We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tadoussac”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tadoussac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Majorique Youth Hostel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tadoussac”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Good: Excellent location, right off the ferry (it's also the bus stop for Interbus). The town of Tadoussac is a very quaint and beautiful place. Even though we were there in late October, they still were running activities and booked us a whale-watching cruise. There is a bar on-site and they had an awesome Hallowe'en party. The guest kitchen is very well-equipped to prepare your own meals.

Not-so-good: Mattress and pillow weren't comfortable at all. The showers in the basement didn't have hot water and the bathroom was very cold. The doors don't lock. It was not the cleanest hostel, I've been to...but not terrible either. With a bar on-site, that means it's quite loud on the weekends (bring ear plugs).

Tip: They have a great guest kitchen to cook your own meals in, but find out when they are having their group dinner because the chef uses that kitchen too to prepare the meal. It's a bit too small to be cooking at the same time as him, so try and prepare your food before or after him.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a shared room with a bathroom in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    7
    9
    9
See reviews for
5
7
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Though this place is not expensive it’s definitely not worth it! The rooms have no locks. My room also smelled like B.O and I could open the window to air it out. And to top it all off the bar played music until 1am and there was a bonfire party right outside my window until 4am. Also the showers are super gross.
I came to Tadoussac to see the whales and to relax. This place was far from relaxing. You have old creepy, drunk men that feel the need to express/force their political views. And the people are not friendly at all in the hostel nor in village… I went to a bar which is apparently ‘’happening on Fridays’’ and people kept staring in an unfriendly way like I didn’t belong there. If you need to get some rest and not get harassed there are plenty of bed and breakfasts around.
The only positive thing I can say is the building has quebecois architecture and is cute and traditional.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzoizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tadoussac hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I loved this place and it was so cheap for what you got. The 4 bed dorm was a good size, comparable to other non city hostels, though the doors did not lock which made me a little nervous, but nothing happened. The communal area is lovely, really cosy with big tables, a fireplace etc. Dinner is well worth having and a good way to get chatting to other guests. Though if you go for it, expect to get involved in the washing up. Breakfast was great too, so much food, and there's pancake batter in the kitchen if you want to make your own!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I was a bit hesitant to stay here, since there were so few reviews (my reason, in part, for writing this one), and one of them roundly negative. Still, I bit the bullet and booked for three nights. I came by bus from Quebec City, a very straightforward journey. The hostel, despite reports, is not at all hard to find. In fact, the bus stop is AT the auberge, and for those coming by car - the auberge is a short distance up the main road from where the car ferry arrives, on the right before the turn into the town itself.

I received a warm, bilingual welcome. I have to point out, I was one of the few Anglophones there, and most conversations were conducted in dodgy French. (Good chance to work on your French skills, I say!). The downstairs reception area is spacious, with couches and a fire, a couple of computers, a bookshelf or two, and free wifi.

I shared a four bed dormitory (two bunks) with two other women - the room was small but clean, and certainly warm enough. It is true, however, that the rooms do not lock, and there are no lockers provided. Unfortunately, one of the women in my room had a significant amount of money stolen from our room. I never left anything of real value in the room, and never felt unsafe. I suspect it was just someone opportunistically taking what was left out.

The showers downstairs were a bit institutional, and didn't encourage lingering, but the water was always hot and they seemed to be cleaned regularly. There's a payphone in one of the toilets. That seems worth mentioning!

The best thing about the auberge is the sense of community. By November, many of the locals go to the small adjoining bar (a lot of stuff is starting to close down around then), and I felt roundly welcomed. There's pool (billiards?) and sometimes live music in the bar.

The shared communal dinners are well worth the $10 - these are huge, homemade, three course affairs (nothing fancy), you're kind of expected to pitch in with the dishes or even the cooking, as if you've just eaten with your extended family! The breakfast (I can't remember the price, perhaps $4?) consisted of toast, jams, pancake batter (for you to cook your own), cheap maple syrup and decent percolated coffee.

The auberge offered all kinds of activities; hikes, a little, entertaining tour of the beaver dams with the truly rustic Coco, early morning visits to the dune (something to do with counting birds?) ... Tadoussac, in general, has so much surrounding natural beauty and wildlife, and the auberge makes a perfect base for exploring. I was lucky enough to be there for the first significant snowfall. The lake froze overnight and I went out with some locals and travellers to slide down the newly snowy, utterly deserted streets. I was praying that the snowfall would be so heavy that the bus wouldn't be able to come and take me back to Quebec City. There's a bit of magic in that place!

(I just remembered, there was a tiny bakery just around the corner from the auberge, which, by Novembe,r opened only on Saturday. If you're there on a Saturday (or in summer, probably most days), you can do nothing better than buy a loaf of their blueberry bread and a cup of the only real coffee in town (they even had soya milk!), and maybe eat it on the hill overlooking the fleuve, keeping a weather eye out for a late blue whale)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironbark_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I really enjoyed my stay. It might be not the quietest place to stay, they do have life music in their in-house bar where you'll be able to enjoy great beer and meet people.

They have a really friendly staff (except the barmaid which do not accept smaller coins than 1$!). I stayed in a 4(5) bed-room, which was clean and ok for a hostel.

Every afternoon at 5, you'll be able to join a beaver tour with a tour guide. You'll walk/hike around a small lake (use good shoes!) and enjoy this cute animals. You'll pay by donation.

Tip: Enjoy the in-house dinner with other guests!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Stayed here last month for one night. Brilliant hostel. Centrally located, friendly staff and clean. Can't fault it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karma_21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tadoussac
0.1 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tadoussac
Hotel Tadoussac
#2 of 8 in Tadoussac
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#8 of 8 in Tadoussac
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge La Galouine
Auberge La Galouine
#6 of 8 in Tadoussac
94 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Motel Baie Ste-Catherine
Hotel Motel Baie Ste-Catherine
#3 of 4 in Baie Sainte-Catherine
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel de L'Anse a L'Eau
Motel de L'Anse a L'Eau
#3 of 8 in Tadoussac
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Majorique Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Majorique Youth Hostel

Property: Maison Majorique Youth Hostel
Address: 158 Rue Bateau-Passeur CP 253, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Tadoussac
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Maison Majorique Youth Hostel Tadoussac, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing