We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison Historique James Thompson
Nearby Hotels
US$130
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$129
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
US$123
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Auberge Aux Deux Lions(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Le Champlain Hotel(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delta Hotels Quebec(Quebec City)
US$133
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sainte-Anne(Quebec City)
US$108
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
152
45
6
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
45
6
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench toastcrepesb bother guestscroissantsprivate bathwithin walking distancefresh fruit bowlold citygreat locationbed and breakfastthird floorhelpful suggestionstop floorbreakfast was amazingwithin the wallsenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at this historic home during our recent first time visit to Quebec City. Guita has a lovely home, and made us feel extremely welcome! She offered great suggestions for dining in the city, lent us a tour book and was always ready to answer our questions. Breakfasts were always outstanding-fruit plate, fresh baked croissants and muffins. Add to that your choice between crepes, eggs or French toast with bacon or sausages and you left for the day well fed! Oh yes, the coffee was superb!

Our room was very comfortable - the bed was just right! Washroom was a bit small, but for two of us, was fine. And what a shower! Could stand under it for hours especially after a long day of walking! Lots of space in the room to spread our things out and looking out the historic windows was such a treat! Wi-fi worked well and lots of electrical outlets to charge phones, cameras, tablets etc.

The location was absolutely perfect. Just a few minutes walk from the Chateau Frontenac, the Citadel, the many restaurants and the waterfront. Be sure to walk the Governors Promenade - fabulous walkway along the river.

We already are talking about a future trip to Quebec and we will certainly call Guita for a room!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We decided to give this place a try after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. The location is excellent. Once you park your car (included), there is no need to use it. We walked the walled city of Quebec and beyond without a use for it. This place has an interesting history and we especially enjoyed the quirkiness of staying in a home instead of the usual hotel room. The hosts were very accommodating offering up great tips for touring the city and beyond. We can't wait to go back to not only stay here again but venture and explore other parts of Canada. Guitta was most gracious and offered up the best breakfast. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Every room is different. So depending on the size of your party, they usually select the best option. There is the option of private versus shared bath. So if private is what you are looking for, make sure to ask for it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellerio2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at Maison Historique for a weekend trip to Quebec, and couldn't have asked for a better stay. Our original room was out of order, so we ended up staying in a room with a shared bathroom on the third floor for the first night, and in the groundfloor room with a private bath the second. Both rooms were beautiful, perfectly comfortable, and very quiet considering the age of the historic home, which has been restored and made into a fantastic B&B.

Greg is extremely helpful, and was happy to explain to us all that the city had to offer. He has a wealth of knowledge about the city's history, and gave us useful tips for our stay. Guitta prepared a delicious breakfast both mornings, with a choice of eggs, french toast, or crepes along with breakfast meats, croissants, toast, and cereal - they even had a gluten-free cereal for us.

The location is perfect - everything within the old city is within walking distance, but the street where the B&B is located is very quiet. The B&B came with an added perk of free parking, which appeared to be rare in the old part of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kgm523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first (but hopefully not our last!) trip to Quebec, and I can't say enough good things about our stay at Maison Historique James Thompson. The house is beautiful, comfortable, and full of great artwork (much of it by Guitta). The room was lovely and clean, with a view over the streets of the Old City that I already miss. The room had a private bath, which I don't take for granted at a B&B, as shared baths are common. Breakfast was delicious---a fruit salad plus your choice of crepes, omelettes, or pain perdu. (We both choose the crepes every day---they were excellent!) Guitta was helpful and a wonderful host. Oh, and did I mention that you couldn't find a better location, on a quiet street inside the walls of the beautiful Haute Ville? We hope to be able to come back soon...

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guittatimtim, Owner at Maison Historique James Thompson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Love is a feeling that we feel when we are LOVE. This B&B is only a reflection of your inner self, no? Love.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at Maison Historique James Thompson during the first weekend of Carnaval. The location is excellent for exploring the city and the rooms are very nice. Guitta was very welcoming and prepared the best breakfast! Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaltPepper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews