chateau, most of the desirable tourist attractions are at walking distance. We are a few steps from the Quebec convention centre, old Quebec and the Parliament hill. Come to visit and experience the chateau life style of the XIX century but modernized to the XXI. Le Chateau du Faubourg has definitely this European feeling since the style and architecture are very Francais. Hope to see you soon in our wonderful historical city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Du Faubourg Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing