We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, and they speak English! (sort of)”
Review of Le Cochon Dingue

Le Cochon Dingue
Ranked #63 of 1,453 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
verde valley
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“great food, and they speak English! (sort of)”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

one of my first challenges i have noticed in Quebec City is the lack of English outside the tourist zones, and this can be a real handicap if you don't speak French. this place is easy to find, great food, and terrific service. we ordered the seafood pot-pie, but it was really more of a delicious pastry and the pepper soup, which was excellent!

since this place is so comfortable for the non-French speaking tourist, its now my favorite int he area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arizona-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarineGRP, Responsable relations clients at Le Cochon Dingue, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to share about your visit.
We hope to see you again really soon!

Karine Poulin
Restos Plaisirs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    220
    75
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Le Cochon Dingue Champlain”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us on our recent trip to Quebec City. It's located in Old Town; the outdoor seating area is along a busy street on the waterfront, but we didn't find it distracting. We first tried to have dinner here on a Friday night; the wait was over an hour and they did not take reservations. We came back on Sunday around noon and only waited 20 minutes for a table outside. The service was attentive and our waitress was very charming. Although it took longer than expected for our meals to arrive, it was worth the wait. Portions were generous and the food was uniformly delicious (my daughter had duck confit poutine, which was amazing). Recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susieq98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great foood and super service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Delicious salmon tartare on toast, pasta with vegetables is a classic. Very friendly service in a nice setting. Really liked it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mieke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great location, staff was super charming and food is good, not fantastic, but i would return. Desserts are amazing and made fresh on the premises

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A1 service”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place on our trip to Quebec. Everything was good ambiance, food, deserts and most of all the service was perfect. Recomended!

Helpful?
Thank El_beik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cochon Dingue also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Cochon Dingue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing