We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but... ”

Montana's BBQ & Bar
Ranked #344 of 571 Restaurants in Regina
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Montana’s is all things BBQ to all people. Whether you’re in the mood for southern style in-house smoked ribs and pulled pork or looking for some Canadian BBQ flavour across our burgers, steaks and sandwiches; Montana’s has the perfect atmosphere to bring the family or meet up with friends. Fire up the good times at Montana’s BBQ & Bar!
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great food but... ”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

It's a fun place to go and it's just loud enough that if you have kids and they are being a bit noisy no one notices which is a plus for us. We were seated quite fast and had a nice big booth. Our server came quickly for drinks and to take our order. Our food came pretty quick for being a busy Friday night but had a different server this time both seemed unhappy with being there. You must try the steak Sandy wow is that good. Overall the place is great and food is too but the service is alittle off.

Helpful?
1 Thank Frozen_gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    21
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but... ”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

It's a fun place to go and it's just loud enough that if you have kids and they are being a bit noisy no one notices which is a plus for us. We were seated quite fast and had a nice big booth. Our server came quickly for drinks and to take our order. Our food came pretty quick for being a busy Friday night but had a different server this time both seemed unhappy with being there. You must try the steak Sandy wow is that good. Overall the place is great and food is too but the service is alittle off.

Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Food was very good but staff could be friendlier.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The ribs were great and the mashed potatoes were tasty. Server should learn how to smile since she was annoyed with us talking before ordering.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayDubinHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We got to the restaurant and it was a 10 minute wait which wasn't bad but when we got seated we were thrown our menus and then waited 10 min for drinks when we finally asked another server where our waitress was. We didn't even order our drinks through our waitress nor did she bring them. When we finally got to order our food our waitress was being so snotty and rude. We sat and waited for just over an hour for our food when we decided we weren't waiting any longer and went to go pay for our drinks and a spinach dip so we could just leave. When we went to the front and asked for our bill they got mad. When we finally got the bill it came out all in one, there was 3 couples. When one of us went to go pay for it all the bill said 27 some dollars for 5 drinks and the dip. But when inserting the card into the machine they tried charging us 130 some for a meal we never even saw. The waitress should have taken something off the menu for such poor service. She never came by and apologized for the wait or let us know it will be out soon or anything. Hardly saw her. Worst experience yet. Such a rude waitress.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 135z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Steer clear of this place!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

On my way to Chapters I have often seen this restaurant and wondered what it was like. Not many people went there and now I know why. First of all the person that directs you to your seat asked if we would like a table or a booth. We said table, but she said booth and took us to a booth near the bathrooms. The server was prompt to bring us waters and that was fine and the water was a very good temperature, no complaints thus far. Unfortunately we weren't told if there were any specials, but that's not too unusual in Regina restaurants. The biggest problem was to come. The food. I ordered the fried chicken entrée which boasts as follows (from the menu): juicy fried chicken breast, served with grilled red skin potato salad, steamed vegetables, cornbread, and two dipping sauces. I don't know why it says Fire it up! Added a fried chicken breast for 4.49 unless that's two chicken breasts? Anyway it sounds delicious and the photo makes it look good to boot. But when it came the veg consisting of carrot and broccoli were barely warm and had obviously been taken out of a frozen package. Next the potato salad seemed like it had also been fished out of a pre frozen bag and sadly so did the chicken. It barely seemed like chicken! It was photo shopped! It all tasted bland. I mean what is this airplane food!? It certainly didn't seem like any thing was fresh, okay it doesn't have to be plucked from the back garden and they didn't have to slaughter their own free ranged chickens. There didn't seem any point in complaining because what's the server going to do? Bring another plate of the same? It was bad enough that some other people near us complained and the server took it as a personal affront! The rest of my company didn't fair much better with their orders. The soup was too salty and gave bad tastes in the mouth later and indigestion. Then on asking for the bill the server took the coupon and we thought oh good our bill will be here shortly. It was bad enough when the other people asked for their bill it was said they were ready to go but he replied he didn't like rushing people and still didn't present their bill-they finished-partly before we did. He didn't return with ours either and instead went to take a large table's order. We did see on this day at the busy lunch hour there seemed to be very little staff on. Two guys were taking orders and one lady was serving drinks. When we first came in there seemed to be two or three other staff members but they disappeared shortly after. It's true only one of us said the food was okay but we didn't really want another version of the dishes brought to us. Bad enough in the past in Regina restaurants complaining about food and the manager acts like it's our fault! There really is a lack of public relations skills in most restaurants these days. So if you want to eat out pick carefully and be prepared that it's not going to be a very relaxing experience. I understand that servers are not paid well, have unfriendly hours and can be harassed by both work place associates, boss and sometimes public, but not all of us are like that. Be friendly and nice and you never know you may get a big tip and more custom. Act indifferently, waspishly and glare a lot at anything and anyone and you'll get no tip, no custom and you may even slip up and lose your job. If you don't like your job try very hard to get another one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montana's BBQ & Bar also viewed

 
Regina, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Montana's BBQ & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing