We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel in a quiet neighbourhood.”
Review of Motel Canadien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel Canadien
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Trois-Rivieres
Certificate of Excellence
Chelsea, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great motel in a quiet neighbourhood.”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend during spring. We were treated to a warm welcome from the proprietor, newly renovated and clean rooms, good quality wifi, and a decent continental breakfast.

The drive to the downtown is about 10 mins, but there are some good restos, bakeries and other retail offerings nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mango_clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    54
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Like most of the other recent reviewers, we were quite concerned when we pulled into the parking lot. The motel is definitely lacking in "curb appeal". It didn't help that it was a cold, bleak January day and there were no cars in the lot. However, we were very pleasantly surprised when we saw our room: newly renovated and painted, very clean, electric fireplace, good Wifi, comfortable beds, spotless bathroom - it was perfect for our needs! For $75 (3 people), you can't go wrong! The breakfast room was nice and cozy with good, fresh food. The owners were very friendly and you could tell that they put alot of work into their business. Would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sensfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

At first glance, this motel had us concerned. The rate was so low ($85 for our family of 5), and it looked like a very old roadside motel, except for the flower boxes under the window sills that gave me some hope that some care had gone into the place. As soon as we entered the reception area in the main building, we could see that great care had gone into redecorating this old motel.

The colours were vibrant and something about the decor gave it an air of a tropical resort. The motel room was also nicely painted and the beds had bright, tasteful bedspreads. The bathroom was small, but functional. As the motel is located next to the river, the bugs are quite bad at night, and getting in and out of the room without letting them all in can be problematic. Perhaps this was what a heavy curtain was for that was hung behind the door to the room, but it also kept the door from being opened, so we never quite figured that out.

Service was hard to grade, as we barely saw anyone. In order to get registered, you have to ring a bell to get someone to come to the desk. (I believe they live in the main house) Though friendly, the lady we spoke to knew very little English, and disappeared as soon as we had our key. The next day, at breakfast, another lady popped in, checked on the food situation, said "Bonjour", and left.

Breakfast was pleasant in the main building. The atmosphere was nice with the bright colours and the sun streaming in. We had to open drawers here and there to find cutlery and serviettes, but we eventually found everything. It seems odd that these things weren't out already. It felt a little like you were rummaging in someone's home.

All in all, a very inexpensive, pleasant stay. Get in before the bugs, or don't turn on your lights until you're in. Or bring a fly-swatter.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank minivanride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

In my opinion it deserves high score, considering it was very low budget. In every room you'll find fridge, microwave, air conditionind, new furniture, and all was new, beautiful and very clean. I find it very comfortable and nice. Breakfast was good, fresh products, and coffee corner ever open. The breakfast room was cosy and homely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValeriaS_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I booked this motel online and when we pulled into the 'grave' parking lot we were somewhat disappointed as the outside does need some work. BUT when we opened the door to our room it was quite an oasis ! Very comfortable and clean and nicely decorated. Great value for the money! The couple speaks very little English which is a challenge for someone who speaks little to no French ~ that being said it was a great stop over on our way to the Gaspe Penninsula ~ would definitely stay there again !!

Room Tip: great rates and awesome rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trois-Rivieres hotels
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Trois-Rivieres
Super 8 Trois-Rivieres
#2 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
551 reviews
7.1 mi away
Days Inn - Trois-Rivieres
Days Inn - Trois-Rivieres
#8 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
142 reviews
11.7 mi away
Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre
Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre
#1 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel-Motel Coconut
Hotel-Motel Coconut
#9 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
66 reviews
6.7 mi away
Les Suites de Laviolette
Les Suites de Laviolette
#5 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
127 reviews
4.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Trois Rivieres Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Canadien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Canadien

Property: Motel Canadien
Address: 1821, Notre-Dame East St, Trois-Rivieres, Quebec G8T 8B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Trois-Rivieres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Trois-Rivieres
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trois-Rivieres
#1 Family Hotel in Trois-Rivieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Canadien 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Motel Canadien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Canadien Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing