We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chateau du Faubourg
Ranked #28 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2009

This is the perfect place where to stay in Quebec City.
The building by itself is fantastic and the owners paid special attention and respect while restoring/decorating it. Your jaw is going to drop when you enter this place. The flaboyant staircase and the living/dining rooms with their antique furniture are just amazing. Elegant and charming!
The rooms are also nicely decorated and very clean (with a private bathroom).
The breakfast is perfect too. I enjoyed my freshly brewed coffee and freshly baked french croissants. For those who like eggs and bacon, you just have to order them from the host.
The location is also perfect. You are at walking distance of everything (Old City, Shops, Restaurants, Bars/Clubs, etc)
And the last... but not the least: the host, Philippe, is very helpfull. He knows his city well and can suggest you some activities.
As the title reads, this B&B is overall... Perfect!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arahmis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    12
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
44
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

One visit will convice you. We have been at the Chateau twice now and we are in love with the place. The atmosphere and decor is simply out of this world.

Of course the size of your room is matching what you are paying. I strongly recommend the large bedrooms and suite.

I would recommend this place to all friends!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hoodthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

This place looks good and photos and from the outside - but it's all smoke and mirrors. When you look at anything up close and in person it's just garbage. Everything looks like someone's shoddy art project - like the ``paintings`` or the ``stained glass``. You can tell that the ideas of whomever restored this place were good but that he just didn't have the budget - and it shows, it's quite sad really. The guy who greeted us and served us breakfast (whom I suspect isn't the owner) wasn't the very nice but we didn't care. The breakfast was so so so bad. Plain toast from grocery loaf bread and uncut fruit - I could have done better myself at home. We will not be going back nor recommending.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lamome108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed in The Library which is the smallest and the least sumptuously decorated of all the rooms. The room had hardwood floors and was big and clean with a nice bathroom attached. We were disappointed though to find the closet stuffed with a comforter, which was lying on the floor of the closet together with a memory-foam pillow; a rod with a curtain, a coil of cable wire, and a coverlet of some sort which matches the bedspread. The weather was turning cold, and it would have been nice if they had thought to put the comforter on the bed for us. The shower dispenser for shampoo etc also wasn’t filled, and the bath wash was actually empty.
The bed was made and the bathroom washed everyday when we were out. Breakfast was just okay - continental style, but you can request toast and eggs.
The dining room and 3 sitting rooms are decorated flamboyantly to depict the 19th century era. There was no offer to us to sit in the sitting area, and perhaps rightly so because of the maintenance factor.
The location was a definite plus - many boutique shops and nice restaurants and cafes. A busy street which is part of the recommended walking tour of QC.
All in all, it was an average B&B esp. when compared to our first B&B where it felt more comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. It was a nice enough one-time experience in a 19th Century Chateau.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebroruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The place was visually stunning and took us back to the nineteenth century. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Every piece of furniture and decoration harmonized with the surroundings. Our host was also very nice and a wonderful person to talk to. Breakfast was always on time. Anyone going to Quebec City should stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJPil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Wonderful B&B. Enormous rooms and fantastic and beautifully served breakfast. Location is perfect on Rue St. Jean, a few blocks outside the walls. the building is set back from the street and very quiet.
There were several free things happening at night in the city that our host, Phillippe encouraged us to do.
Cirque du Soliel has a show under the freeway and an easy walk from the B&B. Up St. Jean a few blocks to St. Augustine, turn left, walk down the hill, and take the steps to the base. Turn right and you are there. You can not miss it. However, remember you will be climbing steps and a few short steep blocks on the way home. Free. There were 5 stages there and you stand the whole time, but you are as close as you want to be to the action. You can walk from stage to stage as the action moves, if you wish. Amazing. It started at 9:10 and was about an hour long. There are port-o-lets, but no other services there. Eat first. A real experience.
Le Moulins a Images (The Image Mill) on the Bunge Grain Elevator/Silo complex on the waterfront. You can not miss this.
Starts at 10 PM. Wed. thru Sun. night. Last 40 minutes. You view and hear from either the docks in Lower Towne or from the road in Upper Town (if you don't want to climb back up). I think there are 80 silos and images are projected on them. It constantly moves and changes. Thought provoking and certainly provides conversation topic for the breakfast table the next morning: "What was that?" All this to say do not miss it.

Take a jacket to Quebec City, even in the summer. We was chilly both nights, at these outdoor events.

Also, the B&B is convenient to many interesting shops. It is a nice walk to the Old Town. The neighborhood behind the B&B will lead you over towards the government building areas and one of the main streets. There are nice long streets for walking and a few parks along the way.
Having a comfortable B&B was important to me in Quebec because it is a smaller city and I knew we would spend more time in the room. In this case we had two seating areas in a huge living room with a separate bedroom. Next to the large window in the bedroom was a great swivel rocker, great for reading and catching up on my journal each morning. The bathroom was large and spotless. They provided fresh towels everyday.
The downstairs of the house had several large rooms, that I did not find comfortable, but fit the style of the home. There was always nice classical or french chanteuse music softly playing.
Breakfast was a real spread. Fresh front, freshly baked croissants, French Press coffee, real cream and real butter, eggs cooked to order, bacon and toast.
Phillippe is a knowledgable host, as well.
One recommendation would be to have a better city map. They have a copied b&w map that was difficult to read. I picked up a free one some a kiosk in town that I found 100% easier to use.
I can not wait to return to Quebec City and to stay at Le Chateau du Faubourg.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank SHVTraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Such a great B&B to stay, rooms are nicely decorated, very clean. Been there several times i never felt it was hunted as someone else said.
The old city is very close by , walking distance .
I would not hesitate to recommend the place.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lud3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Castel d'Amerique Francaise
#7 of 119 in Quebec City
210 reviews
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#8 of 119 in Quebec City
334 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
B&B Au Petit Roi
B&B Au Petit Roi
#37 of 119 in Quebec City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Auberge J.A. Moisan
#9 of 119 in Quebec City
235 reviews
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
#6 of 119 in Quebec City
244 reviews
L'Autre Jardin
#44 of 119 in Quebec City
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau du Faubourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau du Faubourg

Property: Le Chateau du Faubourg
Address: Rue St-Jean, 429, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location as they say! A French Second Empire style private and restored chateau in the heart of Quebec City. One of the best values in historical Quebec City that includes your breakfast. We also have some parking spaces available which are a rare find in old Quebec. We have suites and rooms at various rates that would accommodate most traveling budgets. Every suite and room has air conditioning, private bathroom (shower or bathtub), cable TV, coffee machine and free wifi. Our rooms and suites also offer quality mattresses and linen. All rooms have been restored. From the chateau, most of the desirable tourist attractions are at walking distance. We are a few steps from the Quebec convention centre, old Quebec and the Parliament hill. Come to visit and experience the chateau life style of the XIX century but modernized to the XXI. Le Chateau du Faubourg has definitely this European feeling since the style and architecture are very Francais. Hope to see you soon in our wonderful historical city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Du Faubourg Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing