We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading gem”
Review of Hotel Tadoussac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tadoussac
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This may well be the best hotel in town, but...that's not necessarily a thumbs up. The location is excellent, the reception staff are first rate. However, it looks and feels like a throw back to the early 50's. This is a property in need of a major overhaul, from the studs outward, and possibly a management shakeup to get it back to its full potential. The restaurant in particular is a disappointment, with unimaginative fare. Too bad, with the right renos and service/culinary team this once grand dame could be awesome again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghurka307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed in room 331 for 1 night.

cons:
breathtaking view. central and convenient location. artistic old style charming. front desk was sweet. recommended the room with best view for us.

cons:
room needs renovation. bathroom counter top is fake vinyl granite. pullout sofa bed is horrible. woke up every hour during the night. in the morning when i tried to open the curtain, it simply fell off from the rail and hit on top of my head! cannot open the screen window so i have to step out to the terrace on 2nd floor to take pictures. this brings down the value of those rooms with view.

didn't use concierge and the restaurant because of previous negative reviews regarding the service....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank curiousFirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Classic old world charm is really the selling point of this hotel. It does stands out architecturally miles away- even from across the Saguenay fjord. The grounds are just as specularly charming. Unfortunately, it all ends there. The hotel needs a major interior renovation. Nothing much you can do with low ceiling height and small windows that does not really provide much view from your bed. The big lobby is a hodgepodge of sofa sets. Satisfactory service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had the pleasure to stay at Hotel Tadoussac. With a suggested by Trip Advisor, we chose this as our destination for Quebec. The hotel, built in the 1800's with renovation in the 1940's, this hotel is loaded with charm.

What you need to remember is that their are no bells and whistles here. The window is incredibly small in the room and the room is pretty basic. Internet service is slow. While we expected no bells and whistles, the bed was extremely comfortable and quiet. You cannot hear your neighbours. Aside from a few drunk girls returning from the bar screaming outside that could be heard, I thought this was a nice place to stay.

There is no air conditioning in this hotel but being off the coast of the Saint Lawrence River, the breeze coming off is really cool. In fact, I have not worn shorts here yet and it's the end of July 2014.

The receptionist and tour agents in the lobby do their very best to understand English. Not knowing French shouldn't be a deterrent from staying here.

I did find the room chairs uncomfortable and found myself squirelly figuring out what to do with myself. The lobby is massive with couches and chairs.

The breakfast is fabulous with a lot of selection. I found myself not wanting to eat here for lunches or supper. There are so many great restaurants in the area that I didn't want to eat at the hotel to try other opportunities within the area.

The price of the room is a bit steep but maybe inline for a tourist destination as I am sure this town shuts down in the winter.

Room Tip: The Riverview isn't much to see. Though it's nice to peak out at the cove, the price increas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelsellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had a pleasant one night stay here as part of a road trip across Easter Canada. This is a character hotel in a great location very close to the sea and with good sea views. Room was a decent size, clean but otherwise unexceptional. Wifi worked fine. Nice big public lounge area.

Reception, bar and waiting staff were all helpful and friendly and when my schoolboy French failed me they readily jumped in to help out in English! Food in restaurant for dinner was good (there are two main dinner options). Breakfast buffet was fresh and plentiful.

We were just passing through but I believe the hotel can arrange the usual selection of wildlife and whale watching trips and would be a good base to tour the area.

Room Tip: Sea-facing room always an added bonus. Higher floors better still
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StephenR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We paid quite a bit extra for bay view, but the rooms have small windows and no balconies, so it was not worth it. Nice pool, shuffleboard, great view from lawn. Didn't try restaurant. Friendly front desk. Rude concierge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmltct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The building and grounds are beautiful. The views of the bay are fantastic. The location is good. Rooms are small, just adequate. There is no air conditioning. there is a ceiling fan. The room was slipping into a state of disrepair. The bathroom fan timer didn't work, the grout had broken out of the bathroom floor tiles. There's no coffee or fridge in the room. There's no safe in the room. Wifi is the old Datavalet system. The hotel is pricey for what you get. It is close to the pleasure craft harbour and whale tours. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast buffet is fine but not good value.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay here, spend the extra money for a waterfront room, otherwise your room ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiskywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tadoussac
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#8 of 8 in Tadoussac
119 reviews
21.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#2 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
465 reviews
16.8 mi away
Auberge du jardin
Auberge du jardin
#1 of 2 in Petit-Saguenay
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pionnier
Hotel Le Pionnier
#3 of 8 in Tadoussac
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tadoussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tadoussac

Address: 165, rue Bord de l'Eau, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Price Range: £92 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tadoussac 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tadoussac Tradition With its whitewashed walls, red roof, maritime colours, dormer windows and cupola, Tadoussac Hotel calls to mind an earlier era. Overlooking Tadoussac Bay and the St. Lawrence River, the hotel is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, family holidays, couples on a romantic getaway, or corporate groups looking to do some team building. Besides whale watching, golf, and eco-tourism, we offer a variety of other activities, including swimming and tennis, our health club and spa, and our Kids' Club. Wander the magnificent sand dunes, take one of the many scenic hikes, or just sit in your room and enjoy the ever-changing landscape. Come explore everything Tadoussac has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tadoussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tadoussac Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing