We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older but great views of the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Older but great views of the lake”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

With the Bessborough comes some small rooms but good views of the lake. I have stayed in a few places in Saskatoon and all over Canada and I think that for the price of the rooms its just a average stay. They are basic but if you want to be right down town, not close to the airport or anything else but the lake then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessings1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Blessings1234, Thank you for your review. As I think some of your comments may be confusing to the Tripadvisor community, I would like to clarify the hotels location. The "Bess" is located in the heart of Saskatoon's Downtown core, just a 15 min. drive from the Airport. Its Castle like appearance and its park like setting on the banks of the South Saskatchewan River are its dominant features.

Regards,

Andrew Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    185
    68
    26
    12
See reviews for
65
140
22
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed at this lovely hotel last December...for the 2nd time. I love the historic grandeur of this hotel...a real vision of old Canada.
Many of these old hotels have small rooms and antiquated facilities (most of the old CP hotels) so you really have to love the historic angle. The Bessborough however is modern and spacious and benefits from the Delta attention to consistency.
The staff are friendly especially the bellmen even though they are a tad aggressive in the manner of 30's NYC- that is, they are on your bags before you can say no.
A minor quibble- there was a convention happening during my stay and the elevators were all but useless...very long waits since 1 elevator was out of service for 2 days. Bad timing I guess.
Fortunately I was on the 4th floor and got my exercise using the stairs.
I love the location - 5 minutes from downtown; The facilities, restaurant etc. were first rate as was the general efficiency of the desk staff.
A very enjoyable 2 nights in a frozen December Saskatoon.

Room Tip: Get a room near the ground floor....so you can walk up to it if the elevator wait is excessive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyjudyjudyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear judyjudyjudyToronto, Thank you for your kind comments and your recognition of our attention to consistency. I would like to clarify that we are, in fact, in the final stages of a complete elevator modernization. When completed, in the next month or two, we will have state of the art elevators easily able to handle our passenger volume even at full capacity.

Sincerely,

Andrew Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

How can you do better than paying the price of your anniversary year? Since we were married in 1970, that is what we paid! We got 'bumped up" for some reason - we had a wonderful view out the back onto the park! The room service girl took a picture of us (for us)! We just love the castle-like atmosphere and the setting on the river, a very romantic place.

Room Tip: Higher floor at the back with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnsperling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
198 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I am a historic hotel fanatic and so I chose to stay at the Bessborough on our recent stay-over in Saskatoon. Comfortable beds, comfortable rooms, classy and comfortable bathrooms. Very dependable free hi-speed wi-fi. The location is excellent: on the river and in downtown. Good linens. Friendly staff.
Good indoor pool and fitness center and hot tub.
Here are the downsides: The hotel is expensive. For the price charged there should have been some amenities such as an evening wine and cookies, or high-tea, reception. Breakfast would have been nice. There needs to be some kind of historic information and local restaurant information in the rooms. The desk staff needs to be more aware of the history of the hotel. The lobby decor is bland. As a matter of fact, the mezzanine level lobby is the better lobby to look at. The hotel needs to play up its history with the CN railroad and the building of the Canadian railroad genre.
Delta has a gem of a property here with the Bessborough, but they need to work on hospitality, a welcoming environment and customer service. All that said, though, I enjoyed my stay there and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear JPMcGuire, Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I would like to confirm that the amenities you were looking for i.e. breakfast, evening reception with honour bar are available by booking our Club Floor. Also, the hotels original lobby was the Mezzanine Level but was altered many decades ago. I hope you visited our historic photo gallery which has images of the lobby in its original location.

Sincerely,

Andrew Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

As many have written the hotel's location, history and architecture are impressive.
Maintaining a property of the this age must be a challenge. A few remnants of cheesy 1970's décor remain, however most of the hotel has been restored to a more classical and historically aligned design. I love the décor of the club floor rooms. The guest experience is generally well done, however I would like to recommend more effort on the condition of guestroom washrooms. I have stayed in this hotel several times in the past few months - almost always there are maintenance issues in the washroom. I particularly do not like the towel rack in the shower; I don't believe they replace unused towels between guests - so you may be using one that is has been touched or sprayed by a former guest during his/her shower.
The club floor lounge is located in an odd location - not on the club floor.
The breakfast room is just average. Some of the newer renovated Delta's have upgraded their breakfast menus - not this property; very basic breakfast fare.
The Sushi bar is overpriced and only mediocre quality; if you are looking for authentic fine Japanese cuisine - this restaurant isn't it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked 3 rooms for my employer on business travel. Unfortunately through no error of their own the booking agents did not charge our coporate cards which resulted in personal credit cards being charged (as you can imagine this is a nightmare for our accounts payable). I sent one email to the hotel asking for assistance and was immediately helped by ALEXIS E! She was able to reverse the payments and provide itemized charge receipts as neededs for reconciliation.

I personally will ensure all our travel to Saskatchewan is booked with the Delta through this one experience!

Thank you very much!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golden83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is my second stay here. I was interested to see how the hotel had improved after my last visit in 2012. Unfortunately, the hotel has gone downhill.

Pros:
- Free in-room wi-fi (multiple devices allowed)
- Very clean
- Good sized room
- Fast laundry service
- Good bathroom amenities (shampoo, conditioner, soap, moisturiser, tissues)

Cons:
- Restaurant has become very bad in food quality, offerings and service. A hotel of this stature would normally offer real coffee (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) and freshly squeezed juice on their menu. Here, not. The staff were more interested in gossiping about their personal lives (in front of patrons) rather than working. The quality of the restaurant food is terrible (some dishes inedible) and on more than one occasion, the wrong meal was delivered. I ended up eating out of the hotel, the food and service was that bad, unfortunately.
- Paper-thin walls, could hear everything in the next room
- Elevators kept breaking down and often, only 1 of 4 seemed working
- Even with the 'do not disturb' sign on the door, staff continued to knock on the door

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52_hotels_in_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear 52_hotels-in-2012, I apologise that your experience did not live up to your expectations or to the standards we set for ourselves. We take all feedback seriously and will review your comments with all concerned with the goal of continuous improvement in mind.

Sincerely,

Andrew Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
The James Hotel
#4 of 39 in Saskatoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Town Hotel
#7 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Address: 601 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3G8, Canada (Formerly Delta Hotels Bessborough)
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#10 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic heritage hotel located in the heart of Downtown, on 5 private acres along the banks of the South Saskatchewan River, Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough is Saskatoon's only CAA/AAA 4 Diamond hotel. We are a top choice among hotels in Downtown Saskatoon and Saskatoon hotels near SaskTel Centre. Our accommodations feature recently renovated guestrooms designed by the world renowned Anderson/Miller group, a full service spa, pool, fitness facility, 2 restaurants, and exclusive club level accommodations. Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough is located only steps away from many restaurants, bars, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Bessborough Hotel Saskatoon
Delta Saskatoon
Saskatoon Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing