We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad I ended up in the Senator!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Glad I ended up in the Senator!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I attended a large conference in Saskatoon this week. Initially had the Delta Bessborough booked but since I couldn't get a flight out on Thursday due to the limited # available cancelled one night. Ended up getting a flight out Thursday but of course the room at the Delta was grabbed. I went on Tripadvisor, searched for availability and the Hotel Senator came up. Not only is this hotel closer to TCU Place, it is a gem! We are in room 218, which is a jacuzzi suite. It has a king bed in a nice sized bedroom, a small living room, full bath with the best water pressure I have seen in a shower in a long time, and a separate jacuzzi room. There are flat screen TV's in the bedroom and living room. Great towels, nice amenities and fluffy robes. Free wireless internet. Spotlessly clean, friendly staff and a very good restaurant (open 5 - 9), a wine bar with an excellent selection and a really good pub (I think they have over 40 beers on their list). The second floor is currently being renovated but it was not disruptive at all as the work stops before 5 pm. If you stay here before the renos are done be prepared for the hallway renos .. lots of wiring being replaced and the only lighting is quaint lamps on antique tables. The history and character of this hotel make it very appealing. Plus it is close to shopping and services. A cab to TCU Place is about $5.50 but it is also an easy walk. I'd definitely stay here again. Can't wait to see it when the renos are done.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is room service. The character of both the fine dining restaurant and the pub mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review, really appreciate it. We have put a lot of work into the hotel and major renovations are almost complete. We are constantly trying to improve our guest experience. Cheers and safe travels.


Chris Beavis
Hotel Senator
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    65
    33
    12
    21
See reviews for
19
36
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

i travel quite often due to my job nature..... I must say the Hotel Senator is one of my worse lodging experiences ever. Staff is pretty friendly but.....First of all, parking space is very limited. My room has some moldy smell to it and the temperature of the shower flucuate (by lot) crazy making my stay very uncomfortable. Highly NOT recommended

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saskatoon hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This will be a short review but... My Fiance and I stayed there a couple years ago now. It was a great room! We got the jacuzzi suite and It was excellent! Very unique building, huge big king size bed and a romantic little jacuzzi. We had a great time. The bartender opened a bottle of wine for us and let us take it to our room. Great staff and perfect location for wondering around downtown. As well the bar on the main floor/lobby served good pub food and had good tunes and live music.
On the down side, the parking wasn't very convenient and it was a little loud if you like to sleep with a window open due to the bar letting the patrons out at closing time.

Other than that, all-around great weekend!

We will stay there again next time we're in Saskatoon.

Room Tip: I recommend the Jacuzzi Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strongdollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Rooms clean. Staff very polite. Rooms may seem small if thats important to you. Beds very comforatable. You can walk everywhere downtown from this spot as it is in the heart of downtown. Parking available for free. Perfect for 3 women down for shopping and the theatre!

Room Tip: DId not have any noise problems. There is a pub connected to the hotel but we didn't hear anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hao548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Pluses: wide comfortable bed, quiet room, immaculately clean, excellent water pressure in shower, attractive paintings throughout hallways, dining room gorgeous place to eat breakfast (at dinnertime, it's expensive, with gourmet selections), excellent bar/grill with delicious buffaloburgers, courteous service (on checkin, clerk asked me if I wanted a quiet room in back with view of parking garage or noisier room with nice street view (I picked the former), good location accessible by bus lines. Minuses: little desk space in room (the bed dominates the space), internet connection on the free computer provided for that was often not working.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJW8191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I love staying in this old hotel. The interior is a little creepy but fabulous at the same time. While this hotel is not the hilton, it is always clean! The beds are comfortable and have great bedding. I also love the English pub downstairs where you have a selection of ~40 different kegs. Very close to all the downtown ammenities, shopping, dining, TCU place, etc. I will be going there again this month.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Want2BWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I love old buildings and I was so excited to stay here. My husband on the other hand wasn't so thrilled. He acctually parked the car at his brother's hotel and we took a cab in order to avoid the rediculous parking (somthing that should be made a bit clearer by the hotel) which required double parking! The lobby is lovely and restored well, however the first floor hallway which was under FULL renovation was just plain scary with hanging electrical wires, no ceiling, only two table lamps for lighting and dibris everywhere! It looked like a scene from a bad horror movie.
That being said the room while small (which was expected from the discription) was clean, and the bed was heaven to sleep on. The door to the room was a bit out of place being a commercial steel door. Overall I would like to stay here once the renos are all done and I think the price should be lowered a bit to reflect the renos taking place on floors still being used for guests and the hotel should inform people booking rooms that the floor they will be staying on is under renovation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Park Town Hotel
#7 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Senator Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Senator Saskatoon

Property: Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Address: 243 21st St E | Downtown Saskatoon, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 0B7, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Senator Saskatoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saskatoon boutique downtown hotel, the Hotel Senator features Rembrandt's Fine Dining & Wine Bar with international cuisine, Winston's English Pub & Grill with over 50 taps, 80 imported ales, ciders, stouts and lagers and a home away from home personal attention and service. Your room awaits! Safe travels and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Senator Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Saskatoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing