We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic North Indian Food”

Da India Curry House
Ranked #15 of 564 Restaurants in Regina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic North Indian Food”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Enjoyed the food here. Way better taste/flavors than Spices of Punjab. Would definitely go again. The naan were amazing. I had the malai kofta and it was mouth watering, was disappointed that I only got 3 dumplings in the whole dish.

The samosas can be improved as they seemed a bit dry and unsavory. The rest of my table enjoyed the lamb do pyza and butter chicken as well.

If you want good Indian food in Regina, go here! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fatima_mk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New location, same great food”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

On of the "go to" places for consistently great South Asian food in Regina. Da India Curry House moved into more spacious surroundings, but didn't forget to pack its superb food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Average Food, Better Options Exist in Regina.”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We tried Da Curry House for supper last evening and while the spread of food at the buffet seemed impressive the food was only warm to room temperature which was a let-down as it did not give the impression that anything was really all that fresh. Fish pakora (which is typically a favourite of mine) was room temperature and soggy (such a disappointment), butter chicken and goat curry was just average. Paneer was pretty tasty, as was the aloo gobhi. Rice was over-cooked. There were dessert options but we did not try them. The highlights of the meal were the fresh naan brought to the table regularly, and the tandoori chicken which was not on the spread but we asked our server and the kitchen made us some fresh using skinless chicken thighs which were tasty. The meal was cheap - including tax for three but before tip was $44. We still feel that Flavours of India, despite its priciness, offers better authentic cuisine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SmartyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Curry in Regina! X”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Having had my fair share of Indian foodmy partner insisted that we had to visit this curry house.

The starters were a lot pricier than I am used to back home but there was nothing wrong with the quality of the Chicken Pakora, which is served on a spiced bed of lettuce with sauce for dipping.

Moving onto the main course, there was nothing that could be complained about the taste. It was delicious. The only downer with the curries was the excessive oil which covered the dishes themselves. Otherwise, the quality and quantity of the food was delightful.

We were very disappointed with the selection of rice and naan bread on offer. As stated previously, my understanding of naan bread is that it is large, fluffy, soft and rollable when being enjoyed with a meal. In this case, it was thin, crispy almost and lacking in the fluffy texture that it is usually associated with.

There is nothing that would hinder me from dubbing this the best curry house in Regina.

TIP: The portions of curry and naan bread are quite large. If you were to order a single portion of each, to be shared between two people, you could easily make a meal for each person. Unless you're completely starving, I'd recommend this course of action.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRaveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“New location, same great food”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The old location is still open as a Vegetarian restaurant, but the new location is only a few blocks east. The new location has a slightly more upscale feel, compared to the old location.

I have always enjoyed ordering a la carte from D.I.C.H. and this time we decided to try their lunch buffet. Our twin 17-month olds loved the lamb keema and the chicken biryani. They also went nuts over the fresh watermelon and gulab jamun.

We the parents enjoyed the variety of dishes served on the lunch buffet, but we both agreed that the a la carte offerings are superior.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rambling_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da India Curry House also viewed

 

Been to Da India Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing