We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your chance to see these owls up close”

Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre
Ranked #6 of 24 things to do in Moose Jaw
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Saskatchewan Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre (SBOIC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to the conservation of the endangered Burrowing Owl and their prairie habitat through education, stewardship and eco-tourism.
Montreal
Level Contributor
224 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Your chance to see these owls up close”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a small facility that has less than a dozen burrowing owls on display, all in very large confinements, one or two to a cage. A guide took us through the facility and talked to us about the birds. There is no entrance fee, but there is a donation box. There might be an Irish Wolfhound on the grounds (belongs to one of the staff). It is very friendly, but large, so you this is good to know in advance. The birds are here because they were either injured in the wild or born in captivity. A small number are "imprinted" to humans so they can be taken to teaching sessions in schools and such.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mtrodgers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very well done!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

My children and I visited the Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre and really enjoyed it. The staff were very knowledgeable and it was great to learn about these endangered critters.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmf_sask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stop for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

What a great place doing great work! Got to meet two owlets only 3 weeks old! And Marshmallow the gopher! We even adopted an owl! Thank you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrickville, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“a must see for bird lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This small centre was a great visit where we saw two kinds of owls in captivity. The staff took us on a tour and told us about the owls, their habitat and the work they are doing to help the population grow again. Well worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank simeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Loved the Burrowing Owl Interpretative Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Well worth a visit--- you will not be disappointed. We had a junior staff member take us on the tour --- she was excellent. Knew her facts about the owls, their habits, behavior etc.
We arrived on a cool day and all the owls were out, we got some excellent pictures.
As the owls are becoming extinct --- what a wonderful facility to help the diminishing population.
If you find yourself in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan -- take the time!!
Excellent educational facility.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank panbk4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre also viewed

 
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing