We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B, excellent location and great hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marquis de Montcalm
Ranked #1 of 12 Sherbrooke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming B&B, excellent location and great hospitality!”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Lovely B&B in pristine condition and well maintained. The room was gorgeous and the bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed to stay there and spend relaxing time after business meetings in Sherbrooke. Thanks a lot to the owners who were very helpful and kind !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nelh98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    19
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
64
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We went to the Marquis de Montcalm for business because there were no place anywhere else in Sherbrooke and Magog. We were so surprised by the clean and very big rooms (like suites), by the warmth of our hosts and the breakfast (so much choice, they cook when we ask !!!). We never thought it could be possible to find a very lovely place like there, with all the accomodotaions for business travellers. And for fun, we went to the jacuzzi, it was like a dream. Our delightful hosts told us the had won 3 times the Best B&B in the entire province... it was MERVEILLEUX, we will recommend it !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank IsabelleBouix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We stayed there just to break up the drive to Quebec City and what a pleasent surprise. Fairly plain on the outside but each guest room is very nicely appointed with little touches, private baths, plus murals by a local artist. A lovely couple did a great job renovating the house not to mention the wonderful breakfast they served. And all for $99!!! What a value and only wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MikeRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Hosts were very accommodating..the room was very nice, and the breakfast was great...What a B and B should be...
It is unfortunate that the parking is virtually nonexistant..(only 1 spot).You have to park on the street which doesn't allow overnight parking. There is a little dirt area off the road, but it is not lit and by the looks of Sherbrooke, not the best place to leave a car.
Sherbrooke is a dump. I don't know why anyone would go there except if your car breaks down. They have tried to dress up the river with a walking trail, but it is like putting lipstick on a pig. It was hard to find a decent restaurant, the downtown was deserted after 6 pm...and so on. So if your car breaks down, use this B and B, you won't need to find a place to park.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherbrooke
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
478 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#3 of 16 in Sherbrooke
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sherbrooke Conference Center
10.6 mi away
Manoir Hovey
Manoir Hovey
#1 of 1 in North Hatley
1,120 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
#10 of 16 in Sherbrooke
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis de Montcalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis de Montcalm

Property: Marquis de Montcalm
Address: 797 General-De Montcalm St., Sherbrooke, Quebec J1H 1J2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sherbrooke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sherbrooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquis de Montcalm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1800s and located in the city of Sherbrooke's heritage district, our lovely Victorian home has been fully renovated for your maximum enjoyment and comfort.Come and experience the Marquis de Montcalm, regardless of the season, and partake of the bustle of concerts, festivities, antique dealers, bars and restaurants just seconds from the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Marquis de Montcalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Montcalm Sherbrooke, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing