We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the cheap price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Shawinigan
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the cheap price”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last few years.
Each time, the really good deal/price is what motivated me to stay there (oh and the pool).
The rooms are old, stingy and smelly. Old carpet, mold in the bathroom and smell of smoke.
I have to say though, that when I complained about these issues (during my last stay), the front desk immediately gave me another room that had no mold nor smell (but was still old and outdated).
The hotel is well situated, has a nice view and is surrounded by good restaurants.
The front staff is courteous.
There is a pool (which is good if you have kids)
The hotel restaurant is very average but breakfast is a decent deal.
I will not return to this hotel no matter the price because of the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    77
    60
    23
    15
See reviews for
65
81
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting the National Park. The hotel room was large, clean and contained a mini refrigerator. Pleasant staff at check-in and check-out. Large and gated free parking. Pool and spa area just average. Nice views from the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texan726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We bought a package to spend a night in the Auberge des gouverneurs in Shawinigan. For $172 each plus taxes we had the accommodation, dinner, breakfast, the visit of 2 museums, the visit of La Cité de l'Énergie plus the night show Amos D'Aragon. It was a good package and the buffets were tasty with a nice variety of items. A plus, the Auberge is facing the river in the centre of the city. It was very easy to visit the museum and La Cité de L'Énergie. We enjoyed the night show protected from the rain. Our hotel rooms were ok but nothing more. In general the furniture and carpets in the hotel are old and faded. Our rooms were in the back and quiet. The bed was a queensize bed. A room with a kingsize bed would have cost a lot more money. Our friends'room smelled of smoke even though all rooms are none smoking. Luckily we could open the windows. In general we thought the package deal was good. It was our first visit to an electrical power house and we learned things.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DidiD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed for 1 night and I am not sure how other hotels compare in the area. The room we had was ok but had that old smoky or humid scent. Corridors are pretty much the same. The furniture is also outdated. The towels were coming apart, I can't remember seeing that in any other hotel I've ever been in. The restaurant was good, nothing fancy. They have a pretty complete buffet breakfast that wasn't included in the price of the room. The location is very good on the waterfront with nearby restaurants and other attractions. Service was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

There aren't a lot of choices for hotels in Shawinigan. This one proved adequate but like most hotels much depends on which room you end up in. As it turned out we got a decent one at the back of the hotel that was clean and mostly in good repair (a few cracks in the plaster in the bathroom here and there). Strangely, in this particular room there was no place to hang clothes. No closet, no wardrobe. What do business guests with suits do? Where do people hang their coats in the winter? I asked at the front desk and was told that wardrobes would be added to those rooms in the near future.

We ate breakfast the two days we were there at the hotel's La Marmite restaurant. The breakfast buffet had a good selection and the quality was decent.

The nicest aspect of our stay was the hotel's proximity to the St. Maurice river, which is right across the street. We watched a canoe club holding races on the river one night. This probably happens often there since the dock the canoeists used seems built for this purpose and there is parking specifically for them beside the hotel. In the small park beside the river there are several tributes to great canoists of the past and a "sculpture" with a canoe embedded in it. Canoeing is indeed a popular sport in Shawinigan! As small as it is the park also holds two war memorials, one of them the Monument des Braves.

As previously stated there are plenty of restaurants nearby. We ate one night at the Sushi Taxi, where we had vegetarian sushi and General Tao chicken, all of it quite good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerelyATourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas Holidays. The room smelt like sewage, loud neighbours, no elevator, old and loud in room heaters (kept us up at night), poorly designed washroom, no appropriate shower head, uncooked chicken from room service, pool area not well kept.

The staff was pleasant....

Do not stay at this Hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shawinigan hotels

Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We attended a two day conference and therefore, we were there for three nights. The room was a little small but clean. The air conditionning system was somewhat tempermental. There was a strange smell (sewers) in the hallway. The staff was a little stiff at the front desk. Smiles cost extra I believe. The rooms were nice and quiet. The breakfast was included in the price, but the food, for all three mornings, was cold (eggs, hashbrowns, bacon). We had one supper there and it was ok but not great. Overall, we were a little disappointed and glad to go home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawinigan
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Shawinigan
6.1 mi away
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
#1 of 6 in Shawinigan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.7 mi away
Auberge Le Flores
Auberge Le Flores
#1 of 2 in Grand-Mere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hotel Sacacomie
Hotel Sacacomie
#1 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
16.3 mi away
Super 8 Trois-Rivieres
Super 8 Trois-Rivieres
#1 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotels Gouverneur Trois-Rivieres
Hotels Gouverneur Trois-Rivieres
#7 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan

Property: Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan
Address: 1100 Promenade du Saint-Maurice, Shawinigan, Quebec G9N 1L8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Shawinigan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Shawinigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the Cité de l'Énergie, the Auberge Gouverneur and Centre de Congrès Shawinigan offers breathtaking and spectacular views over the theme park and the St-Maurice River. An unforgettable holiday awaits you in the Mauricie region. Relax in an incomparable natural setting while enjoying services that are on the cutting edge of technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing