We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As an Indian I'm embraced to call it Indian food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shananigan's Coffee & Dessert Bar

Shananigan's Coffee & Dessert Bar
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Prince Albert
Price range: US$7 - US$11
Cuisines: Canadian, Japanese, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As an Indian I'm embraced to call it Indian food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The service and dessert was really good, but the Indian food was extremely disappointing and was not authentic at all, it must have been packaged or frozen food from superstore and heated up, chickpea curry was awful peas were hard and no taste to the curry, paneer curry must have been out a pack, chicken curry was bland and not authentic, chilli chicken was ok.
Masala tea was awful but mango lassi was great along with the dessert (keer).
I would love to cook for the owner to show them what Indian food should taste like.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Indian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family friend started this business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

You can not go wrong at Shananigan's. the food and service are excellent. It is a little out of the way for travelers if they have not heard of the business. Not advertised on main highway, but most local people know were to go for an excellent cup of coffee and dessert or a full meal. Highly, highly recommend Shananigan's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 97217cwsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grerat little coffee bar and restaurent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Always a great cup of coffee or tea and their Friday prime rib dinner is a winner. They also have wonderful desserts for after the meal of with coffee anytime. Most Saturday morning this is where you find my wife and me.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melfort, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“On a downhill slope”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I used to like going here but it's definitely gone downhill. Ordered the cabbage rolls and perogies with borscht on the side. You could tell just by looking at the cabbage rolls that they were old - they looked shrivelled and brown, and were dry and tasteless. I could not eat them. The perogies weren't much better as they tasted like leftovers that and been re-microwaved. The borscht was okay, although they initially forgot to include it with my order. When they brought it they also asked for us to pay the $1.10 for it. Really? The staff member did not have much personality and seemed to have a hard time communicating. We decided to skip ordering dessert as some of the cheesecakes looked like they had been sitting for a couple days.

We won't be back for a long while. Such a shame because it's a nice cozy eclectic environment, as the food used to be quite good. No so much anymore.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda_B2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quaint little Cafe...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Amazing Home made desserts & specialty coffee & tea's... Nice place to catch up with your friends. warm welcoming atmosphere. Couch lounge area and Computer rentals if you need to check your emails while your visiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shananigan's Coffee & Dessert Bar also viewed

Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
 
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Shananigan's Coffee & Dessert Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing