We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I say this with a heavy heart...owners need to invest some time/money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawood Inn

Hawood Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saskatchewan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawood Inn
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I say this with a heavy heart...owners need to invest some time/money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I go every winter, we always have stayed at the Hawood. We truly love this hotel and the service is always wonderful! However, this trip we noticed that the ceiling in the hallway was leaking so we put the ice bucket under it. Also, the toilet flushes weakly/must hold flusher down almost the whole time....sometimes you need to flush it twice. I am gluten intolerant and the dining room does not provide many options for the gluten free. Also, the bed in our room was saggy, soft and bowed to the middle...time for some new mattresses!! I say this all with a heavy heart b/c this is one of my favorite places. Owners/mgmt will hopefully sink some money into some necessary maintenance to keep their loyal clientele. I cannot say enough nice things about the staff, they are friendly and wonderful to deal with.

Room Tip: honeymoon suite has its own jet tub in the room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah7666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    14
    5
    12
See reviews for
14
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Paid $170 after taxes for one night. Basically the only perk to staying here is for the hot tub as it is one of two hotels that have this amenity in waskesiu.

Pet-peave: The coffee in the room is one of those keurig single cup machines and they only give you two coffee k-cups and one tea. If you want more you have to pay $1 which annoyed me when you're paying the amount you're paying to stay here.

If I were to do it over I would sacrifice the hot tub and stay at the Lakeview Inn or something like that for $130 with the bonus of continental breakfast.

The room itself was nice but we found random boogers on walls and the beds are quite old. Great shower pressure and nice mini fridge.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaR306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We love to stay at the Hawood. First off understand that it is a little older. The furnishings are a bit dated. We don't care. We typically go in the winter and use the roof top hot tubs! No better way to end the long cold Saskatchewan winter than a drink outside in the hot tub! We love it here!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGVEGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

If you want to have someone call you because he is creeping outside your door listing to your conversation then go ahead and stay at this hotel. I was woken up in the middle of the night by a phone call from the front desk who said he could hear our conversation "clear as a bell", when I asked him what we were talking about he did not have an answer and said he could hear a woman and a man talking. I asked if there had been any complaints about our room and he said he was warning us before there was a complaint even though we weren't making any noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Clean, and does all the basics well even though some of the furnishings carpeting, and hallway decor are a little dated. The bed and the television is fine, and the bathroom is clean and well-appointed. Front desk staff was fine, and I thought the restaurant food was reasonably priced. The location is absolutely unbeatable. It's not a luxury resort and probably shouldn't try to position itself as one, but it is a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elkhorn1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cut Knife, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We found the staff at the Hawood very accommodating, the dining room meals were extraordinary and the hotel itself clean and quiet. We were pleasantly surprised by an upgrade upon our arrival. The Waskisieu townsite is charming and interesting with many languages heard around town. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

My wife and family have been going to the Hawood Inn for a number years now, usually in the off-season. We always enjoy our stay, the restaurant is excellent with good food and service. The lobby area is very nice with a wonderful fireplace to cozy up to, and unique art work and handmade chairs out of local timber create a unique ambience. The rooms are clean and tidy, the mattresses are firm for my taste, so if you like a softer mattress bring a foam or a duvet to soften. The two hot tubs on the roof are great, there's nothing like going out in the wintertime sitting in the hot tub and watching snowflakes fall. All in all, great value for the money especially the off-season.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banjo2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatchewan hotels
18.5 mi away
Elk Ridge Resort
Elk Ridge Resort
#1 of 3 in Waskesiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
276.3 mi away
Canalta Hotel Assiniboia
Canalta Hotel Assiniboia
#1 of 1 in Assiniboia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
225.0 mi away
Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
105.9 mi away
Canalta Hotel Humboldt
Canalta Hotel Humboldt
#1 of 2 in Humboldt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
267.3 mi away
Canalta Hotel Esterhazy
Canalta Hotel Esterhazy
#1 of 1 in Esterhazy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
138.1 mi away
Watrous Motel
Watrous Motel
#3 of 4 in Watrous
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawood Inn

Property: Hawood Inn
Address: Prince Albert National Park, Saskatchewan, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Saskatchewan
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Hawood Inn Canada/Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing