We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly and convenient”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We checked into this hotel on a Sunday morning exhausted after a 24-hr drive. We weren't looking for anything fancy for a 1-night stopover but this hotel more than lived up to our expectations. Front desk service was very pleasant, helpful and quick. We had a 1-bdrm suite and a second queen bdrm. We were impressed with the large size of the rooms, especially the suite. Some furnishings were a bit dated but the rooms were spotless. The rooms had all of the conveniences - kitchenette with fridge, microwave, sink, coffee-maker; nice toiletries in bathrooms which were also large. Comfortable bed with your choice of pillows which are labelled "soft" or "firm" which I thought was a nice touch. Heavy duty windows let in very little noise from the street and curtains blocked out the daylight - which was great for us as we went to sleep immediately upon check-in.
Outdoor parking lot is convenient by side entrance of hotel, but there is a small fee. The one elevator is a bit tight if you have several people with luggage however there are not that many floors, maybe 5. There are laundry facilities onsite as well as a fitness room (we did not use).
Breakfast is included with room rate and was plentiful - omelettes, sausage, a strange automatic pancake machine which amazes the kids, toast, muffins, yogurt. I would have liked some fresh fruit other than just bananas. Breakfast area is clean with high attention to service.
If you want to be in downtown Regina this location is ideal - a few minutes walk to the shopping mall, business district, restaurants and casino.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquarianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    69
    40
    11
    4
See reviews for
21
27
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Nothing special about this place. It does the job. The free breakfast is about the same as other HI Expresses that I have stayed at in the past. The room was clean, however the hallway sort of smelled. Not really sure what the smell was though. The only other negative was a big yellow and red Chinese restaurant sign directly outside my window that lit up the room at night. With the shades closed it wasn't too noticeable though.

The bed was a little hard, but still not terrible.

The best thing about the hotel is its location. Right downtown, just steps from the mall and a few blocks from the Casino. It's literally three turns from the airport when you exit the parking lot.

The staff was also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the Chinese restaurant sign!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Chris W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We are pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the issues you have encountered. We appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Has the charm of being a renovated older hotel. But modernized bathrooms, bedrooms. Larger than normal hotel rooms. Flatscreen TV is smaller than what you normally get at this price range. Friendly, helpful staff. Has the free Holidy Inn Express breakfast with hot entrees (e.g. premade omelette, scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon). I admit it, I love the machine that automatically makes pancakes -- doesn't take long, and they taste pretty good. Only one elevator for five floors, but still didn't have to wait too long. There is limited parking, you can use the parkade next door, but either way, it can get pricey. If you are a member of the IHG rewards, you get a perk like a free bottle of water. Nice touch, when the maid saw our family of four going into our room, she came over and gave us extra towels from the cart without us having to ask. I think for what you get, should be priced more in the $125 range, but rates are typical of most downtown hotels. Great location if you want to walk to Cornwall Centre or the casino. I would stay there again. Not a large eating area for breakfast, but can use lobby area, or take a tray of food up to your room.
Room had a microwave and mini fridge.
Important note - no pool. make sure your kids know in advance.

Room Tip: 2nd floor meaning not having to wait for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markonefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamsack, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have probably stayed at this property 6 times prior to writing this review, so thought it was about time to share some information with other potential travelers. The hotel is located right in downtown Regina, and it does charge $10 per day for parking. The hotel parking lot is very small (maybe 20-30 spaces) and if it is full, you need to use a private underground parking garage just around the corner (same rate).

The hotel itself is an older building with very long hallways - sometimes a bit of a hike to your room. My room has always been clean and tidy - the only minor issue I have is with the pillows - they are very small - but other than this minor issue, I haven't had any room issues. The upper level suites are very large and well situated, but the standard room is comfortable as well. I do find the rates can sometimes be really expensive, but if you call the hotel directly sometimes you will save a decent chunk of change.

Room Tip: If rates are expensive, call the hotel directly - you might save a little!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Newfie_Screech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

With Holiday Inn Express there usually are no surprises. This one in downtown Regina, converted from the old Drake Hotel, was no exception. Clean, spacious rooms, nice comfy bed and a good breakfast and great front desk staff. It is downtown so convenient walking to everything. Couple of surprises though was the significant price change up from my last visit about 14 months ago and the darkness of the breakfast room. While the food was good it was very gloomy. The front desk tried hard to let me take advantage of some discounts to lower the price a bit and we eventually found a couple that applied. Will likely stay again because of the location but I guess with Saskatchewan enjoying boom times, prices will remain high.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MACIMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Had a great nights stay. We were greeted by friendly staff. We entered our fifth floor room and found it to be of a very size. Could have had more lights to help brighten it up. Rainy day on our stay so the window did not help lighten the room. We were treated to a great breakfast in the morning. Bacon, eggs, toast, cereals to choose from. Baking, muffins, bagels, many choices. The only down side was the potential $10.00 charge for parking. We were able to park on the street and leave before the parking meters had to have money put in them. Good downtown location close to a mall about 2 blocks away. Very walkable to Mosaic Stadium.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel is well suited to downtown work, and although spotless with breakfasts sporting a variety of cereal/traditional hot alternatives had an inescapable sombre air. The rooms, as deep as they are (I was in 511) could definitely use a few potlights to brighten things up. An unsung feature is the space in some of the rooms (mine had a double queen bed) which would be advertised better if ambiance was a tad better. The beds were firm and slept well, the shower water pressure on the fifth floor not bad, and hot water plentiful, even with what appeared to be a full hotel. For some reason the elevator doesn't respond well unless one pushes the destination button twice. Better eating can be found in the mall a block or two west down eleventh ave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrumplest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regina hotels
Core
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Conference Centre Regina
Delta Hotels Regina
#14 of 33 in Regina
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina
Address: 1907 11th Avenue, Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 0J2, Canada (Formerly Chelton Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Regina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Regina Hotel Guests Love Staying at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Regina puts you in the heart of downtown Regina. Our hotel's location is ideal for both business and leisure guests who want to be close to everything Regina has to offer.When you choose our hotel in Regina, Canada you'll be close to the action. You can raise the stakes at Casino Regina, catch an IMAX film at the Saskatchewan Science Centre or explore the scenic beauty of the Wascana Centre. Are you a prospective student? We're just a short drive from the University of Regina, making us a favorite among Regina hotels for parents and families.When you're looking for hotels, our downtown Regina hotel is the smart choice for business travelers. You'll be in close proximity to Federated Co-operatives Ltd. and Innovation Place Research Park as well as many other companies. Besides the convenient, downtown location, you can take advantage of our meeting room that can accommodate 5 to 50 guests and a Business Centre with copy and print service. A shuttle to the airport can be arranged with advance notice.Our guests think we're the best among Regina hotels. There's free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a free Express Start breakfast, a terrific Fitness Centre, rooms with a microwave, fridge and a staff that knows what's important to you. Book your stay today and discover why we're the great hotel in Regina, Saskatchewan that guests love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina Hotel Regina
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Regina
Holiday Inn Regina
Holiday Inn Express Regina
Regina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina Canada - Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing