We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - great location - great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Winnipeg
1 review
“Great stay - great location - great value”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My room was newly renovated and very clean and quiet. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have slept in a hotel. (I travel on business a lot.) The pillows were actually comfy home style pillows. The location is great. I was within a short walking distance of many great restaurants and pubs, (and Starbucks) I found Irene at the front desk to be extremely cheerful and helpful. This is not a generic chain hotel and those expecting a chrome and glass aquarium should probably choose a different hotel. I found it charming with a very decent restaurant and a great pub right on site. There seems to be a commitment ongoing renovation in the place which I hope on day will include keying the outside doors to the room locks. I was a very minor inconvenience to tap on the door and be let in by the night desk clerk but it would be great to someday marry the old school charm of the place with this technical convenience. But I guess in the end the free wi fi makes up for it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litesleaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    66
    33
    12
    21
See reviews for
20
36
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tianwutank
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Right downtown, the Senator makes for a great stay, with shops, pubs, and restaurants all around.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tianwutank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The staff was lovely, the rooms were spacious, clean, and the beds were super comfy.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletrunner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I found it interesting that every room is modeled a little bit differantly. I had friends in other rooms and each was differant in decore as well as size and shape. The beds were amazingly comfortable the staff at the front desk were wonderfully helpful and always able to answer any questions I might have.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guarrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigh01
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I just stayed at the Hotel Senator for the duration of a workshop I attended in Saskatoon. The building itself is very nicely done up, quaint might be the word... as well, the rooms are very tidy, with large windows, comfortable beds, very clean. I found the staff to be very very friendly and able to help with any requests or questions that I had during my stay. The few problems that I noticed were taken care of almost immediately, unlike some places where the "out of order" sign sits permanently in place.

The hotel has an excellent location, just two blocks from a shopping mall with all the stores/food that you would expect, a movie theatre, two Starbucks, a McDonalds, and many great restaurants (St. Tropez had great food and very friendly staff, and O'Sheas Irish Pub was where we ended up going for food most days, delicious and very reasonably priced. We also ended our days at O'Sheas.... very nice atmosphere, and a roof top patio)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reigh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regina
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2009

a cute clean hotel right in downtown Saskatoon. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean, and the bed was comfy. The hotel is situated 2 blocks from a mall, and there are neat shops and pubs easily within walking distance. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geekgirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

I looked over the internet and found this hotel to be not only available but relatively cheaper than others and thats why I booked it. Now I know why.

This hotel is old and the only thing majestic is their stair case decor. It is nothing like the fancy pictures that are posted on their website. To me, it was obvious that I was at a cheap hotel as soon as I entered. I dont think the hotel is inexpensive... I've stayed at hotels for half the price in Toronto and they were three times better than this one.

The front desk service was very bad in the morning and when I checked in, the lady told me that the check-in time was at 4pm when it was clearly stated in the Expedia booking that it was at 3pm. I'm not sure what the reason for it.
In contrast, the girl who works the night shift at front desk was the best service one could've expected. She helped me out with everything including giving me the hair dryer, the iron (which should've been in the room anyway since that's what their website says), and the internet access.. and delivered it to my door which was nothing I had expected after the the crappy welcome I had recieved (she should be promoted to the day job for a good impression if nothing else).

The room was noisy but having the pub downstairs, it was to be expected. I did not order any food from the hotel's restaurant so I can't give my opinion in that regard. I did order food from the Winston's pub which was a mistake as it was tasteless and they didnt know what 'take out' meant and wanted me to carry the plate and glass to my room all the way up instead of just packing it up for me O_0 . When I asked, the bartender said, "thats how we send food to people who stay at the hotel".

The room seemed clean but was extremely tiny. There was barely any light in the room... a problem that could've been solved with a lamp on both sides of the bed instead of just one. The bathroom was clean. The cable sucked and the TV was outdated and cheap branded. The air conditioning sucked and I was sweating bullets in May.

The room cleaning service is rather slow as even though I had left the room at 8 o'clock in the morning with "please clean room" sign, my turn did not come until 4 o'clock in the evening. Of course I was back and was in the shower and the cleaning had to be post-poned for the next day. The lady though did give me soap and shampoo and coffee refill which was very nice of her.

I would recommend this place if you have no other choice otherwise, run fast and don't look back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kangaroos8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hssaskatoon, Owner, manager at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review, 16 July 2009
We have a hotel located in the heart of downtown Saskatoon. Just checked Toronto pricing and averages around 200.00 in the downtown core. We are at $95.00 single accomodation ( We are a three star canada select property). We are continually improving our property and investing in our hotel and I think while we are doing that we are priced appropriatly (even below where we should be!) as we have had many people who are use to staying at the large chain hotels who really enjoyed our property and preffered it! It is unfortunate that this guest didn't enjoy his stay but we hope he enjoys his stay at the other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
980 reviews
Caswell Hill
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#26 of 39 in Saskatoon
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Senator Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Senator Saskatoon

Property: Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Address: 243 21st St E | Downtown Saskatoon, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 0B7, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Senator Saskatoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saskatoon boutique downtown hotel, the Hotel Senator features Rembrandt's Fine Dining & Wine Bar with international cuisine, Winston's English Pub & Grill with over 50 taps, 80 imported ales, ciders, stouts and lagers and a home away from home personal attention and service. Your room awaits! Safe travels and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Senator Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Saskatoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing