We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Suites de Laviolette
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Trois-Rivieres
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice and spacious rooms”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spend 1 night on business trip, clean, very big rooms with extra living room. Big bathroom with proper amenities. Good breakfast and excellent price quality. Good service at reception. Speaks French and English.

Room Tip: You can park your car close to any room you will get and take in bags from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    53
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
55
1
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Was in town to work at the University for a few days, reasonable priced and close to UQTR and downtown. a few nice restaurants close by. The 4 rooms we rented were all in good condition, comfortable bed with a handy fridge. the breakfast is a bargain for $6. so in general it is as good or better than Delta or other high end hotels even though it has a few less amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterloo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastien-guerard, Responsable commercial at Les Suites de Laviolette, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We would like to thank you for your good comment and for your time. We always try to make our guests feel at home. Hope to see you again for your next stay in Trois-Rivières.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were en route to Montreal from Quebec City and chose Les Suites de Laviolette as it was located halfway between the two. Despite checking in late at night, we received a friendly welcome. The suite was clean and spacious (two rooms with a central bath). My husband got up early the next morning and rode a bicycle supplied by the hotel along the St. Lawrence River, while I slept in (the bed was comfy!)--although after hearing how scenic the surrounding area was, I wished I'd joined him. The self-serve breakfast was plentiful and there was good variety ($6/person). Each table had its own toaster so you didn't have to stand and wait while your bagel browned or waffle warmed. (Brilliant!) Our short stay was very pleasant and if we hadn't had a plane to catch, I would have liked to stay longer at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TAL222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
360 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stopped on the way from Montreal to Quebec City and I don't know why. This town has nothing to offer and not worth stopping at and staying overnight. However, Les Suites was really a find. Nice suite type room where you can close the French doors to the bedroom. And $6 for breakfast was a real bargain. If for some reson, fate finds you in the area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrandPaRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastien-guerard, Responsable commercial at Les Suites de Laviolette, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We would like to thank you for your comment and we expected to see you in your next stay in Trois-Rivières.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Les Suites de Laviolette hotel is conveniently located near the bridge spanning the St. Lawrence River, and close to the city centre. As cyclists, we wanted to have a ground floor unit where we could store our bicycles overnight, so we were not disappointed with our very spacious room, which had French doors separating the unit into two rooms. We also had two TV sets, a table with four chairs, a couple of armchairs as well as a small fridge, and microwave oven. The bathroom has two doors, which makes sharing this unit that much more pleasant. The cost of this room was about $130 including taxes. And do get tickets for breakfast.

Breakfast at the hotel is very well set up with a self-serve buffet including hot and cold items:
juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, etc. The quality of the food is quite good overall and plentiful. The very courteous staff will prepare a plate of eggs (sunny-side-up or over-easy) if you ask them to. Interestingly, each table at breakfast has a toaster, so you don't have to wait your turn to toast your bread. A very nice touch, indeed!

For cyclists: From Les Suites, you can ride on a bike lane to the traffic circle where you can then ride on one of the quiet side streets to the city core (about 10 to 15 minutes). Be sure to pick up a cycling map for Trois-Rivières at the hotel. Also, when you stay at Les Suites, you are on the Chemin du roi, a popular bicycling route that runs from Quebec city to Montréal.

If you would rather cross the bridge to the south shore, the staff at Les Suites can get a shuttle to take you across. There is a fee for this service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This hotel is very well situated if you are passing through Trois-Rivières in any direction, right beside the entrance to Route 55 leading either south over the Laviolette Bridge across the St. Lawrence to Route 20 leading east or west, or north to Route 40 also leading east to Québec or west to Montreal. The motorway also leads north to Shawinigan. The old, charming downtown Trois-Rivières is about 15 minutes easy drive on Notre-Dame ouest. It is convenient for guests with a car, much less so if relying on a taxi. There is no dining room at the hotel, nor nearby, nor even a dépanneur - drive to the west on rue Notre-Dame ouest to find the nearest.

The hotel itself is slightly old-fashioned, a brick two-storey structure with two long wings and the lobby at the intersection. Check-in was friendly and prompt. Free parking is all around the hotel. The ground floor rooms can be entered directly through the patio windows, easy access for luggage from the car.

We stayed two nights, and chose a luxury suite, on the second floor at the rear. Ours was the room closest to the bridge, and it was possible to hear truck traffic, but it certainly wasn’t loud. One could get luggage to the room from a back door and staircase. The suite was quite large, a living room with a large round table with 4 firm chairs with arms, seating for 6 on an easy chair with footstool, couch, and loveseat, high bar with a small sink, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electric fireplace (which wouldn’t start from the remote and needed help from staff), a separate bedroom with a queen bed, dresser, bedside tables built in, both a full bathroom and an additional sink between bathroom and bedroom. There were French doors between the bedroom and living room, and two doors to the bathroom - both from the living room and the bedroom. There were two televisions, one an old CRT in the bedroom. Overall the furnishings were heavy and dark (red-brown leather on the sofas), new but an old-fashioned, but roomy, style. My wife found them far too soft for comfortable sitting. The bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom fittings seemed to be a mixture of new and old, but all were very clean and useful, and there were lots of toiletries, including a shower cap.

There was no guide to hotel services in the room at all, nor any guide to the TV channels available.

There were both wine and regular glasses provided at the bar, but a few plates, some cutlery, paper towels and dish soap would have been useful.

There was no separate desk as a work area, but the table was adequate and within reach of an electric outlet. Free WiFi worked most of the time.

Breakfast (not advertised) was a fairly modest buffet offered at $6 each. The breakfast room was similar heavy, dark furniture to our room, and was all booths. It was efficiently laid-out for self-service. There was bread, croissants (poor), muffins (pre-packaged in plastic), bananas, oranges, coffee in big mugs from a machine, hot water from the machine to make tea, add milk or cream straight from the container in a cooler, canned fruit cocktail, beans, sausages, ham, scrambled eggs, and cereals. As another reviewer noted, a curious but very convenient feature was a toaster on every table to make your own toast. Reading material - French-language newspapers - was available at every table. The breakfast was exactly the same on the second day.

Overall, this is a comfortable, not outstanding, hotel offering good value between Québec and Montreal, but the traveller should also consider the Delta Trois-Rivières downtown - smaller rooms, more conveniences, covered, heated parking (worth considering in a Québec winter), a much better breakfast, albeit at a higher price.

Room Tip: A room at the back, but farthest from the bridge, is qiuetest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rideau-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbados
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel is great value for money. It is not far from downtown and steps away from a very pleasant waterfront park. The $6.00 breakfast is also great value. The hotel is very clean and efficiently run. Extremely impressive hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trois-Rivieres hotels
2.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Trois Rivieres Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Trois-Rivieres
Super 8 Trois-Rivieres
#1 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotels Gouverneur Trois-Rivieres
Hotels Gouverneur Trois-Rivieres
#7 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Motel Coconut
Hotel-Motel Coconut
#9 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
5.1 mi away
Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre
Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre
#2 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Trois Rivieres
Comfort Inn Trois Rivieres
#10 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites de Laviolette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites de Laviolette

Property: Les Suites de Laviolette
Address: 7201 rue Notre-Dame Ouest, Trois-Rivieres, Quebec G9B 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Trois-Rivieres
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trois-Rivieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Suites de Laviolette 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 minutes (by car) from Trois-Rivières’ downtown area. Family rooms, whirlpool units, suites with complete separate living room, outdoor heated pool and tennis court, and more. Micro-waves oven, coffee maker (free coffee), safe, DVD player in most of the rooms. Also, free local calls and wireless Internet access. Our modern Conference Rooms can be adapted to all your needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Suites de Laviolette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites De Laviolette Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing