We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of whales”
Review of Croisieres 2001 - CLOSED

Croisieres 2001
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
584 reviews
435 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Lots of whales”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We went on the big boat as it was pouring with rain that day. We worried if this would be worth it or not but as our guide said "whales don't care about rain!" and she was right. We saw many whales (humpbacks and minkies) along with porpoises and even seals popped their heads out for a look. The company was great at directing us to the next whale. The instructions start in French and then English so as soon as you hear the French language get your camera ready because it means a whale is in sight. My only disapointment was we didn't get to see a Beluga but hey what can you do?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Saw a ton of whales.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Went on a 24-passenger Zodiac boat and saw 5 types of whales, harbor porpoises and seals. Our guide spoke limited English but that did not detract from the experience at all. He was very friendly and was able to identify all the different whales we saw and to answer a few of the questions we had. He moved the boat multiple times to follow the whales and even took us to another location where we were able to see Belugas. At the end of the cruise, on our way back to the dock, our guide took us into the fiord of the Saguenay River where we were able to see another whale, a waterfall and seals resting on the shore. An added bonus. Would definitely take this cruise again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, MI
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Whale watching trip will worth the time and money”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Croisieres 2013 from Quebec City to Baie-Saint Catherine. 3 hrs. via deluxe motor coach through beautiful, scenic, mountainous country. Knowledgeable driver, Yves, used both French & English. He was also entertaining. On board the Grand Fleuve boat for 3 hours and saw two humpback whales, top of white beluga whale, several blow spouts, some minky whales. It was cold, very cold & windy on August 15. Used our sweatshirts and jackets - thankfully we had them! For those going, do dress warmly and have a hooded jacket or sweatshirt or both. 11 hours all total in a day but well worth the price and time. So glad we took the motor coach and didn't drive. Highly recommend this excursion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kal-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Saw lots of whales”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The tour was great as we did see a hump back whale, some seals, and from a distance we saw Balluga whales ( can't get too close to those apparently). We got on from Ste Catherines, and this was on a Sunday. It was relatively crowded on the boat, but if you went below deck on the first floor where the tables are, it wasn't very crowded at all. So we weren't packed like sardines. I would expect it to be busier on Saturdays for the weekend crowd though.

There was certainly more emphasis on the french part over the English, but I think that's fine considering that most of their customers were french-speaking. We were maybe the only people from Ontario, and didn't find anyone else that looked like they were from there. However, after the main speaking was done, they told us the code for when the see a whale, and it was using the clock system (2 O'clock, 5 O'clock, etc). Once a whale was spotted, the guide was very quick to tell where the whales are in both languages, so we didn't miss out from the language difference.

We got on from the Ste Catherine town where they have a small office where you park, you can do a small picnic there, go to the washroom, and then they take you in a bus to the dock where the boat picks you up from. It's maybe a 5 minute bus ride and they do it because of the limited parking at the docks. Certainly if you are going in busy season and you're afraid of not getting a seat on the upper deck, I suggest going through Tadoussac where the tour originates from.

The tour other than the whales took you into the Fjord nearby and also just before ending the tour they put a camera under the water to show you the life on the bottom of the sea shore. This is alright, but not very fascinating

We travelled with young children, and knowing how boring it would be for them, we brought them entertainment. This is only good for adults interested in such a tour, obviously. My only suggestion would be to make the tour shorter than the full 3 hours. It was clear once everyone saw the big whale in the first hour or so, that people were wandering (and drinking).

The boat and tour are clearly not family friendly due to the sale of alcohol and the allowance of smoking on-board, as a visitor from Ontario this was a bit shocking for me! But again, this is designed with adults in mind only.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank miltonadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Whale of Time!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was our first time whale watching (2 Adults, 2 Children). Firstly we got the time mixed up and showed up at the ticket office at 9:28am not realizing the boat left at 9:30am. The lady in the office was so kind and radioed to the captain to hold on ( we drove up 3 hours from Quebec City). She loaded us into her van and dropped us off, where they were waiting for us.

The boat was half full and our kids are 9 & 6 so they were able to get up close. We saw 3 whales, the Humpback, Fin and the Minke. They guarantee that you will see them. The lady narrated in french first, than English which was fine.
We were in awe seeing the whales, it came fairly close our boat and we got some great pics. At the end of the sailing they drop a submarine camera to see the creatures on the floor of the river and end it by going up the Saguenay Fjord which was also neat.
We enjoyed is so much, that we will be making a second trip at some point in the future.

TIP: To avoid the crowd, go for the the first sailing of day as the tour buses come in for the mid-day sailing and it's packed. Dress warmly even in the summer months as it get winding on the St. Lawrence.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank MomaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Croisieres 2001 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing