We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in the heart of Quebec”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Historique James Thompson
Ranked #10 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Great place to stay in the heart of Quebec”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We went to Quebec in May 2013 and even though it was raining over greater part of the weekend, we absolutely loved the place. James Thompson added a lot of flavor to out trip. It was cozy and comfortable. The breakfast was great, and the hosts are warm and full of stories and information for tourists. I'm glad we chose to stay here as against staying in a hotel. It was right in the city center (so we did not have to use our car at all once we parked there), and had a personal touch. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ParulShrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    42
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
110
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spent two nights here from the 2nd till the 4th of july 2013.

Our friends had been here before us and had recommended it because of the nice hosts, the good ambiance and the tasty breakfast. I have to say: we were not dissapointed.

There is onsite parking and the house is situated close to the wall in the old city centre, which means that basically everything is within walking distance.

Our sweet host Guitta did her best to make us very comfortable. When we wanted to sleep in, she was completely fine with serving us a late and lovely breakfast. Also she gave us tips for sightseeing.

Also it's fine if you come home in the middle of the night. You get a code to open the front door, so you don't have to worry about waking up anyone when you get in.

If you are looking for a convenient location, good service and a touch of the ambiance of old Quebec; please look no further. This is the place to go to and I'm sure you will look back on this place as fondly as I do.

Room Tip: I can recommend the room downstairs; it has a private bathroom with a lovely shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mullingarmushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at this beautiful old home (inside...outside is rather plain) for 4 days in July. Guita is a wonderful hostess and very accommodating. We had a lovely room on the first floor, quite roomy and with private bath. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and you are given a choice each morning as to what you would like, it always started with a nice fruit cup, plenty of coffee, juice and freshly baked croissants and mini muffins. Perfectly located at the top of the hill and right around the corner from busy St. Louis Street and a very short walk to Chateau Frontenac. Have visited Quebec City many times but this was our first stay here and certainly won't be our last. Thanks Guita for making our stay so comfortable and special!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinyttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and dropped in to say hi to Gitta when we were in Quebec City this past weekend. We only didn't stay here this time because there were no vacancies. This is a gorgeous B&B within walking distance to everything within the walled city. It's very clean and the breakfast is delicious. This house is steeped in history - built in the 1700s. It retains a lot of the old charm and is warm and comfortable...we were there in cold weather last time. Gitta is phenomenal - very friendly and helpful. The only downside we saw was that we were in a room with a very small shower but despite that, we would recommend this B&B to everyone.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful but at least one of them has a very small shower. Usable but small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this historic home during our recent first time visit to Quebec City. Guita has a lovely home, and made us feel extremely welcome! She offered great suggestions for dining in the city, lent us a tour book and was always ready to answer our questions. Breakfasts were always outstanding-fruit plate, fresh baked croissants and muffins. Add to that your choice between crepes, eggs or French toast with bacon or sausages and you left for the day well fed! Oh yes, the coffee was superb!

Our room was very comfortable - the bed was just right! Washroom was a bit small, but for two of us, was fine. And what a shower! Could stand under it for hours especially after a long day of walking! Lots of space in the room to spread our things out and looking out the historic windows was such a treat! Wi-fi worked well and lots of electrical outlets to charge phones, cameras, tablets etc.

The location was absolutely perfect. Just a few minutes walk from the Chateau Frontenac, the Citadel, the many restaurants and the waterfront. Be sure to walk the Governors Promenade - fabulous walkway along the river.

We already are talking about a future trip to Quebec and we will certainly call Guita for a room!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We decided to give this place a try after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. The location is excellent. Once you park your car (included), there is no need to use it. We walked the walled city of Quebec and beyond without a use for it. This place has an interesting history and we especially enjoyed the quirkiness of staying in a home instead of the usual hotel room. The hosts were very accommodating offering up great tips for touring the city and beyond. We can't wait to go back to not only stay here again but venture and explore other parts of Canada. Guitta was most gracious and offered up the best breakfast. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Every room is different. So depending on the size of your party, they usually select the best optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellerio2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at Maison Historique for a weekend trip to Quebec, and couldn't have asked for a better stay. Our original room was out of order, so we ended up staying in a room with a shared bathroom on the third floor for the first night, and in the groundfloor room with a private bath the second. Both rooms were beautiful, perfectly comfortable, and very quiet considering the age of the historic home, which has been restored and made into a fantastic B&B.

Greg is extremely helpful, and was happy to explain to us all that the city had to offer. He has a wealth of knowledge about the city's history, and gave us useful tips for our stay. Guitta prepared a delicious breakfast both mornings, with a choice of eggs, french toast, or crepes along with breakfast meats, croissants, toast, and cereal - they even had a gluten-free cereal for us.

The location is perfect - everything within the old city is within walking distance, but the street where the B&B is located is very quiet. The B&B came with an added perk of free parking, which appeared to be rare in the old part of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgm523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Historique James Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Historique James Thompson

Property: Maison Historique James Thompson
Address: 47 rue Ste.Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home was built in 1793 and it situated within the fortified walls of famous Vieux Quebec. It is classified as an Historic Monument by the Government of Quebec and has a 4 "sun" rating. Our tastefully decorated guest rooms have Queen-sized beds for your comfort. We offer two rooms, each with one Queen-sized bed, and the third room has two Queen-sized beds. Our entire home is protected by a well maintained fire detection system that is monitored all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maison Historique James Thompson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Historique James Thompson Hotel Quebec City
Maison Historique James Thompson Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing