We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Gross Comedy Club Act”
Review of Park Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Town Hotel
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Kindersley, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Gross Comedy Club Act”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Hotel itself was great, had a fantastic meal in the restaurant, the room was clean with a fantastic Jacuzzi tub. Check In was smooth and all Hotel staff were friendly and professional. Then we went to the Laugh Club. This week end was all part of a staff function and included the Laugh Club tickets, I was a little apprehensive as what passes for comedy today is usually mindless vulgarity but I gave it a chance. The first entertainer was young, his act while not polished showed promise of one day being very good. The second man was funny, his timing was good and it was very entertaining unfortunately his part was short and followed by the headliner. What a waist. This man was crude, vulgar and gross. I was hoping for intelligent comedy but got shock comedy instead. If that is the only way to get a laugh, may I suggest another line of work. I am not a prude and enjoy a good laugh as much as the next person, this I did not enjoy, I am not a 16 year old, thus have matured past the point of being entertained by being bombarded by the F bomb. We chose to leave shortly after his routine started went up and enjoyed our lovely room so as not to give this boorish creep a chance to wreck what was other wise a lovely evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Cindy thank you for the complimentary review and sorry about how you felt about the Laugh Shop comedian. Everyone has an opinion to what is funny and normally we get great reviews, but we are always looking and working with Laugh Shop to get us the best in comedy. In fact we have just started to bring in "Top of the line Headliners" once every quarter. The first one is slated for Oct 10th...Mr. Kenny Robinson. Hope you can make it back for that show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    297
    108
    47
    22
See reviews for
197
221
61
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place has terrific accommodations and a great location. Location right near the river and adjacent parks, running/walking trails. It is a 15 minute walk 'downtown' which may deter some without a car, however there is a shuttle that can be pre-arranged (or catch by luck like I did once) if you have appointments downtown.
Care has been taken with recent renovations and there's attentive staff and fresh flowers, that sort of attention to detail. A small inviting lounge and a spacious dining room, both with decent food, drink, service are also available; for those out of province folks like me, you should know there's also a limited but convenient selection of beer/wine/liquor for sale in a small outlet also right in the building.
I stayed in an Exec Suite for $219/night - poor view but we wanted the space, and it was terrific, and as I said, newly renovated/furnished.
Really pleased overall with room service, dining, room quality and price - and I should mention that 5 minutes after I was in the room, a nice young man knocked on the door and delivered the 'welcome plate' = a plate of tiny desserts with a flourish. Bowled me over. much appreciated.

Room Tip: if you want river view just ask for it, as long as you book far enough ahead - this is a busy place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edukate50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Edukate50, thank you for the feedback. I am glad our courtesy shuffle was able to accommodate you without a wait at all. We have just expanded the hours into the weekends and evenings as well! Our Off Sale which is attached to the hotel has just been updated with "Top Shelf" wine and spirit selections to accompany some of the other value selections available. Really happy that you appreciated our welcome gift! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Parktown has a great location near the river and a staff that is quite welcoming and friendly. The rooms themselves are pretty standard but clean and comfortable.... in the tower. The annex section of the hotel is more suitable to teams looking for a lot of rooms together where they can be noisy without drawing complaints. Those rooms feel like converted offices and are a bit dated especially in the bathroom.

The hotel has some nice facilities including an Irish Pub across from the front door and a comedy club in the basement. Right across the bridge is one of the major highways out of town while still being a few blocks from down town so the location is very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for the tower and avoid the annex and you'll love this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Andrew

Thank you for taking the time to review the Park Town hotel. We have done some amazing work in the Irish Pub - "Finn's". We have updated the menu, added more draft lines, high definition TV's, some seating on the deck and even added some "Live" entertainment on select weekends. Equally the comedy club "Laugh Shop" has been updated with new menu's and wine selections. The big new there is that quarterly we will be bringing in substantial "Headline" acts.
See you again Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

just stayed at the Parktown had a fantastic king room. The view of the river was amazing!! Really comfortable need and great pillows. The room was really clean very nice. I love this hotel. Found desert in my room welcoming me. What a nice touch. The front desk staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks Keli for the kind review and really glad you appreciated the welcome package!
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

this is a really nice hotel with a fantastic bar and a better restaurant the beds were cozy and the room was clean and quiet the cracking paint in the bathroom is a sign of needed TLC but everything else vwas up to snuff with coffee and a fridge in the room with a large tv to boot its close to a hosp with discounts for hosp visitors I would return to this hotel anytime im in saskatoon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dallas thank you for taking the time and acknowledging our full service hotel features. We are just finishing the last few bathroom renovations which will be finished shortly for you to enjoy even more!
Thanks again for reaching out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

There is a certain standard among the Riverside hotels in Saskatoon that the Park Town just did not meet in my opinion. The plus side: beds are very comfortable, great pillows. Lobby is gorgeous and drinks and calamari in the bar were great. The minuses: our bath room looked like it had been siliconed and painted by a kindergarten student. The tap was separated from the wall and leaked. The thermostat had quit so we were awoken at 7 am sweating like crazy. This was after getting a 6 am wake up call we never requested. When we checked in, The desk staff called housekeeping to verify the room was cleaned and checked, but 5 minutes into our stay a maid let herself in to the room before we could get up to answer the knock.

Finally, the convenience of underground parking was marred by the gentleman who seemed to be using a sweeping machine to clean the garage when we left. He kicked up so much dirt so near our vehicle that we could not breathe. There are some things that should be done in off hours, not right at check out.
Definitely not up to Saskatoon standards.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rj7341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear rj7341

I am very sorry to hear about your visit and want to apologize. We are currently finishing up the last few bathrooms of our renovation and should be completed shortly. The other service standards of the incorrect wake-up call and housekeeping entering your room abruptly have been addressed. Thank you very much for the feedback so that we may correct these service issues.
Also I would like to apologize for our over zealous maintenance personnel who wanted to try out our brand new dirt sweeper...and yes albeit at the wrong time.
Please try us again so we may show you what our service standards are really like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was attending a conference in Saskatoon (May-june 2014). I had a lovely room which was reasonable and the location of the hotel is perfect. it is close to the river and I could take nice long walks around the area during my breaks. I didn't have my car but the hotel offers a complementary shuttle service which runs from Monday to Saturday and they will drive you to anywhere within Saskatoon provided you book a time slot at reception. All the staff are very cheerful, friendly, helpful and efficient. I would definitely recommend people to stay there and given the chance to go back to Saskatoon, I will definitely go back to Park Town Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for the response Rudo. I also think that our service and staff at the Park Town do an excellent job as well! The shuttle service we provide is complimentary and we believe necessary for great customer experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
998 reviews
The James Hotel
#4 of 39 in Saskatoon
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Town Hotel

Property: Park Town Hotel
Address: 924 Spadina Cres E, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#9 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#11 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Town Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Town Hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Saskatoon overlooking the spectacular South Saskatchewan River. Take a leisurely walk by the river on one of the many Meewasin River Valley Trails. Explore local boutique shops or try fresh produce at Saskatoon's local Farmers Market. Then end your day by relaxing in our Four Seasons Restaurant, dining with a picturesque view of the river or unwind with a cocktail in our Riverside Lounge. Excellence is our standard at the Park Town Hotel, which is why every room is designed with you in mind. Our newly renovated rooms feature the Park Town Dream bed and free wired and wireless high speed Internet. We have a newly renovated business lounge for corporate clients to stay connected, complete with access to free high speed Internet and complementary printing right in our lobby. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Saskatoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Town Saskatoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing