We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little expensive, but best location”
Review of Hotel Tadoussac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tadoussac
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 September 2013

With a view over the beach, and a short walk to the marina, this was a great location. We stayed two nights, as we had booked a whale watching cruise. The room was not the largest that we had stayed in during our trip, but it was very clean and had all amenities. The hotel has loads of character and history, and has a very nice feel about it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and we really enjoyed our stay. We had a room with a view over the bay, which was very nice. This is not a cheap place to stay, but it is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

This place is expensive, but I believe worth the money. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. They arranged transportation to the balck bear viewing in Sacre Coeur for me, for example. The hotel also arranges whale watching cruises and transport to the boat departure point. The breakfast was very good. Look on their web site for "specials" which will help mitigate the sticker shock. The grand old resort hotel vibe was an experience in itself. It's worth indulging once in a while, especially to be able to get a good night's rest, which from other reviews appears to sometimes be a problem at other venues in Tadoussac.

There will be a few readers of this review who may arrive from Montreal or Quebec via bus (Intercar), as I did. The bus stop is on top of a hill outside of Toudassac village, and it's a long haul to drag your suitcase down to the waterfront, where the Tadoussac Hotel is, particularly on the night arrival. My US Virgin Mobile cell phone turned out not to work in Canada, or I would have called the Hotel Tadoussac to have their van pick me up from the bus stop.

The front desk expressed surprise that the Intercar bus driver, knowing that I was headed for the Hotel Tadoussac, did not notify them using his cell phone so they could pick me up from the bus stop. Apparently the drivers usually do that. In any case, make sure your cell phone works in Canada and have the hotel phone number with you. They will pick you up using the hotel van.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bensonhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

What you are paying for here is the beautiful view of the St. Lawrence so try to get a bay-facing room. Our room was adequate, but the bathroom was small and didn't have enough racks or hooks for towels. The shower curtain smelled of mildew. We were given only one bar of soap, sp provided our own for the shower. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, but the management appears to be skimping on amenities. The large living area and lawn are lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Bonjour,

Thank you to share your comments regarding your stay to Hôtel Tadoussac.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We came here looking for some place elegant to celebrate my husbands birthday during or travels in Quebec. Unfortunitely we didn't get to stay here. We did however stay for dinner.The food was fantastic! The music was Grand and the wait staff made us feel like we were royalty! I would definitly return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesFingerlakesNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Bonjour,

Thank you for sharing your comments.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hôtel Tadoussac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel as part of whale watching trip. The hotel premise was lovely and picturesque, sitting on the banks of the St Lawrence. But the rooms, though clean, were small, for 4 people (2 adults, 1 teen and 1 kid), we had to book 2 rooms, which were expensive. And some of the reviews comments were true. Even my 10 yrs old daughter commented how a queen room only had 1 night table with 1 table lamp (she was fighting with her sister for the night table and light). But I think we were quite lucky with the location of the rooms which were by the terrace and have some river view and were bright in the morning. $15 extra per person for breakfast seems quite steep especially after we paid more than $500 for the rooms. There are much cheaper options on the main street. Overall, I think we were paying for the scenery, which was quite impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Bonjour,

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest. Please accept our apologies for the fact that we obviously did not leave you with our minimum expectation of a positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is located in an extraordinarily beautiful setting. It's the kind of place where it is worth it to pay extra for the view from your window, and it was a splurge for us to stay here. The room was on the smaller side, but fine for two adults and two children. While they probably have limits in updating some of the decor, they did seem to splurge on upgrading the bedding, toiletries, etc. The room was very clean. All that said, we were disappointed by the service that left an overall unfavorable impression of the hotel. One of the things that sold us on the hotel was the kids club. Despite double checking about its availability, we found it canceled the afternoon we wanted to use it without notice or explanation. We could have dealt with it being canceled for the day, but we regretted having wasted a day waiting around for something that never happened. The manager was not helpful. I did receive an apology email from the company after completing a survey, but you expect better for these prices. In general, one got the sense that the staff was being pushed really hard and that sometimes shows in interactions with guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor if you are paying for a view. Otherwise, all the people lounging on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoDp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Bonjour,

First of all, sorry for response of delay and sorry for not sending an email following receiving your survey.
Your comments are extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.
Please accept our apologies that we did not delivery our kids club service.
This is not the normal course of business at Hôtel Tadoussac.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is located beautifully. The view is fantastic and the deck chair are nice to relax on if its not to cool. The rooms themselves however are average. The rooms are noisy the first night we could hear the person above all night. The bathrooms are small. The food at the restaurant was really good. We got the breakfast buffet (extra $20) and it was good. The dinner and desserts are good too. When we arrived there was a bit of a wait for check in. There is complimentary wifi. Overall the location and history of the place was fantastic it just needs a few refurbishments.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Bonjour,

Thank you to share your comments following your stay at Hôtel Tadoussac.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

Sorry for the response delay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tadoussac hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#8 of 8 in Tadoussac
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge La Galouine
Auberge La Galouine
#7 of 8 in Tadoussac
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pionnier
Hotel Le Pionnier
#3 of 8 in Tadoussac
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge La Merveilleuse
Auberge La Merveilleuse
#1 of 10 in Tadoussac
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge la Sainte Paix
Auberge la Sainte Paix
#2 of 19 in Tadoussac
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tadoussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tadoussac

Address: 165, rue Bord de l'Eau, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Price Range: £95 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tadoussac 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tadoussac Tradition With its whitewashed walls, red roof, maritime colours, dormer windows and cupola, Tadoussac Hotel calls to mind an earlier era. Overlooking Tadoussac Bay and the St. Lawrence River, the hotel is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, family holidays, couples on a romantic getaway, or corporate groups looking to do some team building. Besides whale watching, golf, and eco-tourism, we offer a variety of other activities, including swimming and tennis, our health club and spa, and our Kids' Club. Wander the magnificent sand dunes, take one of the many scenic hikes, or just sit in your room and enjoy the ever-changing landscape. Come explore everything Tadoussac has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tadoussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tadoussac Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing