We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison Historique James Thompson
Ranked #8 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We decided to give this place a try after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. The location is excellent. Once you park your car (included), there is no need to use it. We walked the walled city of Quebec and beyond without a use for it. This place has an interesting history and we especially enjoyed the quirkiness of staying in a home instead of the usual hotel room. The hosts were very accommodating offering up great tips for touring the city and beyond. We can't wait to go back to not only stay here again but venture and explore other parts of Canada. Guitta was most gracious and offered up the best breakfast. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Every room is different. So depending on the size of your party, they usually select the best optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellerio2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at Maison Historique for a weekend trip to Quebec, and couldn't have asked for a better stay. Our original room was out of order, so we ended up staying in a room with a shared bathroom on the third floor for the first night, and in the groundfloor room with a private bath the second. Both rooms were beautiful, perfectly comfortable, and very quiet considering the age of the historic home, which has been restored and made into a fantastic B&B.

Greg is extremely helpful, and was happy to explain to us all that the city had to offer. He has a wealth of knowledge about the city's history, and gave us useful tips for our stay. Guitta prepared a delicious breakfast both mornings, with a choice of eggs, french toast, or crepes along with breakfast meats, croissants, toast, and cereal - they even had a gluten-free cereal for us.

The location is perfect - everything within the old city is within walking distance, but the street where the B&B is located is very quiet. The B&B came with an added perk of free parking, which appeared to be rare in the old part of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kgm523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first (but hopefully not our last!) trip to Quebec, and I can't say enough good things about our stay at Maison Historique James Thompson. The house is beautiful, comfortable, and full of great artwork (much of it by Guitta). The room was lovely and clean, with a view over the streets of the Old City that I already miss. The room had a private bath, which I don't take for granted at a B&B, as shared baths are common. Breakfast was delicious---a fruit salad plus your choice of crepes, omelettes, or pain perdu. (We both choose the crepes every day---they were excellent!) Guitta was helpful and a wonderful host. Oh, and did I mention that you couldn't find a better location, on a quiet street inside the walls of the beautiful Haute Ville? We hope to be able to come back soon...

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guittatimtim, Owner at Maison Historique James Thompson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Love is a feeling that we feel when we are LOVE. This B&B is only a reflection of your inner self, no? Love.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at Maison Historique James Thompson during the first weekend of Carnaval. The location is excellent for exploring the city and the rooms are very nice. Guitta was very welcoming and prepared the best breakfast! Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaltPepper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We arrived at the B&B in a pouring rain. Guitta greeted us at the door, took our bags inside, and gave us an umbrella to use while we returned our rental car a block away. When we got back, our bags were already upstairs; how she managed it, I'll never know, but Guitta was amazing in so many ways that it must have seemed routine to her. She and Greg made our 2 days in the city a delight in spite of the cold and wind outside with their great breakfasts, friendly manner and helpful advice. Although our room could have benefited from better lighting, it was clean and comfortable in every way. The property itself is in a fabulous location, withing walking distance to everything in the Old City but enough off the main streets to be quiet. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who is looking for comfort and value inside the city walls.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rangersgirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

I just returned from a great trip to Quebec City and a stay at this B&B. From the moment I got there (after 10pm), I felt welcome and cared for by Guitta, the hostess. She is a very busy woman, cooking breakfast including homemade baked treats, cleaning, and catering to guests. She went out of her way every morning to sit down and visit at breakfast with everyone.
My room was on the top floor with a shared bathroom, but it was never a problem. Only one bedroom is on ground level, so climbing stairs may be required. I had a queen sized bed that was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this B&B. They do only accept cash, but I was clearly informed of this when I made reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heyzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Perfect location inside the walls of the old city, free parking (never used our car for 3 days), bountiful and delicious breakfasts (with choice of 3 entrees), and helpful suggestions from Guitta, our host. The place is "historique" in charm, needs some updating, but is quiet and comfortable. Recommend the Thai restaurant around the corner and Cape Breton Crepes on Rue de St. Jean. Also the tour of the Governor General's home at the Citadel (free, tours on weekends only) was a highlight. And don't miss the Monmorency Falls on the outskirts of town. Thanks Guitta for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Blue room on the first floor was good size and had private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonDiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Historique James Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Historique James Thompson

Address: 47 rue Ste.Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: £77 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home was built in 1793 and it situated within the fortified walls of famous Vieux Quebec. It is classified as an Historic Monument by the Government of Quebec and has a 4 "sun" rating. Our tastefully decorated guest rooms have Queen-sized beds for your comfort. We offer two rooms, each with one Queen-sized bed, and the third room has two Queen-sized beds. Our entire home is protected by a well maintained fire detection system that is monitored all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maison Historique James Thompson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Historique James Thompson Hotel Quebec City
Maison Historique James Thompson Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing