We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B@B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marquis de Montcalm
Ranked #1 of 12 Sherbrooke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in the Cours de Versailles room (king suite). Exemplary service, I cannot say enough about our lovely hosts. They made us feel welcome and went above and beyond, allowing me to use their computer and printer to make Via Rail bookings, phoning for cabs, offering restaurant suggestions. The breakfast, both days, was excellent. The first day we had one of the most delicious yoghurts I've ever had, French toast with lots of fresh fruit, and a fantastic cafe au lait. The second day we had yoghurt (a different flavor), and scrambled eggs with mushrooms, ham and cherry tomatoes, along with another delicious cafe au lait. The bed was very comfortable with a nice thick pillow top and the suite was clean from top to bottom. The furnishings in the room were a bit haphazard - a bit of this and a bit of that with little real cohesion but this is a minor complaint. I would definitely stay here again. $124 per night including breakfast.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Demisemiquaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayer at the b&b for a week end. Rooms are big and clean; each one has it's own bathroom. We took a suite That has a flat screen and a mini fridge. Service is outstanding, breakfast is really good and healthy. Finally the location is excellent. Nothing bad to say! Ill definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helap58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Two thumbs up and 5 Stars! My husband and i found this B & B excellent (and we stay in many B & B's).
The owners are gracious and welcoming and very helpful.
The rooms are lovely.
Breakfast was not only delish but the presentation so pretty we hesitated to eat it.
We did!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SUZANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The house is well located and parking is easy. The rooms were lovely and the breakfasts were excellent. The coffee was also excellent, unlike at some B&Bs. Most importantly, Thanh and Sylvain were very gracious hosts. We happened to have more contact with Thanh and she was especially helpful and friendly. She made you feel welcomed and wanted - you didn't feel that you were just a "guest". This B&B merits its high ranking and awards. (We happened to stay there on 2 separate occasions and had the same room both times so I cannot comment on all the rooms, but I expect they are all very nice)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jilleastfallowfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This is our second stay at the Marquis de Montcalm and would stay again. This B&B is clean and comfortable. The owners are great! They are so kind and most welcoming. You would not be disappointed in a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BostonLadybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Lovely B&B in pristine condition and well maintained. The room was gorgeous and the bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed to stay there and spend relaxing time after business meetings in Sherbrooke. Thanks a lot to the owners who were very helpful and kind !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nelh98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We went to the Marquis de Montcalm for business because there were no place anywhere else in Sherbrooke and Magog. We were so surprised by the clean and very big rooms (like suites), by the warmth of our hosts and the breakfast (so much choice, they cook when we ask !!!). We never thought it could be possible to find a very lovely place like there, with all the accomodotaions for business travellers. And for fun, we went to the jacuzzi, it was like a dream. Our delightful hosts told us the had won 3 times the Best B&B in the entire province... it was MERVEILLEUX, we will recommend it !

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank IsabelleBouix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sherbrooke hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#4 of 15 in Sherbrooke
356 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 15 in Sherbrooke
532 reviews
2.4 mi away
OTL Gouverneur Sherbrooke
OTL Gouverneur Sherbrooke
#3 of 15 in Sherbrooke
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
#12 of 15 in Sherbrooke
90 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 15 in Sherbrooke
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ile de Garde
Ile de Garde
#2 of 12 in Sherbrooke
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis de Montcalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis de Montcalm

Address: 797 General-De Montcalm St., Sherbrooke, Quebec J1H 1J2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sherbrooke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sherbrooke
Price Range: £87 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquis de Montcalm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1800s and located in the city of Sherbrooke's heritage district, our lovely Victorian home has been fully renovated for your maximum enjoyment and comfort.Come and experience the Marquis de Montcalm, regardless of the season, and partake of the bustle of concerts, festivities, antique dealers, bars and restaurants just seconds from the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marquis de Montcalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Montcalm Sherbrooke, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing