We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location but noisy room”
Review of Park Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Town Hotel
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but noisy room”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The best part of this hotel is its location on a park next to the river and the University bridge. The room was large, the bed comfortable and the staff very friendly. Our room was located on the sixth floor, on the front, which gave us fantastic views of the park and bridge. Truly impressive.

We found the lobby accessed through a dingy car tunnel between buildings to be rather odd, but once inside everything appeared normal. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom although rather dated was clean. We took breakfast in the main restaurant on the first floor. The food and service were both good and the price very reasonable.

The worst part was the constant humming noise coming from either a mechanical unit in the room or the room next door. We could not tell but it was very irritating.

The price was right and I would return but being wiser would insist on a room without the noise.

Room Tip: Check noise level in the room before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you Paul for the feedback. The Breezeway connects the main hotel to our fun Irish Pub Finn's. Sorry about the humming noise. I am assuming that would be a belt in the enercon for the in-room air conditioners.
Thanks for the great review and see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    288
    104
    46
    22
See reviews for
187
217
58
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our check in was smooth and quick. We found our room with little effort and were please to find the AC was on and the room was a comfortable temp. (+30 exterior) actually very quite uneventful stay. Nice comfy king size bed and lots of pillows. good water temp and pressure. Overall we had absolutely no complaints with the exception of the alarm clock which was to high tech for this old guy to figure out so I used my cell phone!. The rates were reasonable and we would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Most rooms over look the scenic Saskatchewan River and a park area. Pool is updated never crowded. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwisard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you travelwisard for the kind and positive review. Finally some great weather for Saskatoon!.Those IPOD docking station radios can be a little tricky.

See you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Last weekends family experienced a house fire and we stayed at the Parktown, they were very accommodating. They were able to get us 2 rooms side by side to keep u together during this horrible time. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. The prices are a little high.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the positive review of the Park Town hotel Aaron. Prices tend to fluctuate slightly with demand and maybe you came in on a very busy day. Most of our guests comment on the value compared to the other downtown hotels. Sorry about your house!

See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed at the Park Town twice in the last 6 months. The first time the pool was under construction however they were providing passes to the YMCA just down the street which was great. Most places just say so sorry... At that point they had renovated the bar area which is very nice and a great place to relax. The rooms have been great both times. Very clean and the view of the river from the room was amazing!
The staff are always friendly even when you can tell they are extremely busy. We were there for the Cher concert and they were even providing shuttles to the concert for a very reasonable price. We also found it very handy to have the pub right there. Nice to be able to have a few drinks and not worry about a cab, etc.
We will continue to stay at the Park Town when in Saskatoon and recommend it all the time.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ang235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Ang235

Great feedback thank you. We are still working on renovations but most will not be experienced by our guests anymore during their visits until we are totally complete. We are getting there! Thanks for "Re-Discovering" Park Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

On the occasion of our 40th anniversary, we booked the jacuzzi suite. This the hotel where we spent our wedding night. We were certainly delighted with the room! Without a doubt the best view in the city, overlooking the Saskatchewan River! Amazing room !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fronti2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Fronti2134
We agree that our guestroom views are the best in the city! It is great that we have so many of them. The Park Town hotel is on slightly higher ground so that even our ground level restaurant the Four Seasons, offers a river view too!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I love the location, which is close to the river, restaurants and the university. I don't love the tiny bathroom with flickering light and no fan. This hotel has a lot of my pet peeves: a thermostat that doesn't work, slow elevator, blackout curtains that don't quite shut all the way, lack of plug ins, etc. That being said, it is still a better deal than most downtown hotels, which are stupidly expensive. Stay here if you need to be downtown and are on a budget, otherwise try somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Claire and James
Sorry about your experience. We do have a Preventative Maintenance program for our guestrooms and bathrooms. We are currently going through all guestrooms with digital thermostats and adding in additional plug-ins for power and USB to the desks as well.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kindersley, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Hotel itself was great, had a fantastic meal in the restaurant, the room was clean with a fantastic Jacuzzi tub. Check In was smooth and all Hotel staff were friendly and professional. Then we went to the Laugh Club. This week end was all part of a staff function and included the Laugh Club tickets, I was a little apprehensive as what passes for comedy today is usually mindless vulgarity but I gave it a chance. The first entertainer was young, his act while not polished showed promise of one day being very good. The second man was funny, his timing was good and it was very entertaining unfortunately his part was short and followed by the headliner. What a waist. This man was crude, vulgar and gross. I was hoping for intelligent comedy but got shock comedy instead. If that is the only way to get a laugh, may I suggest another line of work. I am not a prude and enjoy a good laugh as much as the next person, this I did not enjoy, I am not a 16 year old, thus have matured past the point of being entertained by being bombarded by the F bomb. We chose to leave shortly after his routine started went up and enjoyed our lovely room so as not to give this boorish creep a chance to wreck what was other wise a lovely evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C, General Manager at Park Town Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Cindy thank you for the complimentary review and sorry about how you felt about the Laugh Shop comedian. Everyone has an opinion to what is funny and normally we get great reviews, but we are always looking and working with Laugh Shop to get us the best in comedy. In fact we have just started to bring in "Top of the line Headliners" once every quarter. The first one is slated for Oct 10th...Mr. Kenny Robinson. Hope you can make it back for that show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
980 reviews
The James Hotel
#4 of 39 in Saskatoon
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Town Hotel

Property: Park Town Hotel
Address: 924 Spadina Cres E, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#9 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#11 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Town Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Town Hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Saskatoon overlooking the spectacular South Saskatchewan River. Take a leisurely walk by the river on one of the many Meewasin River Valley Trails. Explore local boutique shops or try fresh produce at Saskatoon's local Farmers Market. Then end your day by relaxing in our Four Seasons Restaurant, dining with a picturesque view of the river or unwind with a cocktail in our Riverside Lounge. Excellence is our standard at the Park Town Hotel, which is why every room is designed with you in mind. Our newly renovated rooms feature the Park Town Dream bed and free wired and wireless high speed Internet. We have a newly renovated business lounge for corporate clients to stay connected, complete with access to free high speed Internet and complementary printing right in our lobby. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Saskatoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Town Saskatoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing