We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, delicious breakfast, excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison Historique James Thompson
Ranked #11 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

You are very fortunate if you are able to book a room at Maison Historique James Thompson. The delicious breakfasts include a fresh fruit salad, homemade croissants and then your choice of made to order eggs, sausage, french toast, pancakes, etc. We stayed five nights and Gita baked a different pastry each morning. The rooms are huge with beautiful woodwork, private bathroom and very comfortable beds. There are charming sitting areas upstairs and down. The James Thompson is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, but central to every activity. It was so easy to walk into the heart of the city, the Plains of Abraham and to the Citadel to see the changing of the guard. We could walk to the Parliament Building, the beautiful stone wall that surrounds the city and to the lively Rue Saint-Jean Excellent restaurants and historic sites surrounded us. Gita and her family are very sweet and accommodating. They reserved our taxis and were very knowledgeable about local history and current events. It was a true pleasure to get to know them. We most highly recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank peppern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Maison Historique James Thompson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

This summer was our second stay that Gite and Greg's bed and breakfast. They treat us like family -even better than some of my family. Gite's breakfast is legendary with the home-baked croissants, waffles, bacon, eggs, etc. The baking makes her corner of old Quebec have an aroma of quaint French village. Gina and I would not think of staying anywhere else when we are in Quebec City as staying here makes a feel like a part of Quebec History - not just a tourist.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The historical building was amazing. The walk through Old Quebec in not to be missed.
The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very good. If you are a history buff staying here in comfort and "in" history is great.
We would return and recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: look before you pay
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry-Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our first visit to Quebec City was made all the better by our stay at this fantastic little hotel. Our third floor accommodation was more like a suite, with room to read or watch a movie in 3D! Guitta makes the best breakfasts, makes every effort to please the guests and provides sightseeing tips. The house cat, Sparta, was the bonus, sleeping on our windowsill in the sun during the day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank oregonstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at The James Thompson House the last weekend of Winter Festival. Guitta was a wonderful hostess and provided lovely breakfasts with fresh fruit, pastries and a variety of entrees all accompanied with maple syrup. The house is well maintained and is a great historic experience. Inside the walls of Old Quebec and an easy walk to everywhere. You do need to be able to negotiate stairs.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife, daughter and I just got back from a winter vacation in Quebec city. What a beautiful place. We stayed at the James Thompson house for three days and had a fantastic experience. It's located in the upper part of the old city and is within walking distance of all of the sites. The rooms are clean and spacious, but what made it fun was Guitta, the owner. What a great person! She and her daughters made us feel like family. Breakfast was a treat, chatting with Guitta and the other guest at a communal table. She told us about some great/inexpensive restaurants that are frequented by the locals. I can't say enough about how happy we are. Thank you Guitta, Heidi and Brigitte for an unforgettable stay:)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guittatimtim, Owner at Maison Historique James Thompson, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Ode de Joy family,

Thank you for your kind review. I also had a wonderful time hosting and meeting your family. The music is sealed on the wall of this house forever in memory of your young daughter playing the piano filling this house with joys. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights in June, 2013. It was a great experience! Quebec became one of our most wonderful places we've ever visited and surely a part of this experience was due to the place where we stayed. Besides not meeting Greg, Guitta was very friendly and helpful everyday we stayed there. We get to this B&B in the evening (after a long trip by bus) and she was waiting for us. She gave us very helpful information about the B&B and the city, she served us fresh breakfast everyday (she made some pancakes) and she also gave us a lift to the train station.
The house is well decorated with great furniture. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was good (however our bathroom had "glass walls" and a curtain). The bed was very large and comfortable. The only downside was the wood floor. When our "neighbours" were about to leave or when they got up ealier than us, we could listen to every step they made in the room above (but we've not heard any noise else).
This cozy B&B lies in a very good area in old Quebec in a very quiet street and it is not far to restaurants, the city walls and the main attractions - or Frontenac and Saint Laurent river, I mean = )

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zibordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guittatimtim, Owner at Maison Historique James Thompson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write a review and for your kind thoughts. I share your observation about the creaking of the 200 years old house. I cringe every time I hear the floor's noises. I am going to buy many bottles of baby powder and spread them over those floors tomorrow, I heard that it diminishes the creaking noises.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Historique James Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Historique James Thompson

Address: 47 rue Ste.Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: £76 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home was built in 1793 and it situated within the fortified walls of famous Vieux Quebec. It is classified as an Historic Monument by the Government of Quebec and has a 4 "sun" rating. Our tastefully decorated guest rooms have Queen-sized beds for your comfort. We offer two rooms, each with one Queen-sized bed, and the third room has two Queen-sized beds. Our entire home is protected by a well maintained fire detection system that is monitored all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maison Historique James Thompson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Historique James Thompson Hotel Quebec City
Maison Historique James Thompson Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing