We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have been bad timing for us”
Review of Hotel Le President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le President
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sherbrooke
Franklin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must have been bad timing for us”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

There is an outdoor sign that states the price as $95.00 approx. Can not remember exactly. When we registered it turned out to be $104.?? without tax. We asked about it and was told because they are so busy at this particular time, and the are a privately owned hotel, they can charge what they want. This was told to us by the man at the CS desk. Now we are not the kind of people that argue over much, but this one time we thought we had a point.
We did end up staying for the one night, and yes we did pay the higher price. The TV needed to be fixed. Picture was with borders. We like the hot tub. Resturant seems to be closed when we are there. May try a new place next time

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retireeat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentmanager, Director of Sales at Hotel Le President, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are sorry your stay with us did not exactly meet your expectations. Our outdoor sign indicates a starting price for our rooms. This rate can vary along with the room type and the occupancy of the Hotel.

We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Sherbrooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    159
    69
    29
    23
See reviews for
127
110
15
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Well they definitely did not fix the sound issue as we heard the people in the dining room/bar til almost 2am from our beds as we attempted to sleep.

The service was terrible and when we complained we were told to perhaps stay at the Delta Chelsea (as if they were trying to insult the Delta). Well I happily would have gone and have stayed at the Chelsea before with fabulous service.
One night was enough for me here.

Oh. And I see a manager quoted that their new rooms could easily be valued at 4 star. YAH-[--]-RIGHT.

[--] you, Le President. Never, Ever again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooshifancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I was disappointed by the hotel Le Président in Sherbrooke. The service is very poor. I had to ask twice before receiving the directions for my room. They have a very nice swimming pool, but it was closed (it opens too late in the morning). I will not go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentmanager, Director of Sales at Hotel Le President, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are sorry the opening ours of our swimming pool did not meet your needs, although it is open from 9:30 am to 10:00 pm on week days and from 8:30 am to 10:00 pm on week-ends and holidays. You comments will be considered in improving our services.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent one night here and found it overall to be quite good. It can be a bit noisy if groups are staying there, since their policy allows open doors until 11pm. The pool and hot tub were great, front desk staff friendly and bi-lingual. Overall, a good experience and we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsteelboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentmanager, Director of Sales at Hotel Le President, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Sherbrooke!

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here with our daughter and friend while visiting Bishop's University Campus. Front desk service was quick and efficient. The cost of the room was substantially cheaper than downtown Sherbrooke (all of 5 minutes away). Room had 2 queens, flatscreen, coffee maker, fridge. The bathroom and all areas of the room were clean. Patio doors looking out to wooded area (and convenient for smokers, I would imagine). Shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure. The beds and bedding are not quite as upscale as you can get used to if you stay in 4 or 5 star hotels nowadays. The beds had standard bedspread, sheet and thin blanket, as opposed to more modern duvet, with clean and fresh duvet cover-- but still it was fine. We stay in alot of hotels and are more used to the duvet style, but were just as happy to pay 80-100 bucks less and stay here. Good value. Big pool and whirlpool. Staff was all very professional. Someone has gone to alot of trouble to refurbish this property and give it some class with landscaping and decor. Restaurant for breakfast - about $10 for a decent breakfast which is great. A little noisy earlier in the evening with hockey teams (young boys running down the halls, etc.), but they weren't up late - just having some fun during the proper hours. So, don't be afraid to book here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentmanager, Director of Sales at Hotel Le President, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Do not hesitate to visit us again on your next trip to Sherbrooke!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We chose Le President in Sherbrooke for an overnight while visiting Bishop's University in nearby Lennoxville. This was our first visit to this area deep in the Eastern Townships. Sherbrooke is situated in a beautiful, mountainous and heavily forested countryside, with a dizzyingly steep drop into the downtown section. The hotel is located close to an expressway ramp so is quite convenient, and is surrounded by some fairly good restaurant chains and a number of interesting one-off establishments as well.

Clean rooms, modern features, impressive indoor pool, and courteous helpful staff - plus a reasonable cost. I would say that taking everything into account this hotel (motel, really) met our expectations for a utilitarian overnight stay. You can book with confidence!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharbotlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentmanager, Director of Sales at Hotel Le President, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our installations. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Sherbrooke!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I have visited this hotel August 2011 with my family and found it very nice place to stay. Staff very helpful, neat and clean place. Feel in love with their swimming pool. Carrefour de l'Estrie is close to the hotel if you are shopping freak.

Overall best place to stay. Love to stay in next trip as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentmanager, Responsable de la réception at Hotel Le President, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Good day, I would like to thank you for your nice comments. Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sherbrooke hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
478 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#3 of 16 in Sherbrooke
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sherbrooke Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
#10 of 16 in Sherbrooke
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites
Quality Hotel & Suites
#14 of 16 in Sherbrooke
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotellerie Jardins de ville
Hotellerie Jardins de ville
#9 of 16 in Sherbrooke
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le President

Property: Hotel Le President
Address: 3535 King Street West, Sherbrooke, Quebec J1L1P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sherbrooke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sherbrooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le President 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for a night or a week, take advantage of our relaxing amenities: we feature a large modern indoor swimming pool plus a rejuvenating whirlpool. Right at the junction of the city’s major highways and traffic arteries, the Hôtel Le Président is located only minutes away from services and attractions. We offer: large interior swimming pool and whirlpool. Located 5 minutes from the central business district, Sherbrooke University and Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le President Hotel
Le President Sherbrooke
Hotel Le President Sherbrooke, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing