We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking lot cash grab”
Review of Park Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Town Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My elderly parents and their friends met at the Parktown restaurant several nights a month for a meal. Recently the free parking provided by the hotel has been changed to pay parking. Even in the handicapped spot my parents were required to walk an additional distance to buy a parking ticket. Sadly, the tradition of meeting friends at the Parktown has come to an end. The seniors feel that their business is not valued due to the fact they must pay money to park in a lot that has has been free for years.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
There are newer reviews for Park Town Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

An absolutely enjoyable hotel! The location is near downtown right on the river and walkable to major shopping venues as well as the University of Saskatchewan. Parking options are extremely affordable and a choice is given for both outside and in a parking garage. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Checkin was quick and well taken care of. The room was more than adequate with an extremely comfortable bed, great bathroom and very clean. While I was a couple of rooms away from the ice machine, I never heard it while in the room.
The meeting facilities are well staffed and the food was excellent. Both their lounge were accommodating and dining facilities the "Four Seasons" was a great breakfast choice. They even offer a shuttle to the airport!
Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for the river side. Some suites on the top floor have vaulted ceilings.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHearsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Overall this is an ok hotel. The rooms are fairly nice and adequate. I have stayed here many times over the years. In the last year the environment with the clientele hanging out outside, especially at night, has really gone downhill. There are drunks, prostitutes and other unsavory people hanging out in the parking lot between the hotel and the bar it shares a parking lot with. I actually have feared for my safety a few times outside. If work didn't make us stay there I would probably stay elsewhere mostly just for this reason as security seems pretty lax.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nakita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had a room booked through a corporate event. Once we got there we were met by two staff members - male and female. The man proceeded to flirt and hit on me in front of my husband and son, the female (while I was moving our truck to a 'no parking spot' they pointed out) was rude, condescending and unhelpful while we were trying to check in to our room. Even though there were no rooms available in the whole city that night we drove to Humbolt, SK to the wonderful Canalta rather than stay at the Park Town with their rude and unhelpful staff (I even phoned to try and get a clear answer on our check in questions and ended up hanging up on the rude front desk clerk).

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shanyn_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

I am sorry about your confusion with our front desk agent. His english is somewhat broken but can assure you that his comment of "good evening you have two agents here that can help you, which would you like" was not to be taken in any other regard other than we have two people here that would like to assist you. Your vehicle was quite large and they were asking you to move from the front of the hotel which was obstructing the view and in a no parking area. The agent was trying to accomodate your vehicle in another no parking area due to it's size, but in towards the back of the hotel. This is a very unfortunate situation and we have recently suggested some new scripting to the front desk to help prevent further misunderstandings. Once again we are very sorry.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Recently had one night stay at the Parktown. The room was nice-clean, comfortable bed, nice linens, good amenities of fridge and hair dryer. If you prefer a nicer view ask for rooms facing the river as this one looked out onto the parking lot. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a charge of $8.00 a day for parking and it is difficult to enter and exit the underground lot. The exercise area is nice but when we tried to use the hot tub we were told by the pool attendant it "was not hot" and was not working properly. The sauna was also out of order and apparently is not being reopened. The pool itself needed repainting and appeared poorly maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rn526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you for your response. We are currently working through our bed renovations and I am certainly glad that you found the new Park Town Dream bed comfortable. We will be moving towards the pool area very shortly to improve that area along with an improved fitness center. Hopefully you can get back to our property to enjoy the refurbishments during the next 6 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Comfy room overlooking the river. Clean atomosphere. Parking was nightmare but it was solved by east Indian person who worked at the front desk with great smile. Restaurant food was moderate but the restaurant service was not upto the standard. Will return to Park Town Hotel in future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you so much for the feedback. Our parking facility has 60 spots around and in back of the hotel, we also have 110 covered spots in the parking tower and 50 more heated underground spots. All parking stalls are electrified. This should provide more than enough parking for our hotel guests on a daily and nightly basis.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel did not stand out for me too much. The morning hotel staff ladies were nice and polite, however the evening night shift guy was not friendly AT ALL, didn't even say hi or anything. Depending on what floor you are on, the rooms are older/newer. My family stayed on the 2nd floor in a 3 bed suite, it was one room, and two hide-a-beds. The hide-a-beds are facing each other and the mattresses overlap once set up. The second floor also had construction on the outside being done to the outside walls, so plastic was covering the walls, no view at all or air circulation. We were not notified of the construction being done during our stay. The hot tub and steam room were down during our stay as well. Another part of my family stayed on the 5th floor, which had way nicer rooms than the 2nd floor. Please keep in mind, the rooms are VERY hot! We blasted the air conditioner, which caused it to overheat and as a result, let out warm air. So even after turning the entire ventilation off, it was still boiling. Based on your preference, the pillows provided were very puffy and uncomfortable. Not worth the rate for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for the feedback you provided. I would like to clarify that the room is classified as a Family room and not a Suite, and that we do not have a Steam Room, sorry for that confusion. Unfortunately we are beginning some renovations to the west wing of our hotel where your room was situated, which included the exterior being painted during your visit. We are also replacing the windows, adding the Parktown Dream Bed, and completely renovating the bathrooms. We are also waiting for our new 600 pocketed coil pullout beds from Simmons. The hottub was being shocked at that time, but was required do to an accident. I do apologize for your stay and hope that you will come back and Re-discover the Parktown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 40 in Saskatoon
1,030 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The James Hotel
#4 of 40 in Saskatoon
389 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Town Hotel

Address: 924 Spadina Cres E, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#9 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#11 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range: £76 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Town Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Town Hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Saskatoon overlooking the spectacular South Saskatchewan River. Take a leisurely walk by the river on one of the many Meewasin River Valley Trails. Explore local boutique shops or try fresh produce at Saskatoon's local Farmers Market. Then end your day by relaxing in our Four Seasons Restaurant, dining with a picturesque view of the river or unwind with a cocktail in our Riverside Lounge. Excellence is our standard at the Park Town Hotel, which is why every room is designed with you in mind. Our newly renovated rooms feature the Park Town Dream bed and free wired and wireless high speed Internet. We have a newly renovated business lounge for corporate clients to stay connected, complete with access to free high speed Internet and complementary printing right in our lobby. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Saskatoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Town Saskatoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing