We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but need a lot of improvements on Breakfast.”
Review of Harwood's

Harwood's
Ranked #6 of 106 Restaurants in Moose Jaw
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, but need a lot of improvements on Breakfast.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed from April 23rd to the 26th 2, 2014, Ordered their breakfast for room service 2 days of our 3 day stay assuming it was a one time problem. I served breakfast for years and never had one bad complaint written about my breakfasts. Sorry Harwood's, you need to get a different breakfast cook if this is the best they can do. Had Eggs Benny first morning and breakfast was cold, like it had been sitting on the pass for a long time, Second day we had omelets, wife's omelet was good very edible, my omelet... tasted funky, not edible at all. Eggs almost tasted old, if it was liquid egg, it was BAD liquid egg. Hint: Use real eggs much better quality & taste also read the expiration dates.

Had our dinners here also food was very, very good. Would recommend dinner's and lunches, but the breakfasts, not a chance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    98
    45
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“awsome service and food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just had a fantastic dinner served by one of the most impressive waiters I have ever encountered. Meal was part of the hotel rate/package. Good deal if you staying at the Temple Gardens Spa.
Our waiter Sharol stated that she would make recommendations which we accepted and were fantastic. Starters of blue cheese stuffed mushrooms and the spicy shrimp were promptly delivered to the table and consumed even more quickly. The main course recommendations of rack of lamb and Saskatoon berry marinated back ribs were perfect. Sharol's recommendation of all deserts made it hard to chose but settled on the cream brulie (?) was consumed with zest while the Carmel crunch might be had as a late night snack.
Enough about the food.
If you ever have the chance to have dinner here ask for Sharol as she is the resident Moose Jaw historian. No kidding she told us more about the history of Moose Jaw than any of the tour guides at the tunnel tours did and also have us a heads up of the self conducted tour history of the city in the library/museum just around the corner.
Enough said the food was boos but Sharol's friendly, funny and informative attitude was the best.
Be sure toask for Sharol as your waiter.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BJA9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Central to all of town”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This place probably has the best Sunday Brunch in town, is centrally located to downtown and right across from the casino. They have an upper scale supper menu but I have always found the food to be well prepared and consistent in quality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frannie1155040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had breakfast here when we stayed at the hotel. They really need to replace the furnishings. The chairs sag and you feel like you are sinking down in them. The service and food were average this time. We had to ask for coffee and water more than once. Breakfast was well priced...$10 for eggs benedict including coffee.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food & service”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My children and I have eaten there on two occasions -- for a Sunday brunch and for supper. I thoroughly enjoyed my meals both times. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to my children, and the food was delicious. The menu had a great selection but wasn't too large and overwhelming. I would go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harwood's also viewed

 
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Harwood's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing