We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel for yuppies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Trois-Rivieres
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel for yuppies”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel attracts the cottage yuppy crowd that can afford it's fluctuating room rates and expensive meals: breakfast, lunch and dinner. Of course this hotel uses the fact that it's in proximity of lac Saint-Pierre which attracts avid yuppies in search of their self entitled souls rights to all the best sites money can buy. Obviously a nornal family with limited assets cannot afford these extravagant prices for a simple room which is not even at the level of a Best Western Plus with breakfast included. In this hotel breakfast is never included unless you pay extra which in fact comes to buying your own breakfast and pretending one got a deal. As Josephson once said being a yuppy is not a lifestyle but a distorted way of thinking of ones self entitlement to everything one can consume with enough money which hence keeps this hotel expensive and out of reach of the middle class with limited assets.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briansz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    47
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
97
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We spent 4 days in Trois-Rivières and had chosen l'Auberge du Lac. Perfect hotel quiet, with an excellent restaurant and very good breakfasts à la carte. The breakfast buffet is a little bit poor but the individual dishes are very good. The restaurant is able to serve excellent meals at honest price. Friendly staff, confortable rooms, clean and well-maintained, nice swimming pool with a wonderful view on the Saint-Laurent River. 15 mn ride to the center of Trois-Rivières but worth the distance for an excellent stay in Quebec. Highly recommended. By the way, what a place ! Canada is a wonderful country...

Room Tip: The room with a mezzanine is nice. It has an unusual volume and gives you more space than a classic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierC117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Over the years, we have stayed at the inn numerous times, always a suite on the lake side. Although the furniture and fittings are a bit dated, it is not shabby. The rooms have their charm, the view is great, the restaurant serves exellent Quebec cuisine and the property as a whole is very appealing. The beds are comfy and the air conditioning is very quiet. No through-the-wall units here. We will return.

Room Tip: The lake view is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontarian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

After one night at the Auberge we had mixed feelings. The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and you have a wonderful look over the river. The rooms are spacious with a big bathroom and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Dinner and breakfast are more than delicious. But the whole hotel needs urgently an update. Everything is old fashioned and worn out. It’s like you have stranded in the 70s or 80s. It’s ok for one night but I wouldn’t stay there any longer. It’s a pity because the location is lovely, the restaurant excellent and it could be really a fantastic place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueeye-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at this Inn recently on a business trip -- and I was disappointed to say the least.

On the positive side, the grounds that the Inn is on are absolutely beautiful and being able to sit by the water is such a treat.

However, inside the hotel it is incredibly dated and worn looking, food is mediocre and service is pretty spotty.

The rooms look like they are stuck in the early 90s, the stairs creak incredibly badly, the front desk is just not appealing and seeing in to the office off the side of the desk, with papers strewn everywhere just compounds the disappointment.

They have a sitting area in a solarium that looks out on the lake -- and the furniture has the look of cast-offs from the set of the Golden Girls... only in very poor condition. I also noticed white towels bunched up along the base of the windows to catch the water that must be seeping in when it rains. (I should also note that the towels needed to be changed because they were turning brown in spots).

The dining room, again, has a nice view but the food is incredibly disappointing. My steak was tasteless and the sides uninspiring and tired. (I believe it had specks of orzo in there, a sauce that I couldn't quite place and well, that's it... boring). The servers are slooooooooooow and only check in every so often, even when there is nobody in the restaurant. My appetizer was the squash soup -- and it needed some serious invigoration as it too was tasteless.

My room had a beautiful view and a loft where the bed was located -- but I couldn't help but think that the staircase in the room was incredibly treacherous (a steep spiral stair) that could lead to somebody getting hurt if they were to get up in the middle of the night to go to the washroom. You have to take that staircase VERY slowly or you will fall.

The towels in the rooms were pretty threadbare, though the shower had good pressure and the shampoos were Gilchrist and Soames.

Their hallways leading to conference rooms were piled with office chairs lining the wall which made a narrow hallway even more narrow to get down. Plus it just made the entire place look ugly as the chairs were the leather type you commonly see in a conference room or office complex.

As well, while I never used the spa I did go down the hall to see where it was located -- again, another disappointment... it was through an ugly door with a cheap plastic sign that said "Spa". I didn't go farther than that.

Overall, this place needs some serious work and a better retinue of staff. They need to seriously upgrade the rooms, the restaurant, the menu, the conference facilities and the front desk. It's always disappointing to go to a place that has so much potential but where the owners just don't seem to care -- resting on one's laurels is never a good way to attract dedicated clientele.

Were they to upgrade the entire facility and make the changes necessary that I noted above, I would be prepared to try it again -- but until that happens, I will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianTraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This is a wonderful place to stop for a night. The location is beautiful with lots of space to walk, including a beach. There is an excellent restaurant with great food and attentive service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandb_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Julie, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2005

I stayed at the Auberge du Lac St-Pierre in October 2004 and loved it. The room with a view on the Lake was spacious and very nice. The food was the best. The decor in the dining room, the service and the food were excellent. Breakfast was great with plently to choose from. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet weekend and great food. I also went back few months later for supper, the table d'hote was again delicious.

Helpful?
4 Thank Julie6802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trois-Rivieres
4.7 mi away
Super 8 Trois-Rivieres
Super 8 Trois-Rivieres
#1 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
532 reviews
5.1 mi away
Les Suites de Laviolette
Les Suites de Laviolette
#5 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
118 reviews
7.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Trois Rivieres Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotels Gouverneur Trois-Rivieres
Hotels Gouverneur Trois-Rivieres
#7 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
366 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel-Motel Coconut
Hotel-Motel Coconut
#9 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
63 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Montfort Nicolet
Hotel Montfort Nicolet
#1 of 1 in Nicolet
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre

Property: Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre
Address: 10911 Notre-Dame West Street | Trois-Rivieres, Trois-Rivieres, Quebec G9B 6V8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Trois-Rivieres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Trois-Rivieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge du Lac St-Pierre is located on the outskirts of the majestic St-Laurent and offers a breathtaking view on this site, internationally recognized by the UNESCO. Only minutes away from downtown Trois-Rivieres, this Auberge, a member of Hotellerie Champetre, a premier network of country inns and hotels in Quebec, will offer you the ideal combination of relaxation and experience. Whether it's for a business visit or a moment of rest, the Auberge team will always welcome you in a warm and family atmosphere. The Auberge du Lac St-Pierre is also a restaurant that will immerse you in the heart of a gastronomic journey where the flavors of Quebec are in the spotlight. Chef Alain Penot and his team welcome you in the newly renovated restaurant offering a modern yet warm and friendly atmosphere. The trendy restaurant, from multicultural inspirations, will charm you with its unique and original character. Whether trying our Elk loin, the various wild meat dishes or maybe our trout from Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, you'll be taken in a Quebec gastronomical journey! Complete the experience with a fine wine from our selection of over 160 different brands from the best regions of the world. Newly renovated, this Auberge will know by its architectural signature and unique site, make you live a unique experience combining comfort, atmosphere and gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Lac Saint-Pierre Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing