We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Greek restaurant???”

Restaurant Au Vieux Duluth
Ranked #722 of 1,434 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Greek, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Greek restaurant???”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were looking for an inexpensive restaurant, and our B&B recommended this one. It's sort of a Greek flavor (not as ethnic as the ones back home, but that's ok). The food was ok; we didn't have high expectations (it's not gourmet), but it was fine.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MacThespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Greek restaurant, service could have been better.”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a chain of restaurants in Quebec but we didn't know of them. The name doesn't give any hint that it is Greek food mostly so we did not know what to expect. The waiter did not appear to speak English so we managed with my fractured French. We both had the butternut squash soup and we shared the Greek salad which came with two giant slabs of feta on top. We had to wait for service and our bill. Since we were tired from travelling we would have liked to have had a better experience. There aren't too many choices in this area for dinner in the winter for dining after 9 pm.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DandD142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Incredibly rude server, so-so food - Nice ambiance, patient/friendly manager.”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Unfortunately the minuses outweigh the pluses at this 'Greek' restaurant. The food rated a luke-warm "It's OK" from my family who tend to love their food. The menu, itself, could use more Greek items and less non-Greek options to really convince you that you are at a Greek restaurant.

All of this might be overlooked to some extent if you were served with a smile. Unfortunately, we were served by a waiter who couldn't get us out of the restaurant fast enough. He grabbed for plates while members of my family still had food in their mouths and utensils in their hands, and huffed when they politely protested to having their dishes taken away. After shuffling us through as quickly as he could, he pounced on the bill and my husband as he was counting out money to pay for it, grabbing the money to count out change. When my husband protested that he wasn't done yet, putting his hand on the bill and money, the server took the money anyway, counted it out abruptly and tossed change on the table with a snotty "Thank you, Bye!" and spun away from the table. Needless to say, he got no tip and we spoke to the manager.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank minivanride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big deception and more than ordinary”
Reviewed 15 March 2009

I was at Vieux Duluth of boul Hamel for lunch on Wed March 11th 2009.
This resto has absolutely nothing of Greek food not even the mousaka.
I had a filet of sole(minuscule portion of fish covered with crab sauce)served with 2 little
greek potatoes,1/4 cup of chicken rice and half of the plate stuffed with lettuce.
The shells and veggies soup was creamy but all the food extremely SALTED.
The only positive move has been the good service of the waiter.
$15.00 with tip, lost of money and time.
Denys

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denysd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Au Vieux Duluth also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Au Vieux Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing