We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”
Review of Government House

Government House
Ranked #5 of 61 things to do in Regina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Now open to visitors, this was once home to lieutenant-governors of Canada's Northwest Territories.
Curitiba, PR
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I are from the States and didn't really know anything about the governmental and political setup in Canada and the relationship with the British Crown. We do now thanks to this wonderful and beautiful museum in Regina. It's a wonderful place and the restored home is wonderful. The interpretive center is also very good and the gardens are gorgeous. Don't go to Regina and miss this wonderful center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    49
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kid Friendly”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I visited here with my 3 and 5 year old. They enjoyed trying to find Jocko the monkey who has a new hiding place each month (they receive tattoos for finding its location). The house is a wonderful example of how the well to do lived in the beginning of the 1900s. The new museum addition is a first class display explaining the role of the lieutenant governor's role in Canadian society. There's a dress up room upstairs with costumes for adults and children so they can pose in the horse carriage. Don't miss the playroom in the basement - it's hard to find through a door near the washrooms. My children had a lot of fun in there. Then we enjoyed exploring the yard and enjoying the flower gardens.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PrairieToBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved this historical site.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very well presented, loved the history. Staff were exceptional, helpfull and informative. Would definetly advise visiting this attraction. Victorian history and info on past governement. Worth the time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tr1pTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Wonderful experience, If any tourist are here in Regina they should definitely give a visit to this magnificent house.”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

It was an amazing experience going through that house, its like you are back in 1900's, the antique decoration of the house was mindblowing, Also it is free to take a tour of the house and the staff there were really friendly , When I arrived there I was then allotted with a host who was really friendly and had extensive knowledge about the place. All in all I just really enjoyed the tour and I would recommend to other tourist to give a visit there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank R-baloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainus, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Historical Tour”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Loved the history of the House. Antiques throughout as it is staged as it would have been in the late 1800's. Great education!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victorian1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Government House also viewed

 

Been to Government House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing