We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel
Comox, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWFUL EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We showed up at 8pm and booked into the family room for $90.00, the manager came to the hostel and told us to leave if we didn't pay $30.00/person ( the place was dead) because he loses money on his family room ( we had three kids with us). we stayed because we needed to sleep for 12 hours but had to argue over the rate that was already agreed upon over the phone....the place was dirty as well...sink full of dirty dishes and garbage spilling over the bins...bathrooms grungy and carpet filthy

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank signi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Hello Signi C,

I would like to send you an apology about your previous negative experience with us. I can't speak on behalf of the previous staff, however I do condemn their actions. Our prices are not flexible for personal gain. If your children were under the age of 12, they stay with us for free.

Our standards for cleanliness as well as washroom hygiene has greatly improved since 2012. We have full time staff now who maintain our standards and will prioritize your comments and suggestions to help improve our hostel.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Cheers,
Heather Parkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
3
2
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We arrived at 9am on a snowy morning and were allowed to check in right away. We had booked a two-bed dorm which was small but comfortable, with a bunk bed, desk and shelf-space. It was right across the corridor from reception (so right next to the front door).

There are renovations happening here. They're sporadic and appear to be done by the Executive Director, an older man who is a nice guy. There is no library as advertised on their web site: this room is now reception. One large room on the ground floor has been turned into a meeting room.

The showers are in the basement, as is tthe kitchen, dining area, TV area and laundry. All of these are in good condition.

The house dates from 1907 and is made of wood, therefore there's plenty of creaking. It's impossible for anyone to move around the building without their location being pinpointed.

Another reviewer mentioned "strange older men" and "halfway house". This is no longer the case. David, the (apparently) recently appointed Exec, talked to me about "educating the community that this hostel is for travellers, not a halfway house as some people seem to think".

That said, there are a couple of guys who seem to be there on a semi-permanent basis but they're OK, not weird at all.

The office is staffed ten hours each day, from 8am to 1pm and from 5pm to 10pm. We reserved by email and the reply stressed this very clearly. There is also a notice on the front door. I often heard staff give this information to people making phone bookings.

Staff themselves were friendly. One young lady told me a great deal about Banff and another about Victoria, British Columbia from where I'm writing this review.

We have been travelling from Halifax, Nova Scotia to BC, so stayed one week in Winnipeg and 16 days in Regina, as we didn't want to travel during the Easter break. We would never have stayed so long if we had felt threatened in any way.

There's nothing scary about this hostel. It's cheap, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Private rooms are available. Grab 'em if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linds4516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Hello Linds4516,

Thank you so much for your review! At the time our library had moved and is now our front desk area, however I hope that didn't deter you from reading our many travel guides and National Geographic collection. We also now have a bookshelf in the main hallway with works of fiction for everybody to enjoy.

We did have a nasty reputation for hosting unsavory guests, but that is all in the past. We have improved our security and are striving for a better future for this hostel. We appreciate your honest and just review. We hope to see you again in the future to show you how much we have grown.

Cheers,
Heather Parkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The hostel is not only expensive, but we were given the wrong codes for the doors. They change the lock's code each day and do not tell you what the new one is, there is no alcohol permitted but they will not warn you of this until you have a beer with dinner and then they will just ban you. Our group got locked outside at night in -20 and we were lucky another customer let us in, the desk is only open in the morning and night, the manager is extremely rude. The guestbook is checked daily to remove any valid criticism. There is only two showers per gender for the whole hostel. The staff at reception are nice but that is the only good thing about it. Our HI membership meant very little and gave us a minor discount and you are not allowed to stay more then a week. There is also no jobseekers package like other HI hostels. Very, very poor management, I am suprised the HI establishment has not reviewed this hostel and given it a new manager.


In summary, DO NOT VISIT THIS HOSTEL

Room Tip: Don't go to begin with, but the top floor would be the best as all the floorboards are squeaky s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Hello John M,

On behalf of HI-Regina, I would like to apologize to you for your negative experience with us. As of 2017, our new staff have implemented new standards and now live on site to ensure no one ever gets locked out again. Your membership to us is a sense of trust and mutual benefit, to have it disregarded is unacceptable. Previous staff had unfair and ridiculous rules that we, the new management, do not follow. We encourage people to stay for as long as they wish, provided they follow our policies and abide by our standards.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope that in the future we will get a chance to serve you and show you our improvements.

Cheers,
Heather Parkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Regina hotels

Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We were going through Regina and decided to go with this hostel since it's the only one in the Saskatchewan province. We booked for 2 nights, found out that it was more expensive than any other hostel we've been to, even more than the one in Banff. The maximum stay is 7 days, which is kind of absurd since there were older guys that seemed to live there.
Anyway, we got the wrong code for the room, got assigned to the wrong beds, they didn't tell us that no alcohol is permitted anywhere in the building (which it would be ok if we knew in advance, but they tell you only when you have a beer in your hand. If you have problems with people getting drunk you take it out on those people, not everyone), they have only two showers per gender in the whole building and they were dirty, the kitchen doesn't have enough tools and it was constantly a mess.
We expressed our disappointment in the guest book and when we decided, against our common sense, to stop by again on the way back from Manitoba we got refused, saying that we left malicious comments. I thought that guest books were meant for any sort of comments, not only the positive ones, if you have some criticism you try to improve, although the manager decided to rip that page out.

Really poor management, no wonders that no one travels to Regina except people passing through, if you only have one hostel and the manager doesn't know how to do his job you won't get more tourists, and whoever goes in once will never go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Hello Jack J,

Thank you for your feedback, I agree that for a business to succeed they need to listen to all comments, not just positive ones. Previous management had many issues with mistreating guests, something that we at Hostelling International find inexcusable. As of 2017 HI-Regina has made great leaps in improving our standards of cleanliness and maintaining sure our guests feel comfortable. Our new staff are all on the same page, no miscommunication about miss-assigning beds and door codes.

We haven't been able to add more showers at this time, but once we are able to we intend on renovating the entire downstairs washrooms. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to serve you again and make your next visit positive.

Cheers,
Heather Parkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The location is excellent, but terrible staffs, no hospitality at all!!! It was a very pleasant place before....with those very nice personnels...this is third time I come here, one a year since 2009, each time, I stayed one week ... but I don't think I will be back here again....the staffs don't seem to be normal after what they hav done to me..... I felt as if I was in a jail, under a strict control..... oh la la....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oun l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Hello Oun,

I am so sorry your last experience at HI-Regina was so poor. Old staff have since been replaced and as of 2017, our new staff strive for excellent customer service. Our attitude is positive and we hope to serve you again and show you the difference a smile can make.

Thank you for your feedback,
Heather Parkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

There were many very shady older men staying at the hostel that appeared to be living there long term. I did not feel safe. Luckily, I stayed in the female dorm, which was much better. It's a shame, because the hostel is clean and centrally located. They need to do something about the clientele or it really shouldn't be considered a youth hostel, more like a halfway house.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldblkhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Hello Idblkhn,

I am truly sorry to hear about your negative experience at HI-Regina. As of 2017, our new management has taken extra precautions in ensuring the safety and security of our guests. We no longer allow suspicious people on site, as well if anyone has any concerns about their safety they should report to us immediately. We take this concerns and requests very seriously.

Thank you for your feedback,
Heather Parkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I've stayed here several times over the years but this visit was a low. The place smells and has some odd longterm residents. It's no longer the charming stopover it once was.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Hello Saskwanderer,

Thank you for your feedback, we have eliminated the smell and no longer accept sketchy guests. As of 2017, our new staff have raised our standards as far as cleanliness and security. We hope you will once again come by and we can show you our improvements.

Cheers,
Heather Parkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regina hotels
Core
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Conference Centre Regina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delta Hotels Regina
#14 of 33 in Regina
486 reviews
Residence Inn Regina
#9 of 33 in Regina
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel

Property: HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel
Address: 2310 McIntyre St, Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 2S2, Canada (Formerly Turgeon International Hostel)
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Regina
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Regina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful downtown location just 10 mins off the Transcanada beside the beautiful Wascana Park & the Royal Saskatchewan Museum. Hostel is within walking distance of Mosaic stadium & close to numerous pubs & eateries. Free wifi, free luggage storage, full guest kitchen, lounge room with TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel Canada - Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing